We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money. Awesome pub attached. Renovated clean room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Madison Manor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #84 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, 2 persons. Hotel rooms are spacious w private bathrooms. Our bathroom was new granite with a heat unit inside. Complimentary water bottles tea and coffee in room was nice. Breakfast was continental, wish there was hot food available. Pub next door was very fun, both young and mature crowds. 10 bars inter connected in a Victorian manor. $12 free credit for hotel guests and food was awesome in pub. Parking is available for $18 w hotel or there's public lots on corner. Not bad considering the Hilton is $60/nt for parking. Our room was next to pub and we could hear some late night chatter and music. We didn't mind too much but you may want to request the further side of mason if you plan to make it an early night. All in all I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gizmogaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmanor, Hotel & Special Events Manager at Madison Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed review. Glad you liked especially the value and location. Delighted to know you would plan a return visit.

A hot breakfast is available for guests to order in the Pub after 11:00 am each day and al la carte brunch is served on Saturday and Sundays. Some of our guests use their $12.00 complimentary
pub voucher that we include with our bookings, towards buying a hot breakfast in the Madison Pub.

Our complimentary very basic continental self service breakfast is served in our main level Victorian Pub. Starting at 7:30 am weekdays & 8:30 am weekends and Holidays.
Our basic continental self service breakfast includes:
Orange and Cranberry Juice, Coffee and Tea,
Hard Boiled Eggs, Assorted Bagels, Muffins, and Danish pastries,
Cream Cheese, Jam, Peanut Butter,
Selection of Boxed Cereals and some fruit.

The Madison Manor is part of the Madison Avenue Pub, with 6 Victorian Pubs and is one of the largest Pub Venues of it's kind in North America. We are celebrating 30 years serving our guests.
Glad you enjoyed the Pub. We have a very busy weekend pace, with a fun and safe crowd ages from about 19 to 65.

Thank you choosing the Madison and we look forward to welcoming you for your return
visit. Sincerely, Kelly Kane - Hotel and Special Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

The Madison is fine if you are able to sleep through the yelling and screaming of drunks and honking of car horns 10pm - 2am, and you are getting a great deal to stay there. The word boutique perhaps implies special experiences such as single beds of uneven heights for your 'King' bed and thin worn bed covers which match the ripped chair. The 'basic' breakfast is just that; the boiled eggs are fine.The mini-bagel broke apart when being cut because it was so dry. It's free, but if you need nutrition, going elsewhere is recommended. There are options locally, due to the central location of this lodging. However, its adjoining bar is its weakest feature for those who wish to sleep. Of several visits to this hotel, this was the worst.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaVerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmanor, Hotel & Special Events Manager at Madison Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Our Madison Manor B&B is a 100 year old Converted Mansion so the rooms are not
the big size you would experience in many standard hotels. Although it is a converted
Mansion rooms are still a nice size, as you would expect in a residential Mansion.
All of our rooms in our B&B have their own bathroom and no two rooms are the same.
Our Beds the same size you would find in any bedroom they are stand sized beds
and mattress sets. Our linen is replaced often, I will look into your concern and thank
you for bringing this to our attention.

Our very basic complimentary continental self service breakfast includes:
Orange and Cranberry Juice, Coffee and Tea, Hard Boiled Eggs, Assorted Bagels, Muffins, and Danish pastries. Cream Cheese, Jam, Peanut Butter, Selection of Boxed Cereals.
fruit. Many guests enjoy our basic breakfast which is included in the room rate.

The Pub has much slower pace during the week and has a very busy weekend pace, with a fun
and safe crowd ages from about 19 to 65. The Madison Avenue Pub has been welcoming
patrons for 30th years. We have 6 Victorian Pubs all under 1 roof and a 192 Fresh Beer Taps
throughout out the Madison. We are considered to be one of the most well known and
largest Pubs in North America.

Thank you for returning to stay with us for several visits. If you wish to contact me personally to see if I can be of further assistance regarding your stay I would be pleased to receive your call.

Thank you choosing the Madison. Sincerely, Kelly Kane - Hotel and Special Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Recently stayed two nights with my girlfriend at Madison Manor in wonderful magical Toronto.

The good.

Great location off Spadina past Bloor. Interesting and somewhat quirky ambiance. Clean room. Good sheets and pillows. Very friendly and helpful staff (Anu and Brenna - I apologize if names are misspelled). Next door to a huge pub complex with numerous bars where we had a very good fish and chips, some excellent IPA's and wine and enjoyed billiards. Excellent woman bartender. The pub has good specials up to 6 pm.

The continental breakfast is okay - not great. But hot coffee, cereals, hard boiled eggs, juice and muffins and small bagels is a bonus.

The not so good.

Next door to a huge pub complex where the clientele is composed in large part of many young University students who appear to get really drunk and yell outside very late at night when they leave.

Conclusion

A worthy alternative to a soulless large hotel at a good price in an excellent location. We will return.

Room Tip: Not sure how to convey this properly but ask for a room as far away from the raucous outside late ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmanor, Hotel and Special Events Manager at Madison Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Glad you liked many aspects of our Madison Manor B&B and planning to return.

The Pub has much slower pace during the week and has a very busy weekend pace, with a fun
and safe crowd ages from about 19 to 65. The Madison Avenue Pub has been welcoming
patrons for 30th years. We have 6 Victorian Pubs all under 1 roof and a 192 Fresh Beer Taps
throughout out the Madison. We are considered to be one of the most well known and
largest Pubs in North America.


We offer a very basic complimentary continental self service breakfast.:
Orange and Cranberry Juice, Coffee and Tea, Hard Boiled Eggs, Assorted Bagels, Muffins, and Danish pastries. Cream Cheese, Jam, Peanut Butter, Selection of Boxed Cereals.
fruit. Many guests enjoy our basic breakfast which is included in the room rate.

If you wish to contact me personally to see if I can be of further assistance regarding your stay I would be pleased to receive your call. I am delighted to know you will return for another visit
and let me know if there is anything I can do to assist and welcome you for your future stay.

Thank you choosing the Madison. Sincerely, Kelly Kane - Hotel and Special Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a weekend in Toronto -- just great to see how well the traditional features of the old buildings have been preserved and upgraded, good work! Had a special deal, two nights plus breakfast and voucher for dinner for $85.00 a night. Amazing for downtown Toronto! The room was small but plenty adequate, bathroom was fine -- all we needed for our stay. My wife has stayed there before and enjoyed the setup, convenience and service each time.

Room Tip: Some rooms have traditional fireplaces -- costs a bit more but can't be beat for ambiance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmanor, Hotel & Special Events Manager at Madison Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. Glad you liked everything.
Look forward to welcoming you back.

We do have special rates at different times of the year so when you call ask to see
if we have any specials available and we will always be pleased to put these in place
if they are available.. We are delighted you enjoyed the $12.00 Pub voucher
included with your package.

Glad you liked our breakfast. Our very basic continental self service breakfast includes:
Orange and Cranberry Juice, Coffee and Tea, Hard Boiled Eggs, Assorted Bagels, Muffins, and Danish pastries, Cream Cheese, Jam, Peanut Butter, Selection of Boxed Cereals and some
fruit.

Our Madison Manor B&B is a 100 year old Converted Mansion, each room is different, done
in antiques. The rooms are not the big size you would experience in many standard hotels. Although it is a converted Mansion rooms are still a nice size, as you would expect in a residential Mansion.


Thank you choosing the Madison. Sincerely, Kelly Kane - Hotel and Special Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I was stuck in Toronto on a rainy night in October and looked on line for boutique hotels. I stumbled upon the Madison but i would go back. My room -- part of the free-standing house and not the building with the pub -- had a private entrance off a driveway. It was clean and roomy and felt like an apartment in a quiet neighborhood. It was convenient to local restaurants and shopping. For the price -- about C$129 i believe -- you could not beat the value. The pub was quiet when i peaked in but some locals told me it was a popular college hangout. One head's up -- the Spadina subway station is nearby and all night one could hear the faint rumble of the subway trains in the distance.

Room Tip: Probably best to stay in the building that does NOT house the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Landmarkfinder A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmanor, Hotel & Special Events Manager at Madison Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review.

The room you are referring to is Suite 104. It is a wonderful, generous Hotel room with a separate private entrance and it does feel much like a private little studio apartment.
There is no kitchen. Many of our business clients prefer to book this room.

Guests really enjoy that at the Madison Manor B&B all our hotel rooms are designated
non-smoking rooms and our policy for this is strictly enforced.

Glad you enjoyed your room, the location and glad you had a great experience.

Our 23 Bedroom B&B The Madison Manor, is located beside our Madison Avenue Pub. Our unique venue featuring 6 Victorian Pubs all under 1 roof. We are celebrating 30 years serving our guests. We serve breakfast in the Pub which is included in the rate.
The Pub has a very busy weekend pace, with a fun and safe crowd ages from about 19 to 65 and a much slower pace during the week.

Glad you enjoyed our B&B and our Pub and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you choosing the Madison. Sincerely, Kelly Kane - Hotel and Special Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights in one of the lower ground 'standard' rooms. The accommodation offered good value given that Toronto accommodation can be expensive, and the on-site parking (at additional cost) is useful if you book this. You can walk into the city centre in ~20 minutes and there are many restaurants and shops in the vicinity. The double room and bathroom were clean, but a little dated and basic; what you see on the website and pay for is what you get. The house itself is beautiful and the neighbourhood is lovely. We found the breakfast selection quite poor (e.g., there was very little fresh fruit and neither the fruit nor cereal boxes were replenished over the 2 mornings we were there) and the receptionist a little surly, but it is accommodation with character overall.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bitesizedthoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmanor, Hotel & Special Events Manager at Madison Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review! Glad you enjoyed your room, the value, cleanliness, location and glad you had a great experience.

Our Madison B&B rooms are a nice size, as you would expect in a residential Mansion
A 100 year old Converted Mansion, done with antiques with an old fashioned Victorian Style. All of our rooms are different..

The Madison Avenue Pub is our unique venue featuring 6 Victorian Pubs all under
1 roof. We are celebrating 30 years serving our guests.

Thank you choosing the Madison. Sincerely, Kelly Kane - Hotel and Special Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife and I spent a Sunday night at the Madison Manor B&B and Pub. It was her Birthday and I wanted her to have a relaxing time. We arrived at the hotel around 4:00 PM and left for a walk. We went to the Kensington Market and had dinner at the best Chinese Restaurant in Spadina, Lee Garden. Back to the hotel we stop at the pub attached to the hotel to spent our $12.00 voucher. Good time, great ambience, nice servers, reasonable food.
Well maintained building, with spacious rooms, we were impressed by the decoration and the way they capture the guests attention to each detail. It is a old house, well kept and very clean.
The breakfast was very simple, but we left content.
Moneywise it is a great deal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jumbalaia_Abitilini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmanor, Hotel & Special Events Manager at Madison Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Glad you liked everything, thank you! Delighted to learn that the you both enjoyed your
celebrated your wife's birthday while staying at the Madison Manor Boutique Hotel,
our unique 23 Bedroom Bed and Breakfast. We are part of the Madison Avenue Pub
complex with 6 Victorian Pubs all under one roof.

Many guests love the ambience of our small bed and breakfast with the excitement and buzz of our Madison Avenue Pub, next door to our B&B. We are celebrating our 30th Anniversary
serving our guests.

We are glad you enjoyed the complimentary $12.00 voucher for the Madison Avenue Pub,
which was included in your hotel package.

Many guests love our location because we are in walking distance to all of the major downtown attractions Toronto has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you for future stays, we will do our best to make it your home away from home. Thank your for choosing our Madison B&B,

Sincerely, Kelly Kane Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Chinatown
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
#59 of 137 in Toronto
1,542 reviews
Chinatown
Studio 6 Toronto
Studio 6 Toronto
#94 of 137 in Toronto
192 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#74 of 137 in Toronto
493 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#81 of 137 in Toronto
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Manor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Manor Boutique Hotel

Address: 20 Madison Ave, Toronto, Ontario M5R 2S1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £68 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Madison Manor Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Madison Manor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Manor Boutique Toronto
Hotel Madison Manor Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing