We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK to stay... The facility needs some maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Toronto East
Ranked #71 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It's OK to stay... The facility needs some maintenance”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Very helpful and nice staff at the front desk. They lend me an umbrella to walk outside on the surroundings. The architecture is colonial style, 3 stages with the restaurant in the middle and the center is open, the hallways were not well illuminated and the carpets needs some air. Not a bad smell but the air needed to be changed on public spaces. Room was OK but the air conditioning wasn't working. I decided to open the window instead. The towels needs replacement, they are not white anymore. Overall a pretty decent stay. In that area is hard to find good lodging options.

Room Tip: Please double check if your air conditioner works properly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pachinto17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto East, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for the good comments on our associates. We are replacing our corridor carpets in June and we are hoping to get the 5 Star Rating from you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    123
    45
    19
    9
See reviews for
106
52
20
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night during a business trip to Toronto. This was the closest IHG hotel to my client’s office. This is a small and nice hotel located next to 401. But there is no disturbance at all. It could be due to the fact that the hotel is is made using bricks. One side of the wall in the room is not painted and you can see the bricks. Please see my pictures. This place is 2 blocks away from Scarborough town centre which is a big shopping mall. Right next to the hotel there’s a petro Canada gas station with a subway. Also there is a ‘The Keg’ steakhouse next to the hotel. The room was clean and fresh. The hallway looks a bit old but doesn’t make you feel uncomfortable. There is a huge lobby on the first floor (3rd floor for the hotel). It sort of looks like a vacation resort. Once again, please see my pictures. They have 3 internet options – free (~2Mbps), premium (4 Mbps) and ultra premium (~7Mbps I think). The last 2 are chargeable starting at $7 for 24 hours. I took the free one and it was more than enough. I hooked up my phone and made some skype calls without a hitch. Overall it was a good stay. I would certainly recommend this hotel for others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sars82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto East, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the detailed review and I am confident your review will assist other viewers to make their decision when looking for accommodations in Scarborough. We look forward to your recommended business and to welcome you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I generally find the Holiday Inn Express brand reliable if unexciting & Toronto East was no exception. A bonus was the helpful & friendly staff. Another is the next door Keg Steakhouse which has some atmosphere plus good beers & wines.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetroniusMinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto East, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for finding our Hotel Brand reliable and your comment on our staff made us proud. We will look forward to your next visit and make it exciting for you as we have changed the look of our Breakfast Bar and have added some new items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

When you stay at a chain like Holiday Inn, you generally know what you're getting - and let me say up front, I'm not really a fan of hotel chains like this one. However, there are times when they're the best choice for the type of trip you're taking. There's an expected level of mediocrity built into booking a room in this chain.

This was a work trip and we wanted to be close to the location that we were working at, so that was the main reason of choice for the hotel. It seemed much like most Holiday Inns, but was pretty down at heel. The front desk staff didn't communicate well and seemed to have difficulty understanding me when I asked if my colleagues could have main floor rooms - his English was not very strong. Once we got that sorted out, I went to my room and discovered it was across from an ice machine that made an ongoing sound like a cement mixer. I asked to be moved to another room, and they were very helpful.

The next room was down a much quieter hallway, but it absolutely reeked of carpet deodorizer. Claritin time (I have mild fragrance allergies). The carpet was in really rough shape, and I suspect the hallway included or used to include smoking rooms, and the odour in my room also had a slight, ashy undertone.

The upside was that it was clean, the bed was fairly comfortable, the Wi-Fi worked well, the breakfast was fine (standard of what you'd expect) and it wasn't very expensive (you get what you pay for?). But I wouldn't stay here unless there was a compelling need to be near something specific and there wasn't another viable option.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24fps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto East, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your work related visit and we regret the communication skills of the employee mentioned as we do undertake challenges in training co-op students who are new immigrants and pursue hospitality industry as their career. Your comment on our carpet is valid as it is long overdue for a change and we would like inform you that we will have new carpets within next 60 days. We are hoping on your next visit you will make our hotel your preferred hotel in Scarborough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had a very nice stay at this hotel. staff was accomodating and helpful. Location was perfect, close to highway 401 and east end of Toronto. Breakfast was hot and had lots of choices, bread, bagel, pancake, sausage, egg and fruits.
there is a nice restaurant adjacent to the hotel. Tim Hortons and some fast food restaurants are all within walking distance. Hotel is not new but well maintained and clean. Good value. Will bring my family back in Summer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gonewiththewind f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto East, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience and the Excellent Rating is sincerely appreciated. Your assurance of returning is what we strive for and we look forward to welcoming you in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I liked some aspects of this property. The Breakfast Lady was pleasant and efficient. I like that. I wish the Breakfast started at 6:00 a.m. Business-types need an early start.
I hated the internet server. Slow and cumbersome. It was a major annoyance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pestpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto East, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we regret the inconvenience you experienced due to the slow internet speed. We have added additional access points and the speed issue is now resolved. We hope you will give another opportunity when you visit Scarborough and we will look forward to your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We just got back from a trip to Toronto and stayed at this holiday inn Express

The front desk was friendly and tok care of one problem we had with the heat, very quickly

We arrivd after a snow storm and the parking lot was full, but was able to park on the street across from the hotel

Breakfast was average, typical of HI Express, but was pleased they left the breakfast area open late for some stragglers ie. us.

My only issue was that there was a strange smell in the hallways, kind of chemical, mildly annoying, but not quite offensive.

This is my. 3rd stay at this HI express and would stay again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenji56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto East, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, your comments are sincerely appreciated. Your assurance to return is what we always look forward to and our team will try and resolve the issue of strange smell in the hallways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Scarborough
Best Western Plus Executive Inn
Scarborough
Delta Toronto East
Delta Toronto East
#65 of 136 in Toronto
794 reviews
North York
Holiday Inn Express Toronto - North York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North York
Radisson Hotel Toronto East
North York
Best Western Plus Toronto North York Hotel & Suites
North York
Holiday Inn Toronto Yorkdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Toronto East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Toronto East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Toronto East
Address: 50 Estate Drive, Toronto, Ontario M1H 2Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Scarborough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Toronto East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to One of the Best Toronto Hotels Around For superior service and amenities, come visit the 3-diamond AAA/CAA Holiday Inn Express Hotel Toronto East in Scarborough. Our hotel is 25 km from Pearson International Airport (YYZ). You'll find an abundance of attractions nearby. You can tour the famous Metro Toronto Zoo and Ontario Science Centre, head inside for shopping at Scarborough Town Centre and other local shopping centres or have fun outside at Edwards Garden. For your convenience, we have two desk top computers in the lobby with free high-speed Internet access to plan your day or print directions to your destination. Business travelers also enjoy our hotel's close proximity to Toyota Canada, Honda Canada, Scarborough Grace Hospital, Scarborough General Hospital, local colleges including Centennial College and the University of Toronto and other businesses in Scarborough. Our hotel's meeting space can accommodate gatherings for up to 50 people, and we have 24-hour business centre services to help you prepare for a meeting. Because each room in our hotel features triple-sheeted bedding, a 27-inch TV with in-room movies, and free high-speed Internet access you can expect a comfortable stay in Scarborough. Our hotel deals include a daily newspaper delivered to your room, a free hot breakfast bar each morning and access to the fitness centre. Reserve your room today at the Holiday Inn Express Toronto East Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Toronto East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Toronto East Hotel Scarborough
Holiday Inn Scarborough
Holiday Inn Express Scarborough
Scarborough Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing