We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, especially if you are a baseball fan!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Ranked #29 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome, especially if you are a baseball fan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

I visited Toronto with a bunch of buddies who do a yearly baseball trip. We stayed at the Renaissance because it was connected to the Skydome (Rogers Center). I must say from the moment I walked in and saw the lobby and lounge area I fell in love with this hotel. There is no other place that you can be in the lounge of your hotel and overlook a major league baseball game. You can come in and have a beer or two and take in some of the best scenery anywhere. Even when the game is not going on the lights to the Rogers Center are on and there always seems to be something going on. As for the rooms, I thought they were just fine. A comfortable bed with a nice bathroom and clean. The windows were large but needed to be washed. The location is second to none anyhwere in the city. We walked everywhere we need to go. Plenty of nightlife, restaurants and shopping close by. We stayed on the fifth floor where the walk to your room was like a maze but I did not mind at all because ti was so unique. We did catch a peek at the rooms that overlooked the stadium, the windows so open so you can hear the action. We did have the brunch one day, it was just OK. Bring your wallets when you go to Toronto, it is quite costly! I would stay here again, the hotel is very cool and not outdated at all as some reviews mention. The pool and fitness center were the best I have ever seen for a full service hotel not considering themselves as a spa or resort.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tadala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    674
    259
    91
    45
See reviews for
447
548
93
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, nc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

This hotel is clean and the front desk staff friendly and helpful. It is attached to the Rogers Centre (Sky Dome), and is right next to CN Tower, Union Station, Steam Whistle Brewery and a bridge away from the Path. We were upgraded (free) to a king suite, but the room was a long walk from the desk area. Fortunately, we were able to use the fire exit to arrive at the outside entrance to the right field entrance to the stadium and locations stated above. At $139 per night, I thought a bit pricey. Self Parking was $20/night and they charge for internet

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dgreene13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
166 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a weekender in Toronto. I wanted to stay somewhere within walking distance to major attractions. The hotel is connected to the Rogers Center, and right next door to the CN Tower. It's a $12 cab ride to Medieval Times / HarbourFronte, and walking distance to Kings St (many great bars and restaurants). We arrived early, but were able to check right in (at noon!!). Our room had a view of the stadium, and they were setting up for the Jonas Bro's concert! We were able to open the window & see the entire stadium. The hotel pool area was clean and nice! There's a hot tub, huge fitness center, and sauna. Towels are provided. The only confusing this about this hotel is parking, which is behind the Rogers Center and across the street. The king size bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! And the 8 accompaning down pillows helped add to the comfort. Great hotel, great value, great location. I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MBudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRTYA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

This is our second stay here, and both were just perfect. This time we got the room with 2 double beds and it was more like a suite, a huge room with an attached living room.
Staff were very nice, breakfast very good, and the location superb.
Only problem were the old small TVs( 2 in the room though).
Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRTYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago,il
Level Contributor
69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

We stayed here because we were going to a few baseball games white sox vs. jays. Since the hotel is inside the stadium it seemed like a good fit. It was. Great location, inside the stadium and next door to the CN tower. Multiple retaurants on site. Close walk to other Toronto attractions. Active night life a short cab ride away. The room was sweet deal we got for $125 a night. If you pay more, you can get a suite overlooking baseball field. Multiple restaurants on site. Great food. High class. The chicago fire soccer team was staying there that night as well becuase they had a match down the street the next day. If pro athletes stay there, it must be good. Parking was pricey, but we never had to take the car out since we were close to everything. Breakfast buffet in restaurant was classy and excellent.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank argonauts52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

If you're going for the baseball it's probably a great hotel for a great price. Otherwise, there are many better four star hotels in Toronto. This place is older, grungy, and being at Skydome is actually a bit of a hike from the center of the city. The pool was nice but I wouldn't choose this place again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMOsaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

We found the front desk staff to be highly impersonal and very unhelpful when we tried to check in early at 2pm and then at 4 and then at 5, etc, etc.. There's nothing warm about the hotel except for the bar that looks out to the Roger's centre stadium which makes for s nice place for drinks and quick get-togethers. Plus we disliked not having the free internet in the bedrooms--how long will you hang out in the lobby?
We will go elsewhere for our next Toronto trip

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank witz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Toronto
#21 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel. You set the pace at our Toronto downtown hotel's accommodations. We are a boutique hotel in Toronto that has 348 guest rooms and guest suites, with all of the amenities and services for excellence on a stay in Toronto - including a Lobby Lounge, Club Lounge, Starbucks Coffee, on-site restaurant, and indoor pool. We will follow your lead and meet your every need, whether you have come to out city to get work done or explore. Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel offers a fantastic destination in the heart of Toronto, close to Rogers Center, CN Tower, and Air Canada Center in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing