We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay on the 6th floor or don't stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #8 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Stay on the 6th floor or don't stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Type of trip - Business
Length of stay - 3 nights
Service - Excellent - everyone I encountered was extremely helpful and courteous
Lobby area - Fantastic - clean, grand, beautiful
Food - I had breakfast, french toast, a 2 out of 5 stars (bread was a little soggy - not good)
Rooms - Ok, the first night I did not stay on the "renovated" 6th floor and would have given that room 0 stars out of 5 (very, very old decor, dirty, terrible). I paid $20 the second and third night to be upgraded to the renovated 6th floor and it is like I was in a different hotel. (Beautiful rooms on 6th floor)
Overall message - if you can't stay on the 6th floor, do not stay here. If you can stay on the 6th floor you will be very happy.

Room Tip: Only stay on the 6th floor or don't stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,032
    758
    247
    112
    42
See reviews for
509
1,222
180
865
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I just completed at short stay at the King Eddie and was very impressed with the many enhancements made by the new Omni management group - a great improvement over the old Sheraton brand. They are upgrading all the rooms, which was really needed. The staff was also a big improvement, as were the in-room amenities. Price was very good as well, particularly given the value received.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Generally good experience. Nicely decorated rooms. Room rate was over priced because everything was booked in town. Would have appreciated ability to offer full breakfast in room. On the positive, items that could be ordered were reasonnably priced and there was a compementary beverage included and delivered in the morning. Pillows were not confortable and the poor hair dryer, no bath and small sink with no counter may annoy you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Andree Ms L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The hotel was amazing - room was spacious and yet cozy. The Consort Bar was average, won't hurt to give it a miss! Unless you're only after a drink. Overall, we'll definitely return to this hotel! Thanks King Eddy!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank thinaranjinib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the King Eddy for 2 nights as my company held their annual underwriting conference there. Check in was a breeze and the people at the front desk were helpful and cheerful. My room was very spacious. A bit dated but it was clean and roomy with a comfortable king sized bed and that's all that matters. Breakfast was tasty and the rooms where our conference was held were a good size. Hard to see speakers though with he pillars scattered throughout the room.
Close to everything including our head office, eaton centre, hockey hall of fame, St Lawrence market. I would come back again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lemonss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I spent a night at the King Edward Hotel on a recent business trip. The hotel is well located in downtown Toronto.

I liked that the room was huge, the bed was very comfortable and I had a king size bed (which is always fun !). The service was great, staff were professional, helpful and pleasant. I appreciated the little chats with the porters (they were wearing huge fur coats which was funny).

From the other reviews, I think part of the hotel was renovated and I'm pretty sure I was in the old section. Although my room was overall clean, when I first came in there was an old eaten apple who had been left on the carpet in the entrance ! That made for a bad first impression. Also, the decoration of the room was a bit outdated. The most annoying thing was that insolation was not very good, you could hear doors closing and opening and people talking in the hallways. Also, there was a big noise coming from a ventilation conduit that would go off regularly and make a terrible sound. I did sleep well even if it was noisy but I could imagine that someone else might have been bothered by it.

So I would recommend this hotel but only if you get a good discount or if you are in the renovated part.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n0ah73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, NY, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is my second experience with an Omni hotel and it will definitely not be the last. Toronto is my "home away from home" and The Omni is perfectly situated in my neighborhood of choice. It is quiet, clean, modern and inviting from the minute you pull up to the curb. The bonus was figuring out that the valet parking (which is off-site) is covered/garage which makes me feel much better about leaving my car.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#22 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Property: The Omni King Edward Hotel
Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#7 Family Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian Hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelbag, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing