We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #11 of 135 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Spent one night here last month. Huge room!! In need of a refresh but very clean and comfortable! Staff were wonderful and accommodating. Ordered room service at 3am, not many places you can do that! Came fast and very good. Loved the history, beautiful place. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank katho9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,431 - 2,437 of 3,814 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

We chose this hotel based on location and got a good deal from Booking. It still was expensive but nowhere near their normal prices. Hotel is located near shopping areas and there's a metro station nearby.

We stayed six nights in King Eddy and overall enjoyed our stay. The hotel is old and grand, the lobby is gorgeous and it felt pretty special when we arrived. The staff was very friendly and we felt welcomed at the moment we stepped in.

The room itself was nothing special. After reading other reviews I noticed they got refurbished rooms as well, but at the time I didn't know that and thought they all were the same, a bit outdated. Everything was clean though. Wifi was free at the lobby but not in the rooms. Room had a safe, but no minibar or small fridge. There was a coffeemaker and small selection of coffee and tea.

The bathroom had a tub and there was plenty of room for toiletries near the sink. No hooks for the towels or clothes. We didn't try room service or have breakfast there.

I only gave this hotel 3 stars because of the outdated room and because they made a double reservation on my credit card which would've caused a lot of harm if we hadn't had other credit card with us. It took over an week before the other reservation was cleared and I had to make several calls to my bank and to the hotel before I knew what had happened. I don't know if this is a standard procedure but nobody informed me about this beforehand.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, Guest Relations Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear TravellingCat,

Thank you for your review. While we are pleased to learn that you were satisfied with the friendly and great service rendered by our staff, we apologize for your disappointment in the room. We are in the process of renovating and look forward to showcasing the newly transformed rooms in the coming months. We also apologize for any inconvenience caused by double booking and will follow up with our teams to ensure that any error is avoided and that a resolution is provided instantly. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Omni King Edward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Nice room, poor view, but overall a decent stay. It was a typical old hotel. Nothing over the top in wow factor other than the huge christmas tree in the lobby. The bar was okay, service a little slow considering it was not overly busy. Drinks were average price.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend the hotel.

The location is excellent, The hotel's within easy walking distance of a number of sights. It's about a 15 minute walk to CN tower, 10 mins to the Distillery District, 10 mins to Eaton Centre and 5 mins to the Hockey Hall of Fame and St Lawrence Market.

The room was large, with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was very large, with a stand alone bath and rainforest style shower. The furnishings in both the room and bathroom were excellent as they had recently been refurbished.

The staff were friendly and efficient on check in and check out.

We didn't eat at the hotel but there are plenty of restaurants close by for breakfast and dinner.

The wifi worked well and was free with the room that we booked (if it's not included in the room rate it costs $15 for 24 hours).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SF3415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Started off with outdated executive suite. Very large room with nice view, but the furniture had several nasty looking stains. Didn't feel comfortable, didn't want to sit on it without a towel over it. Told front desk about our concerns, was apologized to profusely, and moved into a refurbished room the next morning. Beautiful room, smaller with no view, but really nice. Night & day. Also received breakfast vouchers, nice touch. Very polite, professional staff. Would stay again, but only with updated room.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I spent two nights at the majestic King Edward Hotel, part of the Omni Hotel chain. The lobby, bar, hallways, elevators, function rooms are all spectacularly maintained. The king sized room was on the generous size, including the bathroom. Excellent were the oversized bathrobes, generous sized towels, and nice linens. On the downside were the lack of plug ins in convenient locations for working (it is a heritage hotel), the poor lighting in the shower area, the overall lack of upgrading of the carpet and the loud AC that pushed cold air right down onto the bed. One stand out was the service - check-in, function staff, bar staff - all were very friendly and efficient. Clearly a well run business.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divafromdufresne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The staff was tremendously nice, and the renovated room was perfect. Clean, roomy, large windows, large screen tv, plenty of work space. Comfortable bed! The lady at the front desk sent me a free beverage and cookies, just because I inquired about how I could buy a coke myself. Thanks for making my stay very pleasant!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank brianhD7204SQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#23 of 135 in Toronto
3,956 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels Toronto
Delta Hotels Toronto
#8 of 135 in Toronto
2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Grand Hotel & Suites
Grand Hotel & Suites
#28 of 135 in Toronto
2,100 reviews
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Toronto
#6 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
#10 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £128 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing