We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel - shame one staff member spoilt it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #8 of 133 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - shame one staff member spoilt it”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with friends over the new year period and overall it was a fantastic hotel. We stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms and it was a decent size with a huge modern bathroom. The lobby was very traditional, and the Christmas tree inside was very pretty.

Rooms had robes, iron, hair dryer, toiletries, huge tv etc - pretty much everything you'd need for a city break.

My one gripe about the place was the check-in man (I think his name was Todd Lowe) who was the most patronising, rude man I've come across in any hotel I've ever stayed in. Every problem I had was met with resistance and zero apology e.g I booked a twin room (ie with TWO beds) and was only given a room with one bed, his response 'well if you stayed in hotels in North America you'd know that twin means one bed' and when he made me become a member of the hotel group in order to get free (slow) wifi his response was again 'well if you stayed in hotels you'd know that you have to become a member to get free wifi', to top it off when I asked for our single camp bed (no rooms with two beds available) to be delivered quickly as we'd just got off a long flight and were tired his response was 'pretty much all of our guests have just got off long flights' - ummm okay. Firstly I am a regular traveller, secondly a twin room does mean two beds even in N America and secondly we continued our trip to montreal where we stayed in a lovely hotel with free wifi without 'becoming a member' - I think the hotel should really rethink who is the first contact point for guests upon arrival at the hotel.

The rest of the staff were lovely though in particular the staff in the hotel bar and also a great guy on guest services Shawn Robinson who went above and beyond in helping us book tickets to the ice hockey.

Yes I'd stay again as it was a great hotel but I'd hope for a different check in man!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank hall284002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,082
    766
    249
    112
    42
See reviews for
515
1,246
182
886
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Great value, service, and location. Friendly and courteous staff. Close to the market and St. James Cathedral. The hotel is in the process of renos, still it has a character of peacefulness and it is quiet, with just enough buss.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 3374rb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I will never stay at this hotel again and will tell my company and anyone that listens to never stay at this hotel again. Toronto should be ashamed at the lack of quality and respectful staff. To be yelled at like a high school student when I am a professional and I was right is not the way any service staff should treat any guest!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskoka, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at the King Edward hotel for a couple of nights in December and walked to the theater and shopping. Along the way we found numerous places to eat. The Front Desk Agent who checked us in was kind and helpful. The gentlemen who parked and retrieved our car were always accessible and quick to action. In addition, the hotel is beautiful and the room was spacious, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Cora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Do not order room service, very expensive and you get mediocre food and coffee. There is a Tim Horton's across the street. The staff and hotel is excellent and the location is central downtown. The mattresses were extremely comfortable and the rooms were quite large.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank ChenzTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Fantastic hotel, beautiful architecture, comfortable rooms. In downtown Toronto, a short walk from Nathan Phillips Square, Eaton's Centre, shopping on Queen Street West, Allen Gardens, St. Michael's Cathedral. Great hotel service! Thoughtful service (delivered fruit and cake to room, when they found out that it was my daughter's birthday) Delightful afternoon tea experience at the Victoria Restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have spent our New Year's Eve at this hotel for the last 4 years. In general everything is fine, but the New Year's Brunch is just spectacular: Food is astonishing, ambience, music, dessert ! don't miss it !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Omar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 133 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#22 of 133 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Property: The Omni King Edward Hotel
Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#7 Family Hotel in Toronto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian Hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing