We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Toronto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Toronto Centre
Ranked #45 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“First time in Toronto”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just what it says in the name, central for everything in Toronto. Easy to find from the Airport Express Bus, with directions from the Driver. Check in very good, the room key card is also for the lift to all floors. Our room had everything we needed including toiletries but looked like it may be due for decoration. Bed pillows were unusually small but we got used to them. We only had our first evening meal in the hotel, as we preferred to eat out at the local eateries. If we return to Toronto we would definitely stay at this Hotel. The staff are excellent nothing is to much trouble. We won't forget our stay at the Novotel and Toronto.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but all that can be seen out of the window is multi storey car park. a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer1958_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We're thrilled you enjoyed our accommodations, as well as your first visit to Toronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    976
    419
    135
    78
See reviews for
464
691
148
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a busy area of downtown. At the moment it is surrounded by on-going construction, particularly in the close-by harbor area. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel has parking in a public car park below the hotel. The room was comfortable and clean, but generic. The bar was fun and the staff welcoming and helpful. The location was very convenient for a two day visit. There were several nice cafés and bars nearby, particularly a great Italian cafe near the market, just a short walk away - great place for breakfast. Overall this hotel is fine for a short visit to the city, but it's not my top choice for my next visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 0Pete0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We really appreciate your thorough review of your recent stay with us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for a couple nights. Bed and pillows were very comfortable as was the duvet. Rooms are a nice size and really liked the hand held shower attachment - not something you normally find in a hotel.

Breakfast in Cafe Nicole was awesome! A great variety that included Eggs Benedict, French toast and lots of fresh fruit. Delicious! Lunch was also very good but bar drinks are very pricey.

Pool and jacuzzi was clean and at a perfect temperature. There was only two chairs so seating is very limited. There were plenty of towels on the first night but none available on the second night. Luckily we brought towels from our room. The pool area is unattended. You can go down the stairs from the pool area to the fitness center which we did not use.

Our room was on the third floor facing The Esplanade and The Keg. We did hear a little noise from the restaurant outdoor patio but wasn't a problem and had no problem falling asleep. The hotel itself seems quiet and didn't hear our neighbours in the main room.

Location was an easy walk to major attractions and convenient to Union Station. Getting around the construction is a bit of a pain to get to/from the station but not reason enough to be a big issue. Lots of restaurants and pubs across the street as well as one block up on Front Street. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We were able to store our luggage in a locked area after checkout as we had a evening train departure.

Will definitely stay here again....

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review, Diane. We really appreciate your thorough feedback and are happy to read you found our guest rooms quiet and comfortable. We'd love to have you stay with us again when visiting Toronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Quiet room. Front desk reception staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. Cleanliness of room excellent. Didnt use restaurant or room service. Would definitely stay here on my net visit to Toronto. One small thing:
No
magnifying mirror in bathroom. Apart from that small 'complaint ' everything was perfect.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi Dina - Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I appreciate your note about our front desk team, and the suggestion for magnification mirrors in guest rooms. I'll share your review with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just returned from a six night stay in this hotel. Its positioning is very good especially considering a lot of downtown Toronto is a building site at present. The room we had was spacious, with a good bathroom too. Staff were helpful, with a special mention for Sherif who looked after us well. What lets it down are unbelievable things - the housekeeping for one. Yes they make your beds, but your night clothes are left screwed up in the corner. The tea/coffee making facilities are limited to a coffee maker. I asked for a kettle which duly arrived, but with paper cups !!! And not even a spoon but a straw to fish the teabag out with. Am I staying in a decent hotel or a road side diner ?? Housekeeping let us down there with paper cups and dirty glasses just left in the room day after day. We never tried the breakfast but did have room service which was delivered promptly and was good value for money. So many things were so good, but sadly it is the bad things you remember. Paper cups ??? Please !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissybubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with honest feedback regarding your recent stay. I apologize for the issues you encountered and will share your comments with our team to see where we may make improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a few days. The best part for me was the bed and the breakfast. The bedding was super comfortable - cannot recall a hotel with better sheets and pillows/ duvet. A lot of towels in the bathroom which I consider a nice touch. The breakfast was great too - I really liked the interiors of the restaurant itself.

The hotel has a very nice location - close to the main attractions and the union station.

Cannot say much about what I did not like. The room did not get much light during the day so it was a bit dark. Also, there was an ice making machine on our floor which produced a lot of noise and when I complained to staff about it they said they can change my room but they can do nothing about the noise. I stayed where I was coz my room was a bit further from it but most likely would have changed it if it was right next to it.

Overall, it was a great place to stay in Toronto.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexei N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your great review! We're so happy you found our beds comfortable. That's important when choosing a hotel! Thank you for your recommendation as well. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Novotel Toronto was a great experience. Good localization, room satisfatory, services OK, delicious and fair price breakfast, helpful front desk, etc. I would like to leave some suggestions to make it more helpful for guests: 1) Prices of phone calls are very expensive: CAN 20 for 1 single call to Burlington. Think lower and helpful, phone calls are not your core business; 2) Taxi company you work with Blomingdale (special taxi) are very expensive. Offer choices to your guests: regular taxis ou special taxis. We didn't have choice. CAD 60 to go to airport on a raining day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Dario S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your review and suggestions. I will share your feedback with our team. We really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 136 in Toronto
1,037 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#51 of 136 in Toronto
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#37 of 136 in Toronto
1,787 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Toronto Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Toronto Centre

Property: Novotel Toronto Centre
Address: 45 The Esplanade, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Toronto
#34 Family Hotel in Toronto
#42 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Toronto Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Toronto is nestled in the historic district of Old Town Toronto. Get a glimpse into Toronto’s past strolling through cobblestone streets, enjoy a wide array of gastronomical international treats at the St. Lawrence Market or savour the flavours from myriad restaurants and pubs. Just steps from the Hockey Hall of Fame, Harbourfront and Union Station, the Novotel is 30 minutes from Pearson International Airport and 5 minutes from Billy Bishop Airport.With a European flavour, whether you are staying for business or pleasure the hotel offers a variety of services to make any stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Toronto Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Toronto Centre Hotel Toronto
Accor Toronto Centre
Toronto Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing