We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lipstick on a Pig”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport
Ranked #53 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lipstick on a Pig”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Well, where to begin. First of all, there are two Holiday Inn's on Dixon Road, so if you are taking the shuttle from the airport to the hotel, be sure that you are getting on the one for 970 Dixon Road, and not the other Dixon Road Address. I don't hold this against the hotel, not really, but boy, there is no way we were the first people to make that mistake.
Our arrival (two adults plus two kids under 3) late at night with lots of baggage was met by a doorman who was somewhat smiley and extremely sluggish - so much so that he actually didn't even move from his place beside the door, although he did nod to us as we trudged through the door dragging bags and holding kids in arm. I appreciated the nod and pondered handing him a kid, but he seemed content to just stand, and who am I to put the guy out like that?
Then, after being ASSURED of two cribs over the phone ON TWO SEPERATE PHONE CALLS, they claimed to be out of cribs. Super. The lady was friendly, and attempted to call another hotel to see if they had cribs, but they didn't. Minus points. I don't care if she was friendly. We were assured and they didn't come through. We might as well have roamed the streets for the next six hours - we sure as hell weren't sleeping.
The hallways of this hotel remind me of a one and a half star hotel, perhaps on par with a more upscale frat house.
The room was average, as always. The bathroom was new-ish, I guess, but you really can't put lipstick on a pig, now can you. They were tiny, the tub was old, so was the toilet, and, well, that's about that. The floor was heated, which actually annoyed us as wouldn't money have been better spent to fix up the more obvious, crappy elements of the room/hotel??
Overall I would recommend that people stay elsewhere, like a Hampton Inn, where the pricing matches what you get. AND HOW ABOUT A FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST HOLIDAY INN INTERNATIONAL???? Hampton Inn does that! And oh yeah, so does every other freaking hotel!!! Would've been nice after spending six hours awake with my crib-less kids!

Room Tip: Rooms within hotel are to be avoided. All of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Booshymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Wanted to start by saying that we apologize for you not getting what was expected and promised. We will need to look into this further as there are only a number of cribs in the hotel and it is one of those items that we cannot GTD. As a father I know how it must of felt arriving and going to the wrong hotel then no crib. Our complimentary Airport Shuttle is clearly marked 970 Dixon Road and our divers do say 970 Dixon Road Holiday Inn. We do our best to help when the guests arrive at the wrong Holiday Inn. As for the hotel we work hard on ensuring our staff are customer front and focused and are friendly. I will follow up with our Bell Team and bring up your comments to them as we normally get positive feedback from this group! You will be glad to know the hotel will be going through an extensive renovation over the next year and bit so you will see the product improvement which we are excited about.
Regards
DougGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    280
    186
    61
    49
See reviews for
149
176
72
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carberry, Manitoba
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We stayed a couple nights recently while in town for a wedding in the family. The hotel was a lot easier to get to going up the 427 N (it is straight through the highway exit) than by coming across the 401 West. If it were not for the myriad of events in town on that specific weekend, we would have been satisfied with the proximity, for the significant price savings over any of the downtown hotels (3-4x as much).

A couple of things that we should have noted, parking is not free, even for hotel guests. And the breakfast buffet is quite expensive, more than the difference between this hotel and the next closest in price (and this was for a couple, for a family you'd get hosed on breakfast costs). The room (king suite) was very clean, and well appointed, our only issue was the cramped bathroom, having the door swing outward would have made a lot more sense. On the 4th floor it took a good 30 seconds at least to get hot water to the shower.

In summary, we usually stay at places with free breakfast but for the Toronto Airport area we will be looking for free breakfast AND free parking next trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klokwerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments with us. We appreciate your business and glad that you found the hotel to be conveniently located close to the 400 series of highways. I will share your comments with our housekeeping team in regards to how clean you found the room as they take pride in having a spotlessly clean and well maintained hotel that guest love!! Being and airport hotel parking is a premium and our guests over night rate is competitively priced for the area. I hope that you get a chance to stay with us again in the near future!
Regards DougGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Back again to our usual Airport hotel in Mississauga. We have stayed many times before and always find it a clean, comfortable hotel with friendly staff. A good location, and very good breakfast buffet with friendly and efficient wait staff.
We were given the usual efficient check-in and all went smoothly. It was nice to see our housekeeper Eame D. , who greeted us like family.
Would recommend and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Higher floors on 10 or 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HavnfunOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed here for one night after flying from Calgary.
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was fine and comfortable although there was a lot of road noise.
We went down to the bar and, bearing in mind it was quite late, were totally unimpressed by the standard of service from the staff. We requested a glass of wine from the list but they were unable to find the relevant bottle.
Also, the bar was full of people who had obviously been drinking all evening and who we found rather noisy and mildly threatening. It had a 'pub' rather than a hotel atmosphere and was certainly well below the standard we have experienced in a number of other Holiday Inns. We departed - our thirst unquenched!
The only other positive we found was the free airport shuffle which was very welcome.
We're not sure we'd pick this hotel again (even for the loyalty points!) if we were looking for an overnight stay near Toronto airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiffLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear GiffLancashireUK,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our guest services.

I sincerely apologize for you did not find our level of service to your liking and truly sorry for the poor experience you had at the bar. We regret that these aspects have negatively impacted your overall experience with us. Rest assured that your comments will be forwarded to the hotel's management and will be used to consider improvements where possible.

Once again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We all hope that you give us another chance so we can make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beersheba, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed overnight because I had a stopover between flights. It was great to relax - comfortable bed, pleasant clean room, friendly and accommodating check-in, and good shuttle service from and to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank write_n_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Checked in here late Friday night.
You should have seen the 4 marshmallow like pillows presented on a king bed. Comical!
I'm sure they were smaller than a standard pillow.
My towel had several holes in it so I hung it on the ironing board through one of the holes.
I'm hoping it will go to the rag bag.
Comfortable bed, good shower.
No restaurant or room service. We were directed to a Subway sandwich joint down the street.
No Thanks!
Tried to use a vending machine for a bottle of water to no avail.
Wouldn't take a swipe of room card as directed. Didn't want to chance my credit card for fear of denial.
On departure from Pearson, the shuttle driver offered no assistance with luggage. I had to drag my suitcase and carry on down the aisle of the bus. At the next stop, the driver told those boarding to put their luggage in the rear of the bus, not leaving his seat.
The travelers loaded their gear and announced to the driver they weren't sure how to close and secure the back of the bus door. He finally left his seat to close the baggage doors.
I kinda think that baggage storage and door security would be on this persons job description.
What a mess had the door open and luggage be strewn across the roadway.
Ah, sorry no tip!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators so you don't have to listen to every partying tribe arriv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada H, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Brian,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us at the Holiday Inn Toronto Airport. We are sorry to hear that your pillows were not up to the standard of a king bed. We are actually in the process of updating our pillows so that we have the standard size for the king beds and the queen size pillows for our double bed size. We have also send your comments to our housekeeping manager to ensure our towels are of quality to our guests. We will follow up with our shuttle company as we normally deliver great service right from pick up at the airport to throughout your stay. Thanks again for your feedback as we love to hear our guests experience so we can ensure we continue to deliver great hotels guest love. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we would love the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Ada.H Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had an unexpected stay in this hotel for one night, a couple of weeks ago due to delays by Air Canada. Even though we were completely annoyed with the Airline, as we ended up missing a day of our holiday in the States, the staff at this hotel were great! They were so friendly and helpful, they allowed us to use the telephone in the reception to help us out. They constantly went out of their way to help us and make us feel more comfortable :) The room we were given was great, nice and spacious, and really clean!

The only downside, which isn't the hotels fault at all, it's Air Canada's fault - they don't give enough vouchers to cover the price of meals in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thanks for sharing your comments with us and we are so happy that our team helped make your unexpected stay a good one with us. Our team works hard to promote a culture that has incredibly friendly staff in a hotel that is sparkling clean and well maintained that guests love. It seems from your review we are doing the right things!
Cheers till your next visit with us at Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport.
DougGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toronto
Westin Toronto Airport
#64 of 136 in Toronto
30 reviews
Etobicoke
Courtyard Toronto Airport
Courtyard Toronto Airport
#68 of 136 in Toronto
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport
Address: 970 Dixon Rd, Toronto, Ontario M9W 1J9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Airport Hotel in Toronto Offers Value & Service. The Holiday Inn Toronto Airport welcomes you to our newly renovated airport hotel at Toronto International Airport (YYZ). You'll love our hotel's convenient airport shuttle, quiet, convenient location and heated bathroom floors.Guests appreciate our hotel's close proximity to the Toronto Congress Centre and International Centre, the major host for area events. Our meeting facilities are the best among Toronto airport hotels. Our 21,000 sq. ft. of conference space is now renovated and offering 20 meeting rooms with award-winning catering ready to host any event. Leisure guests love our hotel's location near Pearson Airport. Nearby attractions like Woodbine Entertainment Centre, and shopping at Sherway Gardens offer family fun. Easy access to Hwy 401,427,407 and 410 puts Toronto's world-class attractions just minutes away.Guests will enjoy dining in our newly renovated Bistro YYZ. Enjoy a wide variety of beer and wine. Workout in a 24-hour Fitness Centre or refresh yourself in large, heated indoor pool. For your next stay in Toronto, our airport hotel's associates wait to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport Hotel Toronto
Toronto Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing