We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Toronto - North York
Ranked #62 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We just spent a couple of days in this hotel and were very pleased with the friendly and efficient service, comfortable room, generous breakfast and 24 hour coffee.

The location is right near a major highway and convenient to Humber River Hospital, York University and Canada's Wonderland. It seems to be popular with families.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swan0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chirag S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto - North York, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hello Dzs1950,

Thank you very much for taking out the time and writing us such a wonderful feedback. We value your feedback and make sure that we meet up to our guests expectations. We are glad that we met your expectations and we assure you that we will maintain the high level of quality standards at all times.

We look forward to see you again and once again thank you very much for staying with us and writing us such a wonderful feedback.

Sincerely,
Chirag Shah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    80
    27
    12
    8
See reviews for
55
37
13
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Toronto - North York for one night during a recent business trip to greater Toronto. For me the proximity to the highway and price point were big sells. Within the Holiday Inn Express brand I would rate this hotel as average. I don't say that negatively as HIE are typically very well renovated and clean hotels. For the price it was right on. The building seemed to be a little older, but the rooms were well updated and perfectly clean. The breakfast had a reasonable number of warm and cold options (i've seen better and worse). The front desk was well staffed and friendly during the check-in and check-out process. Overall, no complaints.

I would recommend this hotel for someone looking for a value on a short trip especially for the somewhat cost conscience business trip. I didn't have time to explore the surrounding area, but my limited experience suggested it wasn't very walk-able nor somewhere that I would really want to explore by foot by myself or with my family.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room facing East. I didn't notice much road noise. The other side of the hotel see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chirag S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto - North York, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hello,

Ann Arbor,

Thank you very much for writing us such a glowing feedback. We value your feedback and we always make sure that we acknowledge the suggestions that we receive from our valued guests like you.

We thank you very much for staying with us and we thank you again for writing us such a positive feedback. We will definitely look forward to see you again.

Sincerely,

Chirag Shah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We booked the hotel last minute and were pleasantly surprised by the value. Check-in and check-out was quick and easy. Room was on the smaller size but we weren't there much anyway. Room was clean and updated, and bed was comfy. Internet worked well and enjoyed having a couch in the room. Breakfast was standard and had no issues with the neighborhood. We drove our vehicle to the Downsville subway station ($4 to park) and took public transit the rest of the way into downtown Toronto ($3 each way) . Total travel time to downtown was about an hour. Overall we were pleased to have free breakfast, wifi and free parking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chirag S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto - North York, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hello Jnaum063,

Thank you very much for writing us such a glowing review. We value your feedback and we always make sure that we meet up to our guests expectations and we are very glad that we met your expectations.

We will definitely look forward to see you again and we will make sure that your future stay with us will also be wonderful and comfortable.

Once again thank you very much for staying with us and thank you very much for writing us a feedback.

Thanking You,

Sincerely,
Chirag Shah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We´ve stayed in other HIE, with an overall good experience, but this was horrible! We arrived at the hotel at night and the first shock was the strong ashtray stink in our room. It smelled like people had smoked ten packs in there, even though it was a smoke-free hotel (we later found out that we were the seventh person that day to complain about the cigarrette smell)
We asked the staff to give us another room, but they told us they didn´t have another one in the same category. We had paid for a King size bed room, but they gave us a much smaller room in return.
Breakfast was also terrible, but the worst of all, was the really bad disposition of the staff, they just don't care. We paid US120 for the room, but for the same price you can do a lot better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrecel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chirag S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto - North York, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hello Andrecel,

First of all we would like to thank you for writing us honest feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience that you had to face during your stay. We value your feedback and we always make sure that our guests are always comfortable and happy during their stay at the hotel and we are disappointed that we could not meet up to your expectations.

We will definitely look forward to see you again and please contact me on 416-665-3500 ext. 2006 and I will personally take care of your reservation needs.

Once again please accept our apologies and give us one more chance to serve you at our best service level.

Thanking you
Sincerely,
Chirag Shah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
239 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The items that were good:
- checkin was fast and staff friendly
- bed was comfortable
- majority of room was clean and well kept
- internet was fast
-breakfast was good and hot
- parking facilities were cleared of snow quickly in the AM
-location was great for my needs

The items that were lacking:
- told a 'hold' would be placed on my Credit card...really, after staying 41 nights last year in a Holiday inn?
- bath tub was ancient and so rough looking I opted for a shower and not my usual bath
- tile surrounding bath was old and showed it's age with mould
- room extremely hot when I arrived and had to turn heat off entirely and open window to get a reasonable temperature in room.
-presented a coupon for additional reward points and checkin staff did not know how to handle promotion.

Would I stay again...yes. I would however ask for a renovated room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helper_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chirag S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto - North York, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hello and Thank you very much for writing us honest feedback.

We apologize for the inconvenience that you had faced during your stay and I am very much disappointed that we were not able to meet up to your expectations as compared to your previous stay.

We value your feedback and we as a management team take into consideration all the areas in need of improvement at the hotel.

We will definitely look forward to see you again and we will make sure that your next stay with us will be comfortable and enjoyable.

Once again thank you very much for writing us honest feedback and thank you very much for staying with us again and again.

Sincerely,
Chirag shah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Looks okay on the outside but aging on the inside. Located in a dangerous, dumpy neighbourhood, ironically right beside the local police station. VERY SMALL ROOMS for 2013 standards. Overall not up to Holiday Inn Standards either. Carpets were disgusting through entire building. Front desk staff really unhelpful, and frankly quite rude, bordering on useless. My room wasn't cleaned properly--again front desk had no explanation or suggestion for the problem. Insufficient coffee supply throughout the day. The windows were fogging up so I decided to use a cloth and wipe the windows myself--came out black coloured! Again, front desk didn't really care. When you don't care about your own hotel, you don't really care about your guests! Many better choices people. A friend helped me bring up my luggage and even they were shocked at the state of the place. This is not a real gem for Toronto; in fact, a real embarrasment to Toronto and Holiday Inn. Keep looking even a few streets or neighbourhoods away.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
10 Thank Fiddlerbediddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chirag S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto - North York, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Hello and Thank you very much for writing us such honest feedback.

Although, we are always disappointed to hear that our guest's stay was not to their satisfaction, we appreciate knowing what issues you experienced so we can take appropriate steps to correct them. We value your feedback and we will make sure that your next stay with us will be enjoyable and comfortable.

Please accept our sincere apologies and give us one more chance and we will make sure that we meet up to your expectations.

Once again thank you very much for staying with us and thank you very much for leaving us honest feedback.
Sincerely,
Chirag S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed here during the recent ice storm and power failure in Toronto. We really had only 3 criteria in looking for a hotel. 1) they had power. 2) they had rooms and 3) we could bring our 2 cats with us. This hotel was animal friendly and they had rooms still available (although we called one hour later after making our reservations and they were already booked solid).
We were very pleasantly surprised at this hotel. The rooms were clean, the hotel staff very friendly, and the beds comfortable. The rooms were very spacious. This is saying a lot- we had 2 adults, 2 cats and 2 guinea pigs in the room.
I would definitely recommend this hotel again to family and friends! The cost is very reasonable and the experience was wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chirag S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto - North York, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Hello and Thank you very much for writing us such a glowing review.

We are always thrilled to hear from our guests that have great experiences with us and this is no exception. We are so glad that you had an exceptional stay and that you liked our property.

We value your feedback and it helps our staff and it keeps them motivated at all times.

Once again thank you very much for staying with us and thank you very much for writing us such a wonderful review. We will definitely look forward to see you again.

Sincerely,
Chirag S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
North York
Best Western Plus Toronto North York Hotel & Suites
North York
Holiday Inn Toronto Yorkdale
Scarborough
Holiday Inn Express Toronto East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North York
Novotel Toronto North York
Novotel Toronto North York
#63 of 136 in Toronto
838 reviews
North York
Radisson Hotel Toronto East
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#57 of 136 in Toronto
2,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Toronto - North York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Toronto - North York

Property: Holiday Inn Express Toronto - North York
Address: 30 Norfinch Dr, Toronto, Ontario M3N 1X1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > North York
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Toronto - North York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Toronto North York, just 12 minutes from Pearson International Airport. With quick, easy access to Highways 400, 401 and 407, we are minutes away from York University, Canlan Ice Sports, LEGOLAND(R) Discovery Centre, Downsview Park and hundreds of corporations located in Toronto's North-West end. Canada's Wonderland and Wild Water Kingdom are summer family-fun favourites! World class shopping awaits in the nearby Vaughan Mills and Yorkdale Shopping Centre. While visiting don't miss Toronto's Ripley's Aquarium, CN Tower, Blue Jay's Baseball and Toronto Eaton Centre! Our FREE Express Start™ Breakfast Bar is the perfect way to start your day and features eggs, yogurt, cereal, our exclusive Cinnamon Rolls, freshly prepared pancakes, juice, coffee and more! Relax and recharge in newly renovated guestrooms that feature a 37" flat screen TV. Breathe deeply - 100% smoke free with windows that open! FREE parking. Stay connected with FREE WIFI and 24-hour Business Centre. Planning to meet with the team? Choose from two spacious, light filled meeting rooms, ideal for groups up to 40 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Toronto - North York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Toronto - North York Hotel North York
Holiday Inn North York
North York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing