We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWESOME Graffiti tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tour Guys

Tour Guys
Ranked #6 of 120 Tours in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: FREE walking tours are what we're known best for, but we offer private tour guides, group tours, school field trips and more. Our tours cover what's cool, interesting, and exciting about Toronto, from graffiti to ghosts, and the best places to eat, shop, and play.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME Graffiti tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Jason was so personable and knowledgeable - he answered all our questions and helped us develop an understanding for the roots of graffiti, as well as its development towards the work we see in Toronto today. It was an awesome experience that heightened our appreciation of the city around us, even after the tour ended. I highly recommend this tour to anyone interested in art, families with teenagers interested in hip-hop culture, and locals who want to explore the hidden gems in the back alleyways of Toronto. A lot of walking, though - which we enjoyed - but NOT recommended for young children and those with medical conditions that might prevent them from keeping up on this long tour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    90
    8
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great tour; thanks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Our guide James did an excellent job of taking us around the sights of central Toronto. We were only in town for a few hours, and I'm so glad we used our time to do this rather than rush through some other attraction. Lots of local information and stories (and goss on the mayor!), delivered with confidence and great humour. Recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Amazing beer, amazing guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Didn't really know what to expect when we booked. Turning up we met Jason and Nick who we instantly clicked with. We didn't just stop at some bars but also at the famous St Lawrence markets to get some delicious Canadian specialties (try the butter tarts!). Our guide was also very knowledgable about Toronto history and even had a few locals stop and thank him for teaching them something new when they overheard us. His knowledge of beer was also great. Highly recommended even to someone who only has a short time in Toronto as we did.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Axolotl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Enjoyed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Mike, the tour guy knows a lot about his city. He had some spare time, so the tour was even longer than promised. Recommended!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnastasiyaAstapova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Graffiti tour delivered all that was promised and more! Highly recommend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

As a part of the 2013 travel bloggers' conference, TBEX, I signed up to go on a graffiti tour led by Toronto Tour Guy Jason. The tour promised insights into the graffiti culture, lingo, and tools of the trade - in addition to the surrounding controversy and laws. The tour absolutely delivered on all these promises and more! In a short time, Jason described for us the history of graffiti in Toronto, some of the key graffiti writers in the city, as well as some of the subculture's do's and don'ts of engaging in this form of self-expression. All the information was presented with respect, a touch of humor, and an obvious love for the City of Toronto. (There's no one better to show you a city than someone who is truly engaged in it and loves it.) Jason was able to answer questions thoroughly, too. The tour provided tons of great photo opps. The pace was perfect - not too slow, not too fast. I was neither bored nor overwhelmed. In short, I would jump at the chance to take other tours by the Tour Guys, and I'd highly recommend the graffiti tour to anyone with an interest in really getting to know the city.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CourtenayClarisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tour Guys also viewed

 

Been to Tour Guys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing