We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service/value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #8 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding service/value”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The Omni King Edward renovated rooms are outstanding. The agent who made our reservation by phone took note of my concern that older rooms may not be as nice and on arrival we were surprised with an upgrade! Considering this is an absolutely stunning hotel with history, charm and the perfect location, the price was unbeatable.

Tip: Wifi in the room is free if you are a member or you can register at checkin!

Thanks to the wonderful Omni staff.

Room Tip: Go for the newly renovated rooms. Book by phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodymv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,215
    808
    254
    115
    42
See reviews for
558
1,316
189
928
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

From all the reviews I read here on Trip Advisor, I definitely expected more from the hotel. While everything was nice, it was not exceptional. I had reserved a room with two queen beds as I was traveling with my teenage son, they "upgraded" my reservation to one of the renovated rooms, which had only one King Bed. I went to the front desk, and they quickly put us in one of the older rooms with 2 beds. I will say this about the renovated rooms, while it was nice it was also very small, barely room for anything but the furniture. The room they moved us to was quite large, but definitely dated. The water pressure in the shower also left much to be desired.

I am a select guest member so the free morning beverage was a nice perk, as was the free wi-fi, the issue I had with the Wi-Fi was the fact that only 3 devices could be connected. I had 3 devices myself, my son had 2. In this day and age only allowing 3 devices to connect is a major inconvenience.

My biggest issue/disappointment was with the staff, while they were certainly polite they did not seem to go out of their way to assist you, we had to seek them out for information. It seemed like everytime we left the hotel to see the sights, we had to approach the staff for directions/information. I expected them to approach us offering assistance instead of us asking for it. Not a major complaint, but it was noticable.

Overall a nice hotel, and a pleasurable weekend stay, just not the "Exceptional" service/accomodations I was expecting. I would probably stay here again when in Toronto, I would just go in with lower expectaions

Room Tip: Only single bed rooms are renovated at this time. Renovated room we saw was small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, Guest Relations Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Hyzy,

Many thanks for your review. While we are glad to know that you had a pleasurable stay overall, we are sorry about your perceived service experience with our staff. Your comments have been reviewed with our team to address areas for improvements. We hope that you return and we invite you to contact us directly before your arrival so we may ensure that your experience exceeds your expectations and that you have a seamless stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Room was described as 'Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed'.
NOTHING as described. Nothing deluxe about it. Room was quite small with a king bed fitted in.
Leaky, noisy toilet greeted us. Fixed immediately by friendly staff though.
Provided with free breakfast for inconvenience. Breakfast was sub-par. Although comped, I would expect a $26 breakfast to be much, much better. Very simple meal which could have been easily prepared by my young child at home. Overall? Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Get the specifics of your room before you book. 'Deluxe' in the title apparently does not me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingEdward1903, Guest Relations Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Neil W,

We appreciate your feedback and regret that your room was not up to your expectations.The hotel is currently undergoing major renovation which should be completed in the near future. The rooms which have been so far renovated have received outstanding reviews from our guests and we look forward to having you stay in one of these rooms on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

It was only a quick 2 night stay but it was a great one. The high level of customer service throughout the entire team was fantastic. The great location in the downtown core meant we could actually slip away to the Eaton Centre for a quick shoe shop when we had a break in our agenda. The newly rennovated rooms are lovely.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Everything was great! Lovely atmosphere. We didn't have a lot of interaction with the staff but the Premier King room was spotless and luxurious! Location was great for walking to various areas, close to subway. Only A/C too noisy!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank MrUnderwatervideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The King Edward is a typical Grand Hotel that occupied major cities in the past and certainly a rare experience in Toronto with his mostly "all look-al-like" modern hotels. The grandeur is still there from entry to the rooms. Just ask for another room when your doesn't satisfy your needs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank hugow509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Excellent hotel, stay in a newly-renovated room on the 6th floor - very nice and clean. Staff was friendly and handled my one issue (that had nothing to do with the hotel itself) very well. I will be sure to return upon my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 137 in Toronto
3,226 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#10 of 137 in Toronto
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Property: The Omni King Edward Hotel
Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#7 Family Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian Hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing