We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #8 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs updating”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel is tired and in immediate need of updating. Dark, mouldy bathrooms with chipped sink, water stained ceiling, torn carpet, and worn furniture. Staff, with the exception of the female server in their bar/dining facility, was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank gaynorchaochimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear gaynorchaochimy,

Thank you for your review. While I am very pleased to learn that our staff provided excellent service, I apologize for your disappointment with the room. Renovation is currently underway to update and improve all guest rooms and I hope that you return in the future to visit during one of your business or leisure trips.

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,140
    779
    251
    112
    42
See reviews for
524
1,273
185
909
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
136 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is obviously a very nice hotel. It is an old building with a rich history. The hotel while probably a 5 star at one point is squarely at a 4 and slipping to a 3.5. Why? Its getting old. Rooms are spacious and clean. The problem is that the need for a total renovation is getting near the red zone. Threadbare carpets, old bathroom fixtures. Staff is accommodating and very friendly.

Nits: Seriously stop calling! Phones are awful in the first place and hotel phones are beyond annoying. When you call me to see if my room is ok; when you leave a robo-message to invite me to some cocktail party...I have to listen to that stuff and wrestle with the hotel phone to get the darn light to stop blinking. Just stop.

Internet is sorta' high speed. It's fine but not great.

Comfortable beds BTW.

Room Tip: Higher floors seem to have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackPackGuy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

An unexpected stay due to flight cancellation led to a stay at the King George. The check in staff member, Emelie was fantastic and really made me feel welcome when I arrived looking for a room. Breakfast was very good and the room/bed was very nice. A good place to stay in Toronto.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherstburg, Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here and had a renovated room with a king bed. The bathroom was very small and you had to open the door partway to get in and then close it behind you to get access to the sink. This was room 621. Staff are very friendly and professional especially the concierge. We had a package that included wifi and breakfast. The wifi signal was good. I don't understand why any hotel is still charging for wifi. The location is good. Valet parking is 40$ per night. We would stay here again especially if we could get a deal.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank nanbik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed at the Omni King Edward in Toronto for a conference for work. The hotel staff were so courteous and helpful, the hotel itself was beautiful, and the amenities made me feel like royalty. Love the fresh apples at the desk and in the gym instead of the usual candy. The food was amazing everything I ate was worth every calorie!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Ideal location on King St in downtown Toronto. Staff welcoming and efficient. Classic, historic building with impressive foyer. Comfortable, clean and spacious rooms. Value for money, especially if you book early and get a deal.

Five small suggestions for improvement. First, not enough seating in foyer. Second, used dinner tray left outside neighbouring room wasnt collected for about a day. Third, wi-fi in rooms should be complimentary. Fourth, one of my bedroom curtains was noticeably torn. Fifth, the hairdryer in my bathroom was hanging in a bag behind the door: there should be a notice to this effect on the washbasin.

Room Tip: my room on a higher floor had good views across the city to Lake Ontario
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VayaConDiosAmigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Very small and dark, the staff was friendly and it has a very convenient location. The valet parking is terribly expensive. The food is ok but there is no restaurant except for the bar, in the morning and at tea time. If you want to take someone for dinner you have to eat at the bar and it not always conducive to talking. Also the tables are not very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Celia Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 136 in Toronto
2,975 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#22 of 136 in Toronto
1,907 reviews
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Property: The Omni King Edward Hotel
Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#7 Family Hotel in Toronto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian Hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing