We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
105
137
55
22
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
137
55
22
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanexposed brickfree breakfastyogurtminute drivestay there againthe king size bedconvenience storethird floornight's sleepstayed here for one nightbusiness tripscarboroughlobbyinns
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2017

The first room that we were assigned smelled bad, like way too much air freshener or deodorant had been used to mask other odors. The toilet bowl was black under the rim!! This room was completely unacceptable in my view. The room we received as a substitute didn't have the overpowering smell of deodorant spray in the furniture but the toilet bowl was still black under the rim, though not nearly as bad as the first room. The staff were responsive and the head of room cleaning came personally to scrub the toilet. She wasn't able to get it completely clean. I would never go back to this hotel again although the parking, location, and staff were good.

Room Tip: Be sure to check the room for cleanliness and objectionable odors before accepting
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBigEOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto East, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey. We apologize for the poor experience you had while you were with us. We take reviews such as yours very seriously and we are working on remedying the problem.

The smell and cleanliness of the guestroom and bathroom is something that we take very seriously. We apologize for the inconvenience greatly.

Currently we have renovations planned for next year where we will be updating our appearance bedding and the entire guest room. We hope to see you back, so we can make up for our shortcomings this time.

Sincerely,
Haroon Patel
Front Desk Manager
haroon.patel@sunraygroup.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

This hotel is inviting from the moment you walk in. The woodwork and open concept atrium is appealing. Staff are extra friendly, even those who clean the rooms. Front desk made sure I was given my appropriate rewards points. No question or request, including a late checkout, was refused. Beds were comfy and pillows fine. No fridge in room, but we brought a portable cooler. Location very close to 401 but no noise from highway to speak of. Staff have clearly been well trained in customer service skills.

Room Tip: West end rooms were excellent
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Good hotel to stay. Room was clean and big enough to stay one week. Breakfast is OK although nothing special. Parking free and service is fine. It's a good place although not close to Toronto downtown.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Claudio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to do our survey. We greatly appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Haroon Patel
haroon.patel@sunraygroup.ca
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

Great hotel to stay, very friendly, free breakfast and closed by Scarborough center mall and also the train station ( by taking busses at the last stop). I only stay there for three day for visit my friends.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lilia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

The staff here were nice and friendly and did their best to be accommodating. This was an older hotel. There was no refrigerator or microwave in the room and no alternative available. Free wi-fi but very slow internet. Couldn’t even upload our photos to Facebook in the evening. Had the usual free breakfast. Location was good for an evening of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto East, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Hello Tom L,

Thank you for providing feedback on your experience during your stay. I am very glad that you found our staff to be very accommodating and found our location to be good. On the downside, I am disappointed that the lack of some amenities in the room such as refrigerator or microwave and WiFi to be slow prevented you from fully enjoying your stay. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you. As a valued guest, please be assured that all feedback will be acted upon as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back and ensuring a positive stay experience on your future visit.

Best Regards,

Dianne L.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews