We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, economical pad for short stays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Madison Manor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #84 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
315 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Clean, economical pad for short stays”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I was stuck in Toronto on a rainy night in October and looked on line for boutique hotels. I stumbled upon the Madison but i would go back. My room -- part of the free-standing house and not the building with the pub -- had a private entrance off a driveway. It was clean and roomy and felt like an apartment in a quiet neighborhood. It was convenient to local restaurants and shopping. For the price -- about C$129 i believe -- you could not beat the value. The pub was quiet when i peaked in but some locals told me it was a popular college hangout. One head's up -- the Spadina subway station is nearby and all night one could hear the faint rumble of the subway trains in the distance.

Room Tip: Probably best to stay in the building that does NOT house the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landmarkfinder A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmanor, Hotel & Special Events Manager at Madison Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review.

The room you are referring to is Suite 104. It is a wonderful, generous Hotel room with a separate private entrance and it does feel much like a private little studio apartment.
There is no kitchen. Many of our business clients prefer to book this room.

Guests really enjoy that at the Madison Manor B&B all our hotel rooms are designated
non-smoking rooms and our policy for this is strictly enforced.

Glad you enjoyed your room, the location and glad you had a great experience.

Our 23 Bedroom B&B The Madison Manor, is located beside our Madison Avenue Pub. Our unique venue featuring 6 Victorian Pubs all under 1 roof. We are celebrating 30 years serving our guests. We serve breakfast in the Pub which is included in the rate.
The Pub has a very busy weekend pace, with a fun and safe crowd ages from about 19 to 65 and a much slower pace during the week.

Glad you enjoyed our B&B and our Pub and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you choosing the Madison. Sincerely, Kelly Kane - Hotel and Special Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    61
    36
    16
    11
See reviews for
18
73
28
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights in one of the lower ground 'standard' rooms. The accommodation offered good value given that Toronto accommodation can be expensive, and the on-site parking (at additional cost) is useful if you book this. You can walk into the city centre in ~20 minutes and there are many restaurants and shops in the vicinity. The double room and bathroom were clean, but a little dated and basic; what you see on the website and pay for is what you get. The house itself is beautiful and the neighbourhood is lovely. We found the breakfast selection quite poor (e.g., there was very little fresh fruit and neither the fruit nor cereal boxes were replenished over the 2 mornings we were there) and the receptionist a little surly, but it is accommodation with character overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bitesizedthoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmanor, Hotel & Special Events Manager at Madison Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! Glad you enjoyed your room, the value, cleanliness, location and glad you had a great experience.

Our Madison B&B rooms are a nice size, as you would expect in a residential Mansion
A 100 year old Converted Mansion, done with antiques with an old fashioned Victorian Style. All of our rooms are different..

The Madison Avenue Pub is our unique venue featuring 6 Victorian Pubs all under
1 roof. We are celebrating 30 years serving our guests.

Thank you choosing the Madison. Sincerely, Kelly Kane - Hotel and Special Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife and I spent a Sunday night at the Madison Manor B&B and Pub. It was her Birthday and I wanted her to have a relaxing time. We arrived at the hotel around 4:00 PM and left for a walk. We went to the Kensington Market and had dinner at the best Chinese Restaurant in Spadina, Lee Garden. Back to the hotel we stop at the pub attached to the hotel to spent our $12.00 voucher. Good time, great ambience, nice servers, reasonable food.
Well maintained building, with spacious rooms, we were impressed by the decoration and the way they capture the guests attention to each detail. It is a old house, well kept and very clean.
The breakfast was very simple, but we left content.
Moneywise it is a great deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jumbalaia_Abitilini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmanor, Hotel & Special Events Manager at Madison Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Glad you liked everything, thank you! Delighted to learn that the you both enjoyed your
celebrated your wife's birthday while staying at the Madison Manor Boutique Hotel,
our unique 23 Bedroom Bed and Breakfast. We are part of the Madison Avenue Pub
complex with 6 Victorian Pubs all under one roof.

Many guests love the ambience of our small bed and breakfast with the excitement and buzz of our Madison Avenue Pub, next door to our B&B. We are celebrating our 30th Anniversary
serving our guests.

We are glad you enjoyed the complimentary $12.00 voucher for the Madison Avenue Pub,
which was included in your hotel package.

Many guests love our location because we are in walking distance to all of the major downtown attractions Toronto has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you for future stays, we will do our best to make it your home away from home. Thank your for choosing our Madison B&B,

Sincerely, Kelly Kane Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Kentucky
Level Contributor
165 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My husband and I very much enjoyed our visit here. We stayed in suite 401, which was perfect for us. Loved the balcony, it provided a great place to sit, drink a bottle of wine and watch the younger crowd arrive for an evening at the pub. I wish there was an in room refrigerator, but it was fine without it. The bathroom was ample and the bed was quite comfortable. I loved having the extra small bed to curl up on and read. I would suggest reserving parking as well. As we stayed in the summer our stay was quiet but I can understand how it could get noisy during the school year. Having the pub next door was quite nice for a quick meal, a before or after lunch/dinner drink. We very much enjoyed it. The crowd was a nice mix of college, young professionals and some older folks. The staff was friendly. Again, I can see this getting a little wild during the school year. I was not impressed either by the continental breakfast, it was basic but not terrible. We found a great place to get crepes and espresso around the corner... Public transportation was close, and it was not an unreasonable walk to attractions like Kensington Market or even all the way downtown! However, we enjoy walking the streets of a new city to take it in. Others might think the walk was a little far for their tastes. Loved the little garden on the other side of the pub, a great place to have a smoke and people watch. We very much enjoyed our stay here, and we will be back. We absolutely loved Toronto, it's people, food and culture.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mudfoot4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmanor, Hotel & Special Events Manager at Madison Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for you for your very detailed review. Glad you liked your room, and our location.
Delighted to know you plan a return visit. When you call the front desk ask for one of
the suites with a fridge. We have a few suites with a fridge.

The Garden you enjoyed, is a lovely wilderness garden just a few doors south of the Madison Complex.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your meal at the Pub.
A $12.00 voucher was included in your package to enjoy the pub for drinks or food.

The Madison Manor is part of the Madison Avenue Pub, with 6 Victorian Pubs and is one of the largest Pub Venues of it's kind in North America. We are celebrating 30 years serving our guests.
Glad you liked the night life. We have a very busy weekend pace, with a fun and safe crowd ages from about 19 to 65.

Our complimentary very basic continental self service breakfast is served in our main level Victorian Pub. Our basic continental self service breakfast includes:
Orange and Cranberry Juice, Coffee and Tea, Hard Boiled Eggs, Assorted Bagels, Muffins, and Danish pastries, Cream Cheese, Jam, Peanut Butter, Selection of Boxed Cereals and some
fruit.

A hot breakfast is available for guests to order in the Pub after 11:00 am each day and al la carte brunch is served on Saturday and Sundays. Some of our guests use their $12.00 complimentary
pub voucher towards buying a hot breakfast in the Madison Pub.

Thank you choosing the Madison and we look forward to welcoming you for your return
visit. Sincerely, Kelly Kane - Hotel and Special Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barker
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My Husband and I spent a weekend in Toronto and stayed at the Madison. We were very impressed with the Victorian hotel our room was very lovely. We would choose this hotel again. We also went up to the bar had a few drinks and ate lunch which we enjoyed very much.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 176Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmanor, Hotel & Special Events Manager at Madison Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for you the lovely review! Glad you liked your room.
We look forward to welcoming you back. Glad you had a great stay with us.

Many married couples in Toronto tell us they met at the Madison, we host many anniversary celebrations.

Our Madison Manor B&B is a 100 year old Converted Mansion, each room is different, done
in antiques. Our Madison B&B rooms are a nice size, as you would expect in a residential Mansion. Our Fireplace Suites are very generous in size. All rooms are done with antiques with an old fashioned Victorian style.

Glad you enjoyed our Madison Avenue Pub, our unique venue featuring 6 Victorian Pubs all under 1 roof. We are celebrating 30 years serving our guests.

Thank you choosing the Madison. Sincerely, Kelly Kane - Hotel and Special Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Not 'downtown downtown' but close enough and conveniently located close to the University - with subway station just around the corner. Rooms are small but spotless, beds extremely comfortable and staff friendly and helpful. As for the price... you really can't beat it! I've never gotten better value for my money - not even while travelling in Asia.
Might I also put in a good word for the pub next door, who provides great food, cold beer and an occational friendly conversation for the weary traveller.
Very happy person!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmanor, Hote and Special Events Manager at Madison Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you! we always want to be our guests home away from home!

Glad you enjoyed your room, the location and glad you had a great experience.

Our 23 Bedroom B&B The Madison Manor, is located beside our Madison Avenue Pub. Our unique venue featuring 6 Victorian Pubs all under 1 roof. We are celebrating 30 years serving our guests. We serve breakfast in the Pub which is included in the rate.
The Pub has a very busy weekend pace, with a fun and safe crowd ages from about 19 to 65 and a much slower pace during the week.

Glad you enjoyed our B&B and our Pub and we look forward to welcoming you back
thank you! Thank you for the great review.

Thank you choosing the Madison. Sincerely, Kelly Kane - Hotel and Special Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We arrived at the Madison Manor Boutique Hotel after 11pm. Because of our late arrival, we had to contact hotel staff in the adjacent pub. The manager was helpful and cheerful and happily showed us to our rooms. This hotel is located in the center of University of Toronto's student and fraternity life. The streets were full of students moving in and celebrating the beginning of the new semester. However, our room was completely quiet. You would never have known the activity or excitement going on in the street below and we have seldom slept better.

You cannot beat the location, especially for the University of Toronto, or the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsarinajoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmanor, Hotel & Special Events Manager at Madison Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you! Glad you enjoyed your room, the location and glad you had a great experience.
Thank you for the great review.

Our Madison Manor B&B is a 100 year old Converted Mansion, each room is different.
Our Madison B&B rooms are a nice size, as you would expect in a residential Mansion.
They are done with antiques with an old fashioned Victorian style.

The Madison Avenue Pub is our unique venue featuring 6 Victorian Pubs all under
1 roof. We are celebrating 30 years serving our guests.
The Pub has a slower pace during the week and has a very busy weekend pace, with a fun
and safe crowd ages from about 19 to 65.

Thank you choosing the Madison. Sincerely, Kelly Kane - Hotel and Special Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#78 of 136 in Toronto
466 reviews
Chinatown
Studio 6 Toronto
Studio 6 Toronto
#88 of 136 in Toronto
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#65 of 136 in Toronto
701 reviews
Downtown
Wellesley Manor Boutique Hotel
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Manor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Manor Boutique Hotel

Property: Madison Manor Boutique Hotel
Address: 20 Madison Ave, Toronto, Ontario M5R 2S1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Madison Manor Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Madison Manor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Manor Boutique Toronto
Hotel Madison Manor Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing