We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Toronto Centre
Ranked #47 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here for a Raptors game and the Santa Clause parade. Must say I was not only surprised, but it exceeded my expectations. Rooms were quiet, clean, and comfortable. Frinedly staff and excellent restaurant. Price was fair, especially considering... dun dun duuuun, the location! The best selling feature of this hotel. Located right on the Esplanade, across from awesome restaurants and pubs like the Tilted Kilt and the Old Spaghetti Factory, and minutes from the ACC and Union Station. If you're looking for an ideal downtown TO location, you can't go wrong here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vini B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

963 - 969 of 2,210 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights then went off to do a bit of travelling and came back to stay another night before leaving. Staff very aloof, unfriendly and unhelpful but ignored this previously as the hotel was pretty central and suited my needs. On my last stay, I was told I was getting a "complimentary upgrade". It wasn't complimentary at all and when I informed them of the extortionate bill the staff denied even telling me this! They ignored all my emails regarding this too! Apart from this, the hotel is fairly central and the rooms are ok but very cold! Wouldn't ever stay here again, the staff are horrible!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Unicorn_9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please contact the hotel and ask for Angela B. and she will be happy to assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The hotel is very well located, walking distance from CN Tower and Aquarium. Many good restaurants around and also same mini markets. Staff friendly, good breakfast and the beadroms are big and clean. We had a good time there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Lira-Family-BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Lira-Family-BR,
Thank you very much for your comments. Hope to see you once again at the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Good downtown location and found a good price on Expedia. Clean, comfortable rooms. Quiet. Pleasant, helpful staff. Restaurant was OK. Had breakfast included in room price, otherwise was overpriced.St. Lawrence Market Area. Lots of restaurants and shops. Close to bus station, ACC and not far from Rogers Centre/CN Tower and some theatres. Airport Express bus services hotel with connector shuttle. Has pool and exercise room but didn't use.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyFathersSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear PEIsland-traveller,
We are very happy to note that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the area of old towne Toronto. Hopefully we will welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel is only a few blocks away from the Toronto Eatons Centre (10 minute walk).. It is a wonderful location in a more residential area. With St Lawrence Market 1 block away and wonderful restaurants directly across the street (The Old Spaghetti Factory & The Keg). As our visit was a shopping trip we were more than happy.


The rooms at this hotel are a fair size (we were given a king room), clean, with a large flat screen tv & nice sized bathroom. The view from the third floor was non existent. Outlets in the room to plug in electronics are at a minimum in these rooms, there are no outlets beside the bed!

We felt safe at this hotel as they require you to use your room key to access the rooms from the elevator & the hotel also offers a large parking area with in & out parking (accessible from the hotel elevators as well)... parking cost was pricey at $25/day.

Breakfast at this hotel was nice, however with so many options close by (Starbucks, Tim Hortons, & sit down restaurants) I would recommend taking advantage of the close amenities instead of eating at this restaurant.

This is a hotel that is great for a basic place to stay in Toronto. It was more than enough for a girls shopping trip in toronto. No frills but awesome location.

Room Tip: Third floor had no view... maybe a higher floor if you want to see the skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley_C123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Ashley_C123,
At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer. We are glad to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Please do look us up when you are in Toronto next.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have just returned from Toronto. We had a three week holiday in four hotels in Canada and USA and this hotel was awful. We were so glad it was only for three nights all our other hotels were excellent. We stayed in the Novotel Montreal which was a completely different experience to this one so not all chain hotels give and provide the same standards
The room booked was a double we could not get a king which we didn't mind for the short time we were there.
The bathroom had hair from either the previous guest or the maid along the floor. It was still there the next day when we returned so I ended up picking it up with hand wipes myself!
The towels were hardly big enough to call hand towels never mind bath towels. The carpet was old and dirty and it had not been vacuumed before our arrival. There was a two inch gap at the bottom of the door into the room.
The sheets were clean. I don't know if all rooms were of this standard as the public areas were modern and well maintained. We did not use the restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fishy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Fishy48,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I am sorry to hear that you expereinced some issues with your room quality, which have been adressed with the housekeeping team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We were visiting family staying at royal york. This hotel was perfect for us as it is close to many restaurants and bars. Road construction made driving in the area a nightmare! It will be like this for another year.
Room was very spacious and clean. Staff were awesome and extremely friendly and helpful.
We have travelled to Toronto many times however this time everyone we encountered were friendly and welcoming. Excellent experience.
I would recommend this hotel to any one who wants to be to be in the middle of the action

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank ladygolferontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Ladygolferontario,
Thank you for your wonderful comments. Look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 138 in Toronto
1,090 reviews
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#57 of 138 in Toronto
1,664 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#58 of 138 in Toronto
2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Toronto Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Toronto Centre

Address: 45 The Esplanade, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Toronto
#24 Family Hotel in Toronto
#42 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £87 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Toronto Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Toronto is nestled in the historic district of Old Town Toronto. Get a glimpse into Toronto’s past strolling through cobblestone streets, enjoy a wide array of gastronomical international treats at the St. Lawrence Market or savour the flavours from myriad restaurants and pubs. Just steps from the Hockey Hall of Fame, Harbourfront and Union Station, the Novotel is 30 minutes from Pearson International Airport and 5 minutes from Billy Bishop Airport.With a European flavour, whether you are staying for business or pleasure the hotel offers a variety of services to make any stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Toronto Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Toronto Centre Hotel Toronto
Accor Toronto Centre
Toronto Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing