We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location in Downtown Toronto”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bond Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bond Place Hotel
Ranked #55 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenient location in Downtown Toronto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed in Bond Place for a few nights at the beginning and again at the end of our 2 week holiday in Canada. In general it was a nice hotel. If you're looking for luxury though this is probably not the hotel for you. However it is certainly functional and well located, a couple of minutes walk from Yonge Dundas Square, and the impressive Eaton Centre.

Walking from the direction of the Square, the hotel is a little difficult to identify at street level. The signage for the hotel's restaurant, The PomAnar Grill & Juicery, is much more evident than the hotel name itself, and we, along with a couple of other guests, walked past the entrance a couple of times before realising it was actually the hotel.

Staff were pleasant and helpful throughout. They kindly printed our boarding cards on two occasions.

The restaurant is fine - though more suited to breakfast than anything else.

We booked a Queen Junior Suite. My first impression of the room was that it reminded me of a college residence with the continuous wooden ledge / desk running underneath the windows. I would agree with another reviewer's comment that the photos on the hotel website are better than reality. But the room was still adequate, spacious and clean. Bed was comfortable. The curtains weren't great for blocking sunlight - we woke very early as a result of the sun shining in.

A little thing, but hotels in Canada don't seem to supply shower gel, only soap, so just a tip to other travellers. Other supplies in this hotel were fine - shampoo, conditioner, mouth wash etc.

The Airport Express goes from directly outside the hotel. Other travellers might be interested to know that a return ticket was $42 but the journey was a bit tedious as the bus stops at various hotels in the city for pick-ups / drop-offs depending on whether you're going to/ coming from the airport. A much cheaper way is to get the subway from inside the Eaton Shopping Centre (5 minute walk from hotel) - a $3 charge gets you to the end of the line (Kipling station) and then get the #192 Airport Rocket bus right outside the station to the airport - there is no charge for the bus. Some might prefer not to have to get two tubes and a bus, but it took us roughly the same amount of time as the Airport Express for a fraction of the price.

Room Tip: Request a room that doesn't get direct sunlight in the early morning as the curtains didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serena S, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Springle,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback, we really appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience.

Glad to hear you enjoyed our location and found it very central to your needs. We are pleased to hear the staff took good care of you during your staying.

Please notice we do have black out curtains behind the shears that are in all of our rooms. The Black out curtains can be used with the sheers on top as well to provide the best block out of the sun shine when you require it to be dark in the rooms.

Again thank you for taking time to share your comments and experience. We hope you will stay with us again in the near future.

Thank you for choosing the Bond Place Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    1,105
    632
    184
    142
See reviews for
377
869
309
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I visit Toronto a couple of times a year. When I come on business I stay at one of the bigger chains. when I paying for myself I stay at the Bond. The rooms are modern and clean but very small (very little room around the bed). The location is good and the prices are normally on a par with the Marriott Courtyard which is a bit older and dustier.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nondom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serena S, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Nondom,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review based on your visits to The Bond Place Hotel. On your next visit, please inquire with the front office management team on different room types that might be more to your liking. Our Queen Junior Suite comes with 1 queen size + 1 sofa bed and with complimentary wifi access. Thank you for choosing the Bond Place Hotel and we look forward to seeing you soon! Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I was expecting a much nicer hotel based on the pictures. Overall it felt like more like a budget hotel in Europe that was recently refurbished with Ikea like decor. Pros: great location in Downtown Toronto, fairly clean, staff was friendly. Cons: no dresser in the room, apparently the rooms only come with a twin size bed so I had to upgrade to an executive room just to get a queen sized bed, the movie channels on the tv were apparently out of order and have been for some while now, the bed is mushy and the edges are rigid...not sure what this was, the parking is $19 per day caddy corner in a dirty garage...but of course this is per day..not per 24 hours so in my case I parked in total about 20 hours but paid for 2.5 days. In the end these charges added up to what I probably could have paid to get a much nicer hotel with these amenities standard or coming to a total of similar costs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redhedgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serena S, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear redhedgreg,

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate hearing it so that we can continue to improve our operation on a regular basis.

We are pleased to hear the staff took care of you and you were able to enjoy the location.

Please note we do have a dresser in the front of each room. The cabinet allows a shelf on top and hangers for your belongings. As well the large seated cushion at the front of most of our rooms has additional storage space. (Large drawer). We also take storage for in house guests or on arrival/departure date should you require it.

As well you can certainly book other room than the Twins room. This room is our standard room and normally available at a discounted rate. However we do have several room types available online.

Regarding parking: Please be aware we have researched all of the other hotels in the surrounding area. We are offering a discounted rate on our parking in comparisons. The charges are $19 for overnight until 12 noon the following day, and extending to 5:00pm the next evening for only $5.00.

We also have some packages with Parking included in the rate and can certainly assist you when you book directly at the hotel via our Reservations Department.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback, it is most appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had a double room for the first few days, but then upgraded to an executive room for the rest of our stay which we found to be more comfortable and spacious. The staff were very courteous and friendly many thanks to Zia, Donna and Paul for their exceptional friendliness towards my husband and i. We would not hesitate to return to this hotel for a stay in the future.

Room Tip: I suggest you ask for a room away from the elevators. It can be quite noisy in the early hours of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serena S, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Barbara B,

Thank you for taking the time to post up a wonderful review! Donna, Zia & Paul are definitely an asset to our team and they will be delighted to hear your lovely comments. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback for it will motivate our team to maintain the exceptional customer service to our valued guests. We hope to see you soon and thank you for choosing the Bond Place Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Pete, FL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

By North American standards, these rooms are postage stamp sized. Bathroom was 5x8 and sleeping area 10x10. However the room was neat, the bed was comfortable and the location is terrific. Most of all, the price was right for downtown Toronto.

Room Tip: High room away from the elevator is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueeyedme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serena S, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Blueeyedme,

Thank you taking for taking a moment of your time to post a review based on your experience at the Bond Place Hotel. I do apologize our room size was not quite up to your preference. Be sure to check out our Deluxe room or any of our suites on your next visit. I'm glad that you took advantage of our location for we are in the core of heart of downtown! We definitely look forward to having the opportunity to accommodate you soon! Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stay here when on business in Toronto, it is close to the entire core area, so you can easily walk to just about anywhere, the prices are good for Toronto. Rooms are older and 'decent', but for a business trip it is fine. Wouldn't suggest for a romantic evening, but for a quick stop over at a good price, it fits the bill.

Room Tip: If money is an option and you just want a bed for the night, good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Had an executive room in this well-located hotel which seemed to be used equally by tourists and businesspeople. Room was small but modern and comfortable with clean bathroom and flat-screen TV. The wifi we had included in our room rate was good and fast enough for our requirements. Despite its downtown location the hotel was fairly quiet. Our only slight quibble was that the air conditioner was right next to the bed so one person got blasted!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bex11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
#59 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,904 reviews
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#53 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Downtown
Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bond Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bond Place Hotel

Property: Bond Place Hotel
Address: 65 Dundas St. East, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2G8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bond Place Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bond Place Hotel Downtown Toronto is ideally located in the heart of downtown Toronto at Yonge and Dundas Square. The Hotel is across the street from the Eaton Centre and steps away from the Toronto Theatre District, including the Canon Theatre, Massey Hall, Elgin/Winter Garden Theatre, The Panasonic Theatre, and other local area attractions. Many downtown corporate and government offices, colleges and universities, are within walking distance. The Hotel is also central to downtown Toronto hospitals, with St. Michael's Hospital located across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bond Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bond Place Hotel Toronto
Hotel Bond Place
Bond Place Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing