We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #9 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Positives: The location for this property is PERFECT - I've stayed downtown at various hotels and the Omni's location is absolutely the best. Checking in was a breeze, and I have to say the doorman/valet person was one of the nicest people ever! Also the check-in staff were awesome. The hotel was nice, but I really wouldn't call it "luxurious" as some reviewers have. That’s fine, however – the value, location, and friendliness of staff more than made up for that. The room we had was definitely on the small side, which is strange to me as I’ve read other reviews that say their room was gigantic. We didn’t complain but I guess we should have; perhaps we would have been moved. The bed was super comfy/cozy and the room was spotless, though . For the price we paid through booking.com, we were happy happy happy and I’d stay there again for sure.

Negatives: The room size was small, and there was no mini-fridge. However, they did not falsely advertise that they had a mini-fridge in the rooms, so I can't nitpick at all on that! Our ONLY complaint was the bartender at the hotel bar! No idea what his name was, but he is an Italian gentleman in his 50s and VERY VERY negative. When we told him we were from Buffalo, he proceeded to completely bash our fair city! It was rather odd - he couldn't say enough negative things about Buffalo. He's of course entitled to his opinion but he didn't have to rub our faces in it! But actually, he was negative about EVERYTHING, not just Buffalo. He wasn't a friendly or welcoming person at all. And it was a slow night so we were two of a handful of patrons in the bar that evening - it's not like he was stressed from having to rush. Strange for a bartender to be like that! We walked away from the bar after only one drink (which we consumed as quickly as possible to get away from him) taking his generally negative attitude with us. However the vibe of the beautiful city and going to a different bar just down the street where we got a bartender who was positive, totally friendly, and upbeat quickly changed that!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a different room if you get stuck in a small one as we did (we had room 770). I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaScott_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,358 - 2,364 of 3,659 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Like the Omni Berkshire in NYC this is a well maintained downtown hotel. The valet parking was fast and efficient particularly on pick up. We took the offered $20 upgrade for a deluxe king. Spacious room but mechanical/electrical noise throughout the night was bothersome. Great walk-in shower but no bathtub (I should have asked at check-in as this is important to me). Drinks in the bar before heading out to our event were very pleasant. Will definitely skip Hotwire next time and book here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The room I stayed in was gigantic. I never heard anyone else-- even though this is an older hotel. I enjoyed the free turn down service. Staff was great and extremely friendly. Rooms are very clean. Bed was so comfortable with a selection of pillows for every taste. I would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank mblakeknox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A stay at the King Edward hotel is a treat from the minute you walk into the lobby. Actually the treat starts with the doormen greeting you. If you love grand hotels this one is a must. The staff is attentive, the rooms beyond clean and the lobby is a joy to sit in. The food is great and the best part is the fresh squeezed grapefruit juice delivered right to your door.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank robertalexander j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear robertalexander j,

We appreciate your positive feedback and are thrilled to know that the hotel is a welcome treat and that service is attentive. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed the morning beverage which is an added benefit for all Select Guest loyalty members.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Omni King Edward and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Jeff Waters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Costly, but worth the extra money. Quiet and large rooms. The beds are very comfortable, the place looks extremely high end. Would stay there again. Great facility. Bell staff and front counter staff are great. Food could be better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Gurbinder A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was in Toronto on business but managed to take a bit of time to enjoy the city. The front door staff was especially helpful with directions etc. I love staying at historic hotels and the King Eddy was great. Beautiful lobby and ballroom. The food was also good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank LisaMacAttack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Lovely hotel to stay at in Toronto. Walking distance to everything downtown. Around the corner from St Lawrence market. Great restaurants nearby. Minutes from the Eaton Centre. Comfortable room. Nice staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank 512janiceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 137 in Toronto
3,680 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown
Grand Hotel & Suites
Grand Hotel & Suites
#26 of 137 in Toronto
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#7 Family Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
#8 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £136 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing