We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay Every Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #8 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay Every Time”
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Within the last five years I have stayed at the King Edward over twenty times and I have yet to be disappointed. It's elegant history is not only displayed through the style and decor but also through the well trained and extremely helpful staff. The staff is friendly and caring and go beyond their call of duty. On a recent trip in March I was suffering from a cold. A waitress in the Concert Bar named Ivana recommended to me oil of oregano to ease my symptoms. The next day I was surprised to see that she had brought the oil of oregano for me and refused to accept payment for it. The kindness shown by her exemplifies the friendliness of the staff and the great manner in which they are trained. It is always a pleasure to stay at the King Edward Hotel and I could not imagine staying anywhere else on my frequent trips to Toronto.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deanoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,138
    778
    251
    112
    42
See reviews for
524
1,272
185
907
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geologist35
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

The acme of Colonial elegance in the heart of Downtown Toronto. An historical island of peace and quietude amidst the sea of this bustling city. The "King Eddie" still, after so many years, offers 5 star accommodation for the business traveller. Centrally situated, it is close to the business hub and to many of Toronto's tourist attractions. When you enter the grand foyer of the hotel, the warmth of the welcome you receive is unsurpassed anywhere in the world. I have been in most of the world's capitals and have yet to encounter another business traveler's hotel to equal the King Edward. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are fabulous! You never have to ask the concierge "Can you recommend a good restaurant?" Go to the "King Eddie" nd you will know what it is like to be treated like royalty!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geologist35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2009

I am a frequent visitor to Toronto and have made the King Edward my home-away-from-home. The staff is is indeed fantastic in everything they do and are always willing to help out - being greeted by name is always nice when you are on the road.

And besides, a hotel with a great pedigree and fantastic location is an added bonus. The actual hotel rooms reflect a bygone era, but are tastefully clean and up to date with the latest technology (large TVs, great internet connectivity, etc.).

I have no hesitations recommending this hotel for a visit to Toronto.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelTraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2009

This hotel is lovely. Our room was massive. We paid for an upgrade to use the business centre and have breakfast every morning. A downside though is that is it not a stop on the shuttle from the airport into the city. The closest stop is the Delta Chelsea Hotel. At 4.30am we were able to get a cab from the Le Meridien to the Delta Chelsea to make our bus.
The check in staff were wonderful, however the doormen/concierge were a bid dodgy. We asked for directions to a laundromat and they sent us to a place that did not exist.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kylie1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2009

My husband and I had a show/dinner/hotel package with the King Eddy being the hotel. Never having been there and having heard nothing but rave reviews, I was extremely let down. The room was very clean and that is the best thing I can say. There was a chair at the desk but the other chair was a chair Goodwill would refuse. There were no housecoats as advertised, the amenities meagre at best, the hand lotion actually caused an allergic reaction to my eyes and the chlorine in the sheets and towels was reassuring but the scent overwhelming.The front desk was helpful but I found the rest of the staff surly.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

We booked the whole hotels to host a a conference
Everythings was perfect

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Workingforsomesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

After many hours of researching and asking for referrals from friends we decided on the King Eddie for a long weekend getaway for our anniversary. We were not disappointed. The hotel was beautiful and our room was just wonderful. We opted for a junior suite after getting a great rate (under $200) on hotels.com. Our rate included the club level amenities: continental breakfast - which was very nice and offered lots of options, and complimentary beer and wine and appetizers every evening. The club level lounge was comfortable and relaxing and never very busy.

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the front desk. Our room was spacious and well appointed (see pix). There was free bottled water and plenty towels and hangers.
There was soon a knock on our door, we were pleasantly surprised to be the recipients of a lovely fruit and chocolate basket with a personalized card from the manager asking us to call him directly if we needed anything.

For the duration of our stay (4 nights) our room was quiet and extremely comfortable. I can honestly say we had no complaints.

The hotel is in an ideal location easy to get everywhere via cab or Metro. Yes, there is a $40 charge for valet parking, but we've experienced this with EVERY premium hotel in every location and this is to be expected. And yes they charge $3 for a bucket of ice, after the first complementary one, but we did not find this irritating since we could put our items in the mini bar frig for cooling with no problem.

The only drawback for some folks may be the lack of "a view". But who sits in their hotel room looking out the window? Not us. We would highly recommend a stay at the King Eddie!!

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Snittster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 136 in Toronto
2,970 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#22 of 136 in Toronto
1,907 reviews
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Property: The Omni King Edward Hotel
Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#7 Family Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian Hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing