We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Ranked #71 of 134 Hotels in Toronto
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    553
    303
    103
    62
See reviews for
288
438
99
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at this hotel for a long weekend trip to Toronto. The hotel was in an excellent location in the old town area of downtown Toronto steps from St. James cathedral, St. James park, St. Lawrence market, a movie theater, restaurants, cafes and more. The rooms were clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We had an excellent view from our corner room of the CN tower and downtown, St. James park and the port skyline against the water. The hotel is near a tram station and walkable to major attractions, lots of restaurants and shopping. We also walked to the historic Distillery District, which was our favorite discovery. The room was a great value for the price. The hotel is also serviced via the Toronto airport express, which provides reasonable rates to the airport. We would stay here again and recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCAtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
It is a proud moment for us when a guest writes a great review and even better when they can end the review with a comment like “We would stay there again”. Our location is great and close to much of what Toronto has to offer and close enough to the transit system to be able to get you anywhere without the stress of city driving. Once again thank you for taking the time to write your comments. Hopefully we will be able to host your next visit to Toronto.
Tariq Azad
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

This is a pleasant well-located hotel near the old town and the financial district. Rooms were clean, free breakfast was good quality and the staff were really friendly. We walked to the CN Tower from here in about 20 minutes. The area around the hotel have abundant good quality restaurants and cafés.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CabinteelyFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our services to be helpful and useful. I will sure to share your comments, with my guest services team. I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.
Thank you,
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelburne
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights on Nov. 8 for a weekend getaway. The hotel is in a good location. We were able to walk to the theatre and see Les Miz and enjoyed just walking around the downtown, seeing the christmas windows. We had easy check-in and check-out. Good clean room. Hall carpet was somewhat dingy. No problem getting elevator. Easy access to $20 parking. Breakfast was quite good. We would definitely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimandsheilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our services to be helpful and useful. . I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.
Thank you,
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my friend on the weekend of November 8th - 10th. The hotel is in a great location, close to all the main attractions. Room was lovely, comfy beds, decent sized bathroom and good tv. The free breakfast provided has a good variety.

The only problem we had was after checking in and giving my card details, I discovered that they had charged me almost $150 more than the price I had booked it at. I proceed to the front desk to ask why this was, to be informed by the staff on duty that the money was taken out to cover incidentals. I had not been informed of this when I had checked in and was lucky I had enough money to cover the extra cost and the rest of my weekend. Also when checking out the original booking price had risen by $50 due to high tax in Canada.

I am aware this is not detrimental to the quality of my stay at the hotel but I feel we should of been informed of this from the beginning and would just like others to know incase the same thing happens to them.

Overall a fantastic hotel and trip to Toronto, definitely a city worth visiting!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aupair123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you taking the time to write such a nice review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests are pleased with their accommodation while staying with us. I am sorry for the confusion about our check-in policy for supplying a deposit. Usually, hotels do put pre-authorization checks on credit card in the case of damage upon check-in. This amount can be anywhere from $1-$150 (in my experience) because they only want to check if there's available credit to charge your card in the case of any damage or additional charges (eg. late check-out, mini bar in discrepancies, etc). If no credit card is available, then a cash security deposit is required and will be refunded upon check out. We hope this explanation will help and hope to see you again in the very near future.
Thank you
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stayed at this Hotel after ready the reviews in Trip Advisor. Outstanding value for downtown Toronto, Pleasant and helpful staff, easy parking, clean room. It's nice when inexpensive does not mean a comprise is service. Will be saying hear again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We truly appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you so much for your really great review. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
156 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed here twice in one week, at the start of our trip and at the end. Clean rooms, friendly staff and in a good location for the shops, bars and restaurants. Onsite parking with a charge. Nothing bad to be said.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supermom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our services to be helpful and useful. I will sure to share your comments, with my guest services team. I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.
Thank you,
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#80 of 134 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#44 of 134 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 134 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#55 of 134 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,590 reviews
Downtown
Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Address: 111 Lombard Street, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2T9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 134 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart in Our Hotel in Toronto, Ontario You'll enjoy an ideal location at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel - Downtown Toronto. Our hotel's location is near Pearson International Airport (YYZ), Toronto Island Airport (YTZ), Toronto Union Train Station and the underground shopping/walking paths, which makes it easy to navigate Toronto.Lodging here puts you in close proximity to famous attractions like the Hockey Hall of Fame and Distillery Historic District. Toronto is also home to Eastern Canada's largest shopping mall, Eaton Centre, which is within walking distance of the hotel.Toronto, Ontario's government buildings, the Queen¿s Park and Provincial Parliament are nearby, as well as First Canadian Place, BCE Place, Sears, Ryerson University, Saint Michael's Hospital and other businesses in downtown Toronto. Our hotel's amenities include a 24-hour Business Service to help you complete your work.Unlike other hotels in Toronto, our hotel offers multiple complimentary services: a hot breakfast bar, high-speed Internet access in every room, a daily newspaper and local calls. Each room is outfitted with a triple-sheeted bed, a cable TV, a work area with two phones and a bathroom with specially designed amenities. Our downtown Toronto hotel's staff looks forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing