We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Hyatt Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Toronto
Ranked #14 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Disappointing Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Had a one night stay here and what a disappointment. Most of my previous Park Hyatt/Grand Hyatt experiences were in Asia, so maybe I set the bar too high but still.

Asked the concierge to book us the free car service to a restaurant my gf picked for dinner. They drove us to the wrong place, we ended up having to pay more for the cab than if I had just gotten it at the hotel.

In addition, before leaving I asked the concierge where we should go before dinner to grab a drink. They simply said something along the lines of "oh there are tons of bars around the restaurant you are going to, you can just pick one when you get there"

I then asked for recommendations of lounges to go to after dinner. They said that I should go to "XYZ" district, again without picking a specific place.

Maybe I'm wrong here, but if I just want to know which districts have restaurants or bars I can just use google and do it myself. If they can't recommend a place, make reservations, what exactly is their job?

On another note the rooftop bar at this property is very cool. Great city views.

Rooms weren't all that special (for park hyatt standards) but the rates here are reasonable, so you can't expect too much I guess.

Anyway, this is an ok property, and other than the concierge I have no major complaints. I just became used to phenomenal service with the Park Hyatt brand, and this is definitely not the case here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACTSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR-At-The-Park, Manager at Park Hyatt Toronto, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Please accept my sincere apologies for your overall experience during your recent stay with us. I was surprised and equally disappointed to read the notes you shared detailing your interactions with our Concierge and the inconveniences experienced with our Car Service.

I have shared your feedback with the team and will continue to explore this internally. If there are any additional opportunities you would like to share, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

Best Regards,
-Gail Aihoshi
Executive Offices
Park Hyatt Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    949
    438
    160
    50
    15
See reviews for
283
470
100
577
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We picked this hotel cos of its great location in the middle of downtown and walking distance from many great places and museums. We checked in late and were greeted very nicely. Room was ready and they valet parked our car. We had breakfast package with our room and the restaurant was great and so was the service. Staff was always there to help and very accommodating in many ways. It was a great stay from all aspects and definitely recommended.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PapaJeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have not stayed often in Toronto. I found the room adequate for the price. The restaurants and bar were quite good overall, but for the prices I would have expected a higher level of quality and choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Had a 1 night visit on the Park Hyatt with my wife to have a break. First iff, this hotel is old. While many areas look nice, they are clearly dated in style and age of furnishings. Probably was top of the line when built, but needs a renovation. Service was generally good, but hit and miss. Check-in was great, room service was great, and we had wonderful service at the rooftop bar (and spectacular views). However, valet was very slow to take the car (and didn't acknowledge our arrival) and the restaurant at breakfast was understaffed. Overall, good value for money, but i wish they would renovate, as it could be so much more given its location.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR-At-The-Park, Manager at Park Hyatt Toronto, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

I truly appreciate you taking the time to share the details of your recent stay with us.

It is always our hope that when our guests arrive, they feel welcome and are able to enjoy an authentic Park Hyatt Toronto experience. It saddens me to read that your stay was not reflective of the level of service we strive to provide all of our guests and I would like to speak with you further regarding the details you mentioned.

Please accept my sincere apologies and I look forward to connecting with you when your schedule allows.

Best Regards,
Gail Aihoshi
Executive Offices
-Park Hyatt Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was at the Park Hyatt for business and will be returning. The rooms were lovely, spacious and clean. Business meeting rooms were perfect for our needs, and the meals were exceptional. Staff was very helpful, friendly and accommodating.

The location was excellent, in the heart of Yorkville, with many shoppes within short walking distance, and the Royal Ontario Museum was only a five minute walk away,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR-At-The-Park, Manager at Park Hyatt Toronto, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent stay with us.

It is always wonderful to hear that our guests feel welcomed by our team and are able to enjoy our amenities and the Yorkville neighbourhood during their stay. I am delighted to hear that you will be returning.

Once again, thank you for your note and we look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit.

Best Regards,
-Gail Aihoshi
Executive Offices
Park Hyatt Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel a few times in the last six weeks for business and have had not one problem or complaint.
The staff are friendly and courteous. The rooms are clean and spacious and comfortable. Wifi worked just fine. Gym and sauna were a pleasure to visit. Great location.
It may be a bit pricey compared to other options but you get what you pay for. An elegant comfortable upscale hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JohnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR-At-The-Park, Manager at Park Hyatt Toronto, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and for selecting us as your hotel of choice when your travels bring you to Toronto.

It is a pleasure to hear that you felt comfortable and enjoyed our amenities and service on all of your visits. When planning your return trip to Yorkville, please do not hesitate to let me know how I may assist you with your reservation details.

Best Regards,
-Gail Aihoshi
Executive Offices
Park Hyatt Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed that hotel for one night Sat. May 18. Upon arrival, the staff knew me by name when I checked in and honoured an early check in as we had requested. We had a Park Deluxe King room in north tower. Room was pristine with very good amenities. Decor is a bit dated as many of stated but the rooms still have an elegant hotel feel. We visited the rooftop bar for a pre-dinner cocktail. Definitely worth a visit. The hotel has a good city buzz without feeling pretentious. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 132 in Toronto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Toronto

Property: Park Hyatt Toronto
Address: 4 Avenue Rd, Toronto, Ontario M5R 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#11 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#12 Family Hotel in Toronto
#14 Business Hotel in Toronto
#15 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Park Hyatt Toronto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Toronto is perfectly situated in the heart of Yorkville, surrounded by over 700 upscale shops, exclusive restaurants and unique galleries. Located just minutes to the financial and entertainment districts, this luxury hotel offers convenient access to the best of Toronto attractions, including the AGO, CN Tower and Casa Loma. Within minutes of your arrival, you will be embraced by warm, residential accommodations and luxury amenities. Unwind in our incomparable 10,000-square-foot Stillwater Spa. Delight in upscale shopping escapades or museums, or settle into any of our premier dining experiences, such as Annona Restaurant or Morton's, The Steakhouse. Then retreat to our legendary Rooftop Lounge with panoramic views of the city. With its state-of-the-art conveniences and personalized service, Park Hyatt Toronto is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. Come discover why today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Toronto Hotel Toronto
Hyatt Toronto
Toronto Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing