We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very unique hotel experinece!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #8 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very unique hotel experinece!”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

If you ever get the chance to stay here you won't be disappointed. A truly historic hotel and wonderful experience. The rooms are truly unique each with their own personality. The club level is equally enjoyable!! Loved every minute of our stay. Almost didn't want to venture outside!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Jennifer O,

It is a delight to know that you loved every minute of your stay at The King Edward Hotel. It is experiences like these that make us want to celebrate our success in creating unique and special memories for our guests. Thank you for posting a review and I look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,138
    778
    251
    112
    42
See reviews for
524
1,272
185
907
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brockville
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2013

The wedding was at a different venue but most of the guests stayed at the King Eddy. The two days before the wedding coincided with the worst winter storm in Toronto and the north east US in 10 or 20 years. I chose valet parking and it was well worth it. I had to make many trips to deliver flowers, the double bass, the candles, the wine, the beer etc. My car appeared promptly, free of snow and ice and warm every time and there were many times. We had access to the Club Lounge for breakfast, tea and coffee and softdrinks and chocolates and newspapers whenever we needed a break. The concierge took care of arranging for limousines with a minimum of fuss and the results were exactly what I wanted. All staff were very friendly. I often compare the cost of staying in a hotel with the cost of staying at home and think that "at this price I should get more." On this occasion I did get more. I felt like an upstairs character from Downton Abbey with more than enough staff looking after my needs. It was a great experience.

Room Tip: choose a room that includes lounge privileges for breakfast, coffee, newspapers and a place to relax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear David H,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The King Edward Hotel for the wedding event. It is always a delight for me and my team to read a wonderful review about the hotel and I thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. I am glad that the staff and accommodations made for a great experience during your busy schedule. Thank you for recognizing their efforts.

We look forward to providing another excellent experience on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I have made 6 trips in 4 months to Toronto, staying at 3 different hotels - until I found the King Edward. The rooms are nice and big, room service is good, but the 'piece de resistance' - the bar!

Stefano will ensure your drink is always topped up, engage you in interesting conversation, while knowing when you want to be alone.

I am just finishing a 3 week stay and can honestly say I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Toronto.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear Neil T,

Thank you for sharing this awesome review with us. We truly appreciate knowing about our guest’s experience so we can celebrate our successes. Thank you for acknowledging Stefano who continue to create memorable experiences for our guests. I will be sure to pass on the compliments.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this historic downtown hotel. It was our second stay at this hotel.
i had reserved on Priceline for a good rate. On arrival I inquired whether we would have a king-sized bed and was told no. I was then offered an upgrade to a "suite" for $75.00, which included a continental breakfast, and happy hour with snacks, wine and beer.
I could advantage of this and was shown to the room. The bellman dropped our luggage on the furniture at the end of the bed, without asking me. Our luggage had been pulled through muddy snow and now there was dirt and snow on the carpet, bed spread and furniture.
I spent the first half hour cleaning that.
My husband arrived about forty minutes later and was enjoying the view from our windows, which was beautiful. Unfortunately, he also noticed a rather large bug, belly up on the window sill.
The manager was very apologetic and competed us the extra charge. He also provided us with a bottle of wine and cheese plate.
This is a very old hotel-150 years, actually. The lobby is lovely, but the rooms really need work.
The lounge, where you eat breakfast is so depressing. It really needs a renovation.
Parking is also an issue here, at $45.00 per night.
I don't think we will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katherineincanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear katherineincanada,

Thank you for providing us this feedback about your experience. We know you have numerous options to select from and we appreciate you choosing us for your travel needs. I apologize for some of the inconveniences you encountered during your stay and thank you for bringing them to our attention so we may address them. The hotel is 110 years old and now in the process of updating. It is my hope that when the renovation of guest rooms is completed you will return to stay with us again.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed at the King Edward Hotel on the weekend. We often stay in Toronto for a little break from our daily lives and we have stayed at this hotel before. We were given an upgraded room just because it was available and it was quite nice and very clean. The hotel is in such a great location for transportation, restaurants, entertainment and so much more. The staff are very friendly and accomadating.
Someone made a comment about the hotel being dated. That is what it is all about, a little history!

Room Tip: Higher floor, upgrade and end of hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RodRob55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear RodRob55,

It is very rewarding to read a review like yours and we thank you for sharing this with us. We are delighted to have been able to provide you with a wonderful experience and grateful to have you as a repeat guest. Thank you for noting the wonderful history of the King Edward Hotel built to welcome guests to Toronto since 1903 and still doing so today. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
173 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

My wife booked the ballroom and threw a little party for my 65th, along with 185 surprise guests, Beef Wellington, a beautiful buffet, wonderful bar and we stayed overnight in a lovely suite. She chose the King Edward from 15 interviews she held with different facilities -- and they did a spectacular job. I raved. She raved. Her guests raved. Ahh, that Beef Wellington and the the Potato Martinis !

Room Tip: Have a large dinner for 185 people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear Julian W,

Thank you for making us a part of your birthday celebration. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your special getaway and that we were able to make this occasion one to always remember. We greatly appreciate the feedback and wish you many more birthdays to celebrate.

We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Catharines, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Stayed here recently for a bachelor party for my brother in law recently. The hotel is beautiful on the inside, grand lobby and front desk staff was very helpful. They found a room with two beds available as my brother and I were sharing and definitely not sharing one bed! Rooms were huge, the only downside is that I did find the room decor a little dated and an awkward layout. The bathroom sink and toilet are in a separate room than the shower. The hotel is older so I just chalked it up to an older building style. Great service and put up with us ordering a late night pizza to the hotel!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are very large!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear Matt S,

Thank you very much for the generous comments on your recent stay at The King Edward Hotel. I am delighted to learn that your overall experience was to your satisfaction leaving you with good memories and impressions. I hope you return to visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 136 in Toronto
2,970 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#22 of 136 in Toronto
1,907 reviews
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Property: The Omni King Edward Hotel
Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#7 Family Hotel in Toronto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian Hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing