We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, slightly old fashioned hotel with overall great stuff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #7 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Even though I didn't use it the King Eddy's has an impressive gym, good people behind the desk, nice rooms with nice facilities. Bit of a drag because a fire alarm went off about midnight or so on my last night and the lifts were out of order for much longer than I would have expected.
Breakfast good but over priced, and service not very attentive for that kind of price.
However over all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pheephox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Pheephox,

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to note that our service and room amenities added value to your stay. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the fire alarm and appreciate your understanding. Your comments about our breakfast offerings will be reviewed to ensure we are continuing to offer our guests the best in service and quality.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Omni King Edward and we look forward to your return visit.

Jeff Waters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,540)
There are newer reviews for The Omni King Edward Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,503 - 2,509 of 3,540 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

Our stay at The King Edward was outstanding to say the least. We were upgraded to a suite
on the seventh floor which made our anniversary even more enjoyable.Hats off to the staff
especially James at the front desk and Chris the doorman.Great job guys. The room was very
stylish for the antique lovers and the wifI and light breakfast hit the spot. The location was great with Eaton Center and The Bay just a short stroll away. Also do not miss a visit to The St. Lawrence Market and the old downtown area.
Our next stay in Toronto will definitely include this fine hotel.

Room Tip: Try the seventh floor front of the building.There is no swimming pool so get your exercise walking.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgm792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear dgm792,

Thank you for your review. It is a delight to know that your stay was outstanding and that the hotel's location suited your needs. We will be sure to share your positive feedback with our team members, James and Chris, who will truly appreciate your recognition.

Thank you for making us a part of your anniversary celebration.

Jeff Waters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The location is great - a short walk from lots of attractions like the CN Tower, the Market, and shopping on Yonge. The hotel lobby and meeting rooms and beautiful and historic but well-maintained, and the rooms are very nicely laid out. My king room had a massive bathroom. Loved the little things like a stool under the vanity to sit and do my face up, and the great modern but comfy chair by the TV. Only complaints were that the bed was a little firm for my preference, and it was a little loud on Friday night - but not really something the hotel can control!

Room Tip: If you are staying on a weekend, perhaps ask for a higher room or for something quieter. 7th floor...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWTtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear NWTtravellers,

Thank you for selecting the historic Omni King Edward Hotel for your stay. It is a delight to learn that you had a wonderful experience and that you enjoyed the little details in your room. We apologize for the minor inconveniences you encountered and appreciate your understanding. Thank you for sharing your feedback.

Jeff Waters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at the King Edward for a night recently as it was a very special night.
My now fiancé had proposed to me at the hotel in a room he booked, which was a very nice surprise.
The room he booked was very nice with a king bed. The bed was super comfy and room service was very prompt. My fiancé had also arranged with the hotel to make a plate of mini desserts as part of the surprise and was put in the room before our arrival.

The room was very clean and cozy. The hotel is very grand and nicely maintained with updated features. We did go to the bar/lounge on the main floor and the service there was great too. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Asian S,

Congratulations on your engagement! We are thrilled to know that we became part of this special occasion and delighted that your experience was made very special through the friendly and helpful service of our staff. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we thank you for your recommendation.

We look forward to your return to celebrate another special occasion with us.

Jeff Waters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel is a grand old building with nice modern touches and is generally well kept and feels luxurious. The main lobby is very grand and there is a restaurant, bar, concierge desk, front desk, gift shop and spa all on the ground floor. My room was an executive room on the 10th floor, however I was a little disappointed as there was no full length mirror in the room at all and the lighting was not so good as the two small windows were both looking out to a corner with very tall buildings and therefore little light. It was difficult to put on make up and not appear as if I was going to be part of a circus! The food in the both room service and the bar was excellent, and the room service was efficient and on time. The bathroom was very well stocked with plenty of big bath sheets, hair dryer, water, cotton balls, etc. The bed was very comfortable with plenty of good pillows and a nice duvet. Definitely would come back again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellinggirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Travellinggirl2010,

Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to learn that you found the bed and the room amenities to your liking. We appreciate your comments about the mirror and lighting and will take them into account during the ongoing room renovation process.

Thank you for booking your stay at the Omni King Edward Hotel and we look forward to your return visit.

Jeff Waters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I am a student on a fairly tight budget and stayed one night at this hotel with a gift certificate I had received through my work. The room and 2 breakfast were included on the certificate. I woke up in the morning to find a bill for $30 slipped under the door without explanation. I went to the front desk and they didn't know what it was for either. We had breakfast and at checkout I was told there were no charges on my CC. A few days later I find a $50 charge on my credit card and had to make 2 phone calls to get it cleared up. I felt that if you weren't a rich business person the staff treated you like a second class citizen. I felt very out of place (because of the staff) and would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mtber123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Mtber123,

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the perceived service shortfalls you experienced during your stay. Service is one of the best things about this hotel and we are very sorry for the inconvenience caused and if you felt a lack of warmth in our service delivery and hospitality. Every guest is important to us regardless of booking status. With regards to the $50 charge, every guest is subjected to a $50 deposit to cover any incidental charges. This amount is not an actual charge on the credit card but an authorization that is released back to the credit card upon check out if no incidentals are used.

Your comments have been shared with the team for training purposes. We hope that you will grant us another opportunity to deliver a better stay experience for you.

Jeff Waters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights recently and I must say that this is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. Beautiful and plush and in a great location. We did not realize until after our first night that we had booked a king room and had been given a queen - we decided that we did not want to change and so did not say anything while we were there. A few days later I did contact the hotel and told them about the situation and was given an upgrade for our next time here, which was nice. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Stormy9091,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate the positive comments regarding your overall experience and are thrilled that you are coming back. We look forward to your return visit.

Jeff Waters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 137 in Toronto
3,442 reviews
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#7 Family Hotel in Toronto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £161 - £470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian Hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing