We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful new-old hotel in downtown Toronto” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Omni King Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #8 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful new-old hotel in downtown Toronto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I had to spend the night in downtown Toronto. I usually stay at the Metropolitan, which I still like, but occasionally try something different. I had seen the on-line descriptions of the King Edward and was intrigued. The hotel itself is more than 100 years old and, fortunately, retains many of the original luxury architectural features while being a thoroughly modern place to stay, eat and/or drink. The staff were efficient and pleasant. I plan to return to the King Edward the next time I have to stay in Toronto.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elqrijghpiqerhvgier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,962
    751
    242
    112
    42
See reviews for
497
1,196
173
835
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I had to spend the night in downtown Toronto. I usually stay at the Metropolitan, which I still like, but occasionally try something different. I had seen the on-line descriptions of the King Edward and was intrigued. The hotel itself is more than 100 years old and, fortunately, retains many of the original luxury architectural features while being a thoroughly modern place to stay, eat and/or drink. The staff were efficient and pleasant. I plan to return to the King Edward the next time I have to stay in Toronto.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank elqrijghpiqerhvgier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

consistently great service and amazing food. 5 stars ! The brunch and the historic room it takes place in is lovely. A must to be experienced. The guest rooms pop with the hints of red and the shower and bathroom is one of the largest that I have seen recently. Tons of closet space and has all the right ammenities. I will most definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Jean Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The friendliness and efficiency of the staff topped off a nicely appointed large room that was completely quiet. The gym is the largest and best equipped that we've experienced as well. Perfect location to walk to all of Toronto's entertainment.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Doris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

OK, I stayed here on a work related trip. I'm not sure if it was the professional and courteous way that I was greeted upon check in...or the fabulous room service meal I had once I was settled. I truly appreciated staying here. My work space was spacious and I had no difficulty connecting to the wifi or getting my work done. My corner room was quiet (I will request a room at this location again). It was well appointed with creature comforts I like (nice bathroom amenities, fitness room). I had a short but very restful sleep and enjoyed a great breakfast. Meeting rooms were well maintained and comfortable.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are roomy, quiet and gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

A lovely property in a great location with restaurants and attractions within walking distance / on transit line. Beautiful historic architecture. The rooms are a bit dated: was told they are going through renovations, with updates working their way up from the ground floor. Found breakfast to be a bit pricey ($70 CAD) for two. Bar is excellent, with intimate seating and a large selection (didn't try the $350 cocktail). Perfect service by all staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meanderingherenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The location was perfect to experience restaurants, night,life as well as shopping. We never took a cab and enjoyed walking and seeing the town. The hotel is one of Toronto's first hotels so another Trip Advisor review warned me that some of the rooms are quite dated so very imperative to upgrade to the Premium rooms. The upgrade was $18 and worth every penny to receive a large remodeled room that was quite luxurious , beautiful with two queen beds and a bathroom that was separated into two rooms. We took advantage of the complimentary morning coffee brought up to our room in the morning as well as a shoe shine for being Omni members. Our beds were so comfortable that we could barely get out of them in the morning. It was difficult to find a hotel with two queen beds instead of standard doubles. We used a Travelzoo voucher that made the room an even greater value.

Room Tip: Absolutely choose a Premium room as they have been updated and are big and beautiful. As an omni me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#19 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#21 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Property: The Omni King Edward Hotel
Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#7 Family Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian Hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travelbag, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing