We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Ranked #78 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for the Toronto comic and art festival.Perfect location to walk to the Reference Library where it was held. You can walk to lots of stuff and subway is across the street.Now the room was very comfortable, good beds and pillows.A restaurant is attached for breakfast etc.The staff was very helpful, answered all my questions( Hey Igor).We had a wonderful stress free weekend. Thanks to all the guys.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHDT, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Joyce,
Thank you for writing and sharing your experience on the TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Comfort Hotel Downtown Toronto. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay while you were our guest.Thank you for rating our accommodation, cleanliness and staff service as excellent.We share all guest comments with our team members and the recognition by guests encourages the team members to perform better every time.
We hope you will stay again at Comfort Hotel downtown Toronto in the near future.
Sincerely
Satish Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    188
    148
    43
    36
See reviews for
108
133
56
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kemptville, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The price matches the hotel-it's an average hotel very close to downtown Toronto and just off Yonge so good access to eating, shopping, subway. If you want parking, there is a tiny underground lot in the hotel, so check in early to get one. The desk staff were all very cheery and polite. The beds were comfy - lots of pillows - and the room surprisingly quiet despite the location and I come from the country. One Asian restaurant on site, which we didn't use, went to Maggies across the street for breakfast-good food, except odd to have garlic french fries for breakfast. the bathroom is tiny-you can wash your hands in the sink before you even get up from doing your business, but all looked clean and in good repair-room 1010. The sink plumbing is backwards, so set at cold-you get hot and vice versa-and on the 10th floor it takes a while to get hot water in the morning, but it comes. So comparing downtown hotels, you can stay here at a reasonable price for the city, and get out and enjoy Toronto

Room Tip: We requested a higher room away from the elevators and ice machine-top floor is 10th which is where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHDT, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Cynthiaahs,
Thank you for sharing your experience on the TripAdvisor following your stay at Comfort Hotel Downtown Toronto.We are glad that you were happy with the cleanliness ,price point ,upkeep and the service friendly staff.

Our maintenance have corrected the sink plumbing and have checked the water pressure on the 10th floor.Thank you, once again for pointing out and helping us improve our services.

We hope you will chose us on your future visit to Toronto.
Sincerely
Satish Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 nights with my husband...
Room 905..nice and quiet..excellent beds..so comfortable. ..very large room..cleaned every day...
Breakfast was included and it was quite adequate. .juice,tea,coffee.toast and crossiants...as much as you wanted.
Hotel staff and management were very courteous and helpful .
They told us if we needed anything extra in the room not to hesitate in asking.
The hotel is one minute from Yonge st.and 5mins walk from the subway..
I would highly recommend this hotel and we will be returning...

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHDT, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Marion L,

Thank you for posting your experience on the TripAdvisor following your stay at Comfort Hotel.We appreciate your feedback and are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and liked our location ,large size clean rooms ,Restaurant and friendly service.

Thank you once again and we are looking forward to host your stay during your next visit to Toronto.

Sincerely

Satish Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here one night and was pleasantly surprised. Beds were very comfortable, room was clean with small windows that opened and it had all the other basic amenities one would expect such as coffee making and cable TV. The bathroom, although clean and somewhat updated was incredibly small but did it's job.

I much prefer this slightly uptown area as it's less touristy and there are dozens of eating options literally steps from the hotel and loads of shopping from Dollarama to Holts. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brentto99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHDT, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Cooltool74,
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor following your stay at Comfort Hotel downtown Toronto.We are glad that you liked the cleanliness ,service and the convenient location.You are right ,the Trendy yorkville shopping district is just a couple of blocks away and you can find the choicest Eating places, Pubs and shopping venues there.
Thank you once and we are looking forward to host your stay in the near future.
Sincerely
Satish Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with my hubby and kids for one night only‚ Easter weekend of 2014.
It was fairly quite‚ clean‚ and on the average side as for the price. The location was very good too‚ very friendly front desk " we booked over the phone ;; I think his name was Igore" . The room was a good size‚ small bathroom but with plenty of towels.
That being said ‚ I have to point the negatives:
No fridge in the room
No extra blankets
The room was cold
Expensive parking 21$ ( we parked across the street for 12$ )

If for one night I think its ok but not for longer stays especially with a family.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank samah80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHDT, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Samah80,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about Comfort Hotel Downtown Toronto following your recent stay.We are glad that you were happy and satisfied with your accommodation, cleanliness and the staff service.Thank you for letting us know that our staff on duty Igore was friendly and helpful.we will definitely share your comments with him.
We do have fridges and microwaves in our King rooms and Suites.We also rent the fridges and microwaves for our standard rooms. Please try our suite on your next visit which are very popular with small families for a little extra . The suites feature queen bed room and a separate living room , work desk, small dining table,fridge and a microwave, Keurig Coffee maker, pull out double bed.
All rooms are heated with central heating as well as Dual heating and Cooling system.The room temperature can be controlled to your liking.
Thank you once again for staying at comfort Hotel Downtown and we are looking forward to hosting your stay in the near future.
Sincerely
Satish Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in... ever. Although the location has been marked as average, this is only because you are relatively close to locations you might want to visit. The actual hotel was in a very noisy area leading to a very bad night's sleep.

The rooms were in a very poor state of upkeep. Initially we were in a room on the second floor, but were moved to a room on the 7th floor due to noise. Most of the pictures were from the first room on the 2nd floor, with the dangerous socket connected to the room heater being from the second room on the 7th floor.

The hotel, or an adjoining building, also seemed to have construction work in progress, as from 8am to 10pm there was a loud banging noise that reverberated through the room.

Soundproofing in the rooms was also terrible, as we were woken at 3am and 5am due to an altercation between guests on the same floor, and at 4am due to a fight on the street 7 floors below us.

Breakfast consisted of toast, orange juice and coffee / stale tea from the adjoining Sushi restaurant, unless you paid for an upgrade, although for the price of the room this was probably the most that could be expected.

Overall, I regret that my family had to endure a night in this hotel, and am currently seeking a full refund from my travel agent.

Thank goodness we were only booked into here for one night!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattA1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHDT, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear MattA1974,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay at Comfort Hotel Downtown Toronto.We are sorry to hear that the accommodation provided to you was not up to the standard and there is no excuse for that.We have checked the room for any repairs with our maintenance team and have taken the room out of inventory for immediate repairs.
Unfortunately we had to move your room because of some loud neighbors on your floor to ensure you had a good night's rest. Currently, there is no renovation or construction or demolition work going on in our building.However a building is under construction on at 1Bloor west that perhaps was the source of noise which is about one block away.
Thank you, once again for sharing your experience with us and helping us to improve our services.We hope you will continue to use our hotel for your future accommodation needs .
Sincerely
Satish Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I am a budget traveller and I stayed at the Comfort Hotel Downtown for 10 nights.
The location of the hotel is very convenient.
It is only a stonethrow away from Bloor/Yonge Subway Station, a junction where you can travel all directions. A day pass for 11 $CAN will make the whole downtown area easily accessible for you.
Opposite of the hotel you will find a Starbucks and a McDonalds next to it just in case you get hungry at night. Always good to know especially when it is -15 degrees Celsius and you don´t want to walk too far.
The Rabba 24/7 store is just 100m on Charles St. West and serves the healthier stuff like juices, salads and granola. So much for the budget food options. Of course there are plenty of fancier restaurants on Yonge Street.
The Varsity Cinema is less than a 5 min walk from the hotel and shows the less mainstream movies.
Also only a couple of blocks north of the hotel you will find the Toronto Reference Library, as far as I know, the biggest one in Toronto with 5 floors. A good spot for some peace and quiet.
Once you enter the hotel you will find a sitting area and a small business centre which allows you to print out a ticket or some online confirmation for free.
WIFI is free throughout the hotel and worked fine all the time.
The staff has always been friendly, helpful and professional.
My room was on the ninth floor and very big considering that I was travelling alone.
The window was huge which makes the room very bright and therefore makes you feel good.
It had two queen beds, a table and two chairs, a rather large and new flatscreen TV as well as tea and coffeemaking facilities. It was warm and cozy and the heating/AC can be regulated by the guest
(I hate it when you cannot regulate in room temperature).
There is also the possibility to open two little windows (part of the huge window) to get some fresh air. The interior is a little outdated but certainly has its charm and the room is spotlessly clean.
The bathroom is big enough and you will find all you need (lots of towels, hairdryer, bathtub, shower, amenities)
The waterpressure is very good even on the ninth floor and you will get really hot water immediately (I stayed elsewhere and it took ages for the water to get hot).
A basic breakfast was included and was served in the ground floor restaurant.
Again the staff was very friendly although I have to say the choices were quite limited
(Toast, croissants, jam, peanut butter, coffee or tea). To be fair you could upgrade to a wider range for an additional ~5 $CAN. I didn´t bother. Anyway, even a small breakfast gives you a good start in the day.
There is one exceptional thing I have to add: I was expecting two very important letters but just one arrived during my stay. The front office manager Mr. D´Silva and his team went to great lengths to make sure that it did not get lost and stored it for me. Mr. D´Silva informed me immediately via email when it finally arrived so that I could pick it up once I was back in Toronto.
For me that is a sign that the team of this hotel really does care about their customers.
I do recommend this hotel for those who want to stay in a comfortable hotel in downtown Toronto at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarkPassenger23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHDT, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear DarkPasseger23,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor following your stay at our Hotel. We are glad that you were very happy with the location and your accommodations during your stay .We are proud of our team members especially when they go an extra mile to serve our customers.We are thankful to you for mentioning and praising Darryl our Front Office Manager in your review.We will share your kind words with him and our team members to encourage them to continue delivering friendly and efficient service .

We are looking forward to host your next stay at Comfort Hotel Downtown Toronto in the near future.

Sincerely
Satish Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#80 of 136 in Toronto
260 reviews
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#65 of 136 in Toronto
701 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#56 of 136 in Toronto
2,612 reviews
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Midtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Downtown

Property: Comfort Hotel Downtown
Address: 15 Charles St E, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 1S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Hotel Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located near the Trendy Yorkville shopping, just steps away from Toronto's best shopping facilities, Restaurants and theatres. With easy access to the Yonge & Bloor Subway System, Our guests are only minutes away from all that Toronto has to offer. Wheteher you in Toronto for business or taking in a sporting event, a theatrical performance the Comfort Hotel Downtown is a perfect selection for your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Toronto
Comfort Inn Downtown Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing