We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb treatment for pets and owners alike”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #9 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

What's a great experience from the friendly valets and desk staff to the restaurant service. They go over the top for dogs which makes me smile. Even had a welcome gift for our fur kid. The only concern is that some of the rooms are "tired" . Seems they are under upgrade but you should specifically request a renovated room. Nonetheless, I would strongly recommend the hotel since it will reaffirm that excellent customer still exists and is alive and well at the King Eddy.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room even if it means the room is smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toronto5533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,237 - 2,243 of 3,587 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

We we enjoyed our room but there was not a fridge in the Bar area to keep our drinks cold. Restaurants in the Hotel are far too too expensive so had to go out to find a restaurant. Imagine, Brunch was $39 each and then had to tip. Hotel did place a plate with 4 chocolate dipped strawberries in honour of our 51th anniversary

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

From the time we pulled up to Valet at the front door. We where treated by friendly staff. Upon check in we where upgraded to suites and escorted with our bags to our rooms. Both rooms where clean and spacious. Excellent location for all our activities. Distillery, Taste of Toronto at Fort York, Beach Jazz on Queen St. High light... they make a mean Cosmo in the bar!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank K&BOrangeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We book a night at this hotel after reading some reviews and we could not get more pleased!!
Hotel is beautiful and well mantained, very clean and the staff is super friendly.
Everything was just perfect!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Chef_Serch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at the King Edward in July 2014. The customer service was the best I've experienced in years from the doorman, to the check-in staff to the manager, Don. The hotel itself is quite beautiful and the location for downtown Toronto is perfect. Check out the Sunday morning antique market just round the corner. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PamBUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, Guest Relations Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear PamBUsa,

We appreciate your feedback. We are so thrilled to hear that our customer service was the best you have experienced and that you received royal treatment throughout your stay. We look forward to sharing your comments with our hotel team who will appreciate your recognition. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Omni King Edward Hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

For those who are exploring the King Eddy for the first time, here is what will happen if you stay here. One day, without warning, a memory will drift into your mind and a stupid smile will take over your face. Somebody who is in charge here is trying very hard to build a strong customer service culture - and it's working.

For a start, the hotel is in a great location - for business or for pleasure. We wanted to be within walking distance to Union Station so it was perfect. (Though the amount of construction in the neighborhood will have you grinding your teeth.) You can expect to be pampered here and it is up to you how much you want to be pampered.

The rooms are quite big and they do not show their bumps and bruises even though they have welcomed guests for more than 100 years.

Be sure to visit the fitness room because you will be bragging about your visit there when you get back home.

We just spent a couple of nights. It would have been so easy to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beach30Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The staff and service at this hotel is five stars. We checked in with Jake and Sarah and they set the tone for our stay. We had several other interactions with Jake during our four days which only served to confirm our initial impression of professional, courteous and friendly service.

Since we could not upgrade (no rooms available) our room was dated but large and very clean. The king size bed was very comfortable and the room quiet, so we slept well, even with construction going on outside. As another reviewer mentioned, our room was on the dark side and views from our windows were of other buildings. Neither of these were issues for us, being our first visit to Toronto, we were out of our room most of the time.

(adding note to people who, like us, may have trouble with knees or ankles.....because the room is older, the toilet is very low)

We found the location perfect. The Hop-On-Hop-Off bus stops a few steps from the hotel. For the cost of approx $35 per adult you get three days of touring/commuting. There are many restaurants within walking distance including St. Lawrence Market.

TIP: we ate breakfast at the Over Easy which is on Yonge St in the Hotel Victoria. It is inexpensive and a five minute walk.

A final comment: Since we had never been to Canada, we had questions about where to get currency, rental car etc., I called the concierge several times. One concierge, Vanessa, took the time not only to give me information, set up a rental but to suggest other places to visit around Niagara Falls and she was spot on. I met her and she is wonderful I would try to hire her away from the King Edward if she would move to the States.

We loved Toronto and enjoyed the King Edward.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlyceBostonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, Guest Relations Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear AlyceBostonMA,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is wonderful to learn of your positive experiences with our warm and friendly front desk and concierge teams and that you enjoyed the five star service and hospitality of the hotel. As I know that those mentioned will be thrilled by your recognition, I will be certain to make them all aware of your appreciation. We are glad that your first visit to Canada was pleasantly memorable and we look forward to many return visits.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Omni King Edward Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 137 in Toronto
3,537 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#7 Family Hotel in Toronto
#8 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £152 - £424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian Hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing