We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Access”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel
Ranked #30 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We were in Toronto for a Blue Jays game and whirlwind tour of the downtown "entertainment district" Fabulous venue. The decor is 1970's in the restaurant and lobby areas but the room was modern and clean. Remember the train runs within feet of the hotel, however, little noise was heard. Easy access to all the tourist events and venue's in the area, CN tower, Ripley's Aquarium etc. Many good restaurants are within easy walking distance as well. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room over looking the Rogers center ball field. Great view.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dusty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,964)
There are newer reviews for Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

895 - 901 of 1,965 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

I wound up staying here for a baseball game, as I am sure many of you reading this will be or considering. That is probably the saving grace for this hotel, or maybe to its detriment, the reason it is allowed to be dated and shabby. Positives: room was clean, bedding was modern, rugs were good. Negatives: BATHROOM and feel. The bathroom was in need of rehab, marble that looked rotten, bathtub that had mold in the caulk, and a drain that was left out in plain view when I arrived. In addition the lighting recepticles and some fittings in the room looked like they were there the day it opened I stay at Marriots regularly and expect more when I stay a Renaissance. This hotel clearly does not meet that standard and if were not next to the Rogers Centre would need to step up its game...speaking of the game, I had a package that included tickets and wound up getting two rooms and asked for four tickets in a row. Instead I got two pairs of tickets two rows from one another. The hotel blamed the Rogers Centre, but if this they have a relationship to offer this type of package there should be communication to ensure a seamless guest experience. A lot of $$$$ for what wound up being spent for a subpar experience.

Room Tip: Request something not facing train tracks, which are right next to hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rogerroy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Rogerroy1974,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is very important to us in our ongoing efforts to improve our product and services. I am pleased you enjoyed the baseball game. We are undergoing renovations. As part of the process, we will be addressing bathrooms. These are yet to come. I will follow up with our Guest Services team regarding tickets and establishing prior to arrival seating preferences. Tickets received from Rogers are in pairs unless we know in advance that a group requires extra tickets or groupinigs. I apologize that we did not know your tickets for the two rooms were to be together. I understand how this would have taken away from the experience.
Best Regards,
Andrea Copeland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Overall, it was an amazing view of the Jays game as we brought our family to watch and enjoy the game. Once we checked-out, I only handed a fellow the keys and away he sent me. I did not sign anything else. Two days later, I received an email bill and noticed a $6.78 charge for the water in the room which we did not even touch. It's an insignificant amount but the principal is that we were charged for the water that we didn't drink. Maybe if the maids are thirsty, they can buy their own water. The room is outdated and needs refurbishment. It would be better just to buy tickets for the game. Also, double beds in the rooms were small.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Jim178,
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the stadium experience. Please email us your contact information at fo@renaissancetoronto.com to review your folio.
Best Regards,
Andrea Copeland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We booked two rooms overlooking the Toronto Blue Jays field as a special treat for our baseball-loving family. That experience, though pricey, was terrific. It was extraordinary to watch a game from a hotel room.

However, our visit was soured considerably by the parking situation and the cavalier way we were treated by management.

We arrived on late on a Friday afternoon, hoping to valet park our car after an arduous 5-hour journey to the hotel. No luck. The attendant told us that valet was full -- hadn't heard that one before -- and that we'd have to self-park. He directed me to a lot a few blocks away that contained spaces dedicated to hotel guests that he assured me were available. Alas, when I arrived at that lot, the attendant there told me that it, too, was full. So I had to drive around downtown Toronto in search of a surface lot, which I eventually found and for which I paid $20.

That's annoying -- a hotel where guests can't park and where the right hand doesn't know what the left hand is doing? -- but not calamitous. But here's where it gets *really* irritating.

The surface lot required that I remove my car by 8am. I did that, then drove back to the hotel, where I'd hoped to deposit my car for a few hours before we left for the airport. That morning's attendant said I could do that -- but the hotel would charge me $35, a full-day valet fee. When I explained the situation -- that the previous day the hotel's promised valet service turned out to be nonexistent and that the attendant directed me to a lot that was full -- he was sympathetic but he had no authority to waive the fee.

I then talked to the front desk agent, explaining that it wasn't exactly great customer service to deny their guests the ability to park, direct them to a full lot, force them to find their own parking -- and then, when the guests were forced to re-locate the car for a few hours because of the hotel's ineptitude, to charge them $35 for the privilege.

The front desk agent was unsympathetic or perhaps clueless. (It was hard to tell). We asked to talk to a manager. She said she'd talk to that person on our behalf. And the manager, who never bothered to show his or her face, also refused to waive the fee.

So . . . after we'd dropped roughly $1000 as guests of this hotel, the Renaissance's crack management team decided it was good business to ding us an additional $35 to store our car for a few hours because of their own ineptitude.

Bottom line: The rooms overlooking the baseball field were great. But the way the place is run is minor league -- so much so that you should avoid staying here.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank conejaDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear ConejaDC,
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am pleased to hear that the stadium view room exceeded your expectations. I am sorry that it was soured by the valet service received. We will work with Rogers Centre to establish a better way of communicating and monitoring the alternative lots in the vicinity when theirs is at full capacity. That is a frustrating experience for sure. Please contact us a fo@renaissancetoronto.com to review your billing details.
Regards,
Andrea Copeland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Our weekend at the Renaissance was very enjoyable. We went to Toronto for the weekend to see a Blue Jays game. We couldn't have asked for a better location for the hotel, it is located right beside the Rogers Centre, we were literally a five minute walk to our game gate. We were also pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the hotel and noticed the restaurant Arriba had a view of the stadium field. We had tickets for Saturdays afternoon game but were able to watch the Friday night game as well over dinner and drinks at the hotel restaurant. I give credit to the service staff at the restaurant, for doing a fine job. Check in was quick and painless. Room service prices were comparable, and prompt. Housekeeping was great, they let us sleep in and came back later when we were out to clean room. The hotel room price was steep but I am not surprised considering the location, my only real complaint is the extra additional charge for high speed Wi-Fi. With the high expense of the room, it should be included in you room fee.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KerLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Recently stayed at the Renaissance Toronto Downtown for a special occasion. The room was absolutely beautiful - modern, spacious and most importantly, very clean. The associates at the hotel were excellent - recommending certain restaurants as well as helping us get tickets for the activities that can be done around the area - there are lots!; Absolutely no complaints from the moment we arrived until we left. A huge thank you to the staff, especially Andrea. We will definitely be recommending and returning to this hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel is only good for watching a Jays game from a stadium view room. We want here for the night and the game was great and the price of room service was decent.
The Bad: We had to move rooms and the manager was nice and got us moved quickly however during the rush of switching I left two expensive dresses in the closet. The next morning I went to the front desk and they told me there was nothing in the room. I know for a fact the dresses were left in the closet so I continued to check in to see if they were found. They made me feel like I had lost them and they were not helpful at all. They didn't call me or apologize just tried to get me off of the phone.
Other then the horrible customer services and staff stealing my dresses, the hotel was also dated and the room we were switch to was dirty with make up stains on the towels.
Horrible!

Room Tip: Stadium rooms only.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michlynne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTO, Front Office Manager at Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear michlynne,

Thank you for submitting your review with regards to your recent stay at the Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the game from your initial room. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused due to your dress being misplaced. You are a valued guest and everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. I would appreciate, if you could contact me directly at adewan@renaissancetoronto.com or at the number below so that I can further investigate in this.

Regards
Adi Dewan
Front Office Manager
416 341 7100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#9 of 137 in Toronto
786 reviews
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel

Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada (Formerly Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Toronto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#21 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £123 - £506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to announce our transformation from Renaissance Toronto Downtown to Toronto Marriott City Centre, and will continue to make enhancements to the hotel in Fall & Winter 2017/18. Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity at Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel. You set the pace at our Toronto downtown hotel's accommodations. We are a boutique hotel in Toronto that has 348 guest rooms and guest suites, with all of the amenities and services for excellence on a stay in Toronto - including a Lobby Lounge, Club Lounge, Starbucks Coffee, on-site restaurant, and indoor pool. We will follow your lead and meet your every need, whether you have come to our city to get work done or explore. Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel offers a fantastic destination in the heart of Toronto, close to Rogers Center, CN Tower, and Air Canada Center in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing