We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely go back to King Edward”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #8 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will definitely go back to King Edward”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Though my room was a little "tired", it was all that it needed to be. The staff excelled at customer service, were attentive and prompt. And in all my travels (there have been a lot!!) this is the first hotel in a very long time that had the front desk call me 15 minutes after I checked in to see if everything was alright. Everyone greets you with a smile that feels sincere. Very conveniently located to the financial district, subway, PATH and local restaurants (both high end and cheap & cheerful).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,032
    758
    247
    112
    42
See reviews for
509
1,222
180
865
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This hotel is beautiful, elegant and classy. We stayed 1 night and was blown away with this historic building and gorgeous lobby. Check in was amazingly fast and pleasant. Erica was very nice and gave us a newly renovated deluxe room # 615. A gorgeous elegant room with a king size bed and the bathroom was unbelievable, the shower and water pressure was hot and powerful. The room was elegant and so so quiet, they also provided free keurig coffee and bottled water. Hotel is minutes away from all downtown attractions, bars and great restaurants. Just across the street there is a fabulous restaurant Beer Bistro, great beer, delicious food and great atmosphere. All in all, this hotel is a gem when planning your stay in downtown Toronto.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any newly renovated rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jzzkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

The hotel is located with access to many attractions. It is a beautiful hotel with pleasant and courteous staff. We stayed in a newly renovated room, which was large and comfortable. This is 5 star plus hotel at a 3 star price, especially given its location. Breakfast in the Victoria Restaurant was fantastic. Only downside is price of valet parking. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank DCG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear DCG22,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the comfort of our spacious newly renovated rooms. I am also glad that you experienced fantastic breakfast in Victoria's. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back.

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

My wife checked in before I arrived. She had asked reception for an updated room on TA advice, receptionist told her to first have a look at the current room and if it didn’t meet expectations to return and they would search for a renovated room. Upon entering we had received a Select Guest free upgrade to huge corner junior suite. Granted it wasn’t renovated but it was spotless and everything was in its place, desk by vestibule then huge room with full sofa, a chair and coffee table and fridge. Bath was large with window. My wife spoke to the turndown maid and was told all the mattresses are brand new no matter what room you stay in. During 3 night stay I would go across street every morning to Tim Hortons, pick up pastries and then we were able to enjoy it on sofa with free select guest morning beverage, nice way to save money, internet and newspapers also free for members. Turndown service included filled ice bucket and bottled water, also nice touch.
My wife had prepaid for afternoon tea saving 20% of regular price, while this wasn’t cheap, she and her guests really enjoyed it, especially since ambiance is nice. Can’t beat location, close to everything, plenty of restaurants, easy access to underground Path, and subways. Eaton Centre and catholic church 5 min walk (go to junior boys choir mass it’s fantastic). On the downside there is construction everywhere in downtown Toronto.

Evening before check out concierge desk arranged black car to bring us to airport next morning, so much nicer than a cab at minimal extra cost. While it would have been nice to be in a brand new room, the hotel and staff made a great effort in our upgrades so we have no regrets at all and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itbetterbeclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear itbetterbeclean,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review. I am pleased that you were happy with the room that you were in and that service and location were very satisfactory. It is also a delight to know that your wife enjoyed the afternoon tea experience which is always a popular treat with guests and locals alike.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Omni King Edward and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I chose this hotel specifically for the Sunday brunch. It may seem a little expensive, but the food is excellent and there is a variety of choices to please everyone. I asked to stay in one of the newly renovated rooms in the hotel when booking. These rooms are beautiful and very spacious. There was a little mix up with a cheese tray that I asked to be in our room when we checked in, but the staff handled it very well and were eager to make sure that we had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank jlogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights, what an amazing place, friendly staff and great location. Lots of history in this hotel, received a free upgrade upon check in, will stay here again when I return to Toronto . Staff made you feel right at home and were very helpful

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 65staples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear 65staples,

Thank you for your review. It is great to know that you had such a wonderful stay. I am pleased that the service and location were particularly satisfying. We value your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

The King Edward is a grand old hotel that shows its years a bit, but it is clear that service is still a priority. The staff and management went above and beyond expectations to resolve an issue I experienced during my stay. The suite I was upgraded to was enormous, the bed was luxurious, the internet was rock solid (seriously, hotel internet is usually a scant step up from free airport wifi), and the loyalty program (Select Guest) is absolutely worthwhile. I would steer clear of the Consort Bar's cocktail program; the pub mix is delicious, but my drink was fairly expensive and unappetizing. All in all, a great choice for accommodations in downtown Toronto.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Alex R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am glad that our service was to your complete satisfaction and that your overall stay was enjoyable. We appreciate that you selected the Omni King Edward and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#22 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Property: The Omni King Edward Hotel
Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#7 Family Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian Hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing