We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, clean rooms, nice breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Ranked #72 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent location, clean rooms, nice breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We went to the Esplanade, Eaton center, Air Canada center, CN Tower, Hockey Hall of Fame, distillery district, all of them within 20 mins walking distance if you're a fast walker. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Our room was a corner room on the 12th floor. You sometimes hear people at the ice machine outside the door but it wasn't a problem for us. One weird thing we noticed about the room was the walkway between the end of the bed and the TV shelf was quite small due to the large shelf. Also there wasn't much of a view outside the window. All in all, we liked the hotel very much because of its superb location. The staff were friendly too and gave us advice on where to go to the first night and the breakfast is good and plentiful.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank hlin32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
The Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown hotel thanks for leaving such a glowing review of our property. We pride ourselves on our associates’ ability to offer individual attention to each of our guests and make their stay an experience to remember. It will be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the futures.
Thank you
Tariq Azad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    547
    299
    102
    61
See reviews for
286
432
99
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Another good Hotel, quiet and a excellent Buffet Breakfast. One bad comment is that the Heating System in the room is very noisy (fan). At this time of year you need Heat in the room.
Should also have a Kettle in the room along with the Coffee machine.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Homer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you taking the time to write such a nice review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. We have noted your comments about the heating system, and we are sorry your encountered issues during your stay. My engineering team has addressed the Heating unit, and will continue to monitor this and others to ensure they are performing at their best when we need them most winter in Toronto.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write and tell us about your stay with us and we look forward to seeing again when you get the chance to visit our fair city.
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for New Years Eve. We wanted a hotel close to Massey Hall (where we were seeing a comedy show) and to this specific area's restaurants/pubs. This hotel satisfied that need at a really reasonable price.

The room was comfortable and clean. It does need some sprucing up but I'm sure that they'll do that in good time. The wifi was very slow, but at least it was included. The underground on-site parking was convenient, although we got there in early afternoon. The lot filled up by dinner time (could be due to the night though). We were on a schedule the next morning so we didn't try the included breakfast.

There were a lot of young kids celebrating New Years. The hotel did a good job trying to prevent them from disturbing the other guests (you had to sign a no partying sheet lol). You could still hear yelling etc. but it didn't bother us too much (it's a special night really and we understand that). Except around 3am I heard knocking at my door...nobody was there. I said hello and a security guard popped out of the hallway and asked if I was ok. I told him what just happened and he asked if I was alone (?). I told him no, my husband and I have been sleeping since just after midnight. It was weird. Not sure if he thought I was making noise, causing trouble or checking to see if I was indeed ok lol. All in all, no harm done.

We will definitely return if we are frequenting the area again and want an economical stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wildgrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our services to be helpful and useful. I will sure to share your comments, with my guest services team. I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.
Thank you,
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

If you're driving from the west it's easy to get off the expressway and travel just a couple of blocks into the city to find this hotel. The location is especially good if you like to avoid much city driving. It is also nice that you can pull your car off the city street into a courtyard for check-in before parking in the hotel's parking garage whose entrance is located in the same courtyard. The room was clean and comfortable although the wallpaper in the bathroom was a bit worn. We were there on the last two nights of 2013. Unfortunately on New Year's Eve we were awoken several times through the night by noisy guests, which obviously is not the hotel's fault. (I just wish that people wouldn't talk so loudly and slam doors in the middle of the night when they're guests in hotels. People, PEOPLE...) All-in-all it was a good stay and I would stay there again if I were traveling to Toronto by car.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. The best compliment that we can possible receive is that our guests can say that they would recommend us to other traveler. Thank you again for this.
Our location is such that you are within a short distance to the many great venues that Toronto has to offer and close enough to the subway system to get you to the other spots.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to write about us and I would like to personally welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown for any of your future visits to our fair city.
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here after flying into the island airport from Sault Ste. Marie on our way to Cuba the next day. We wanted to stay downtown as we had a full day to kill and it was so convenient to walk to the distillery district, Eaton Center, St. Lawrence Market is only a few steps away. The staff at the front desk were very helpful in getting us a nice limo to Pearson the next day. The breakfast was great and is so nice to be included. Nice clean room, no complaints at all and will stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our services to be helpful and useful. I will sure to share your comments, with my guest services team. I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.
Thank you,
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Great location in downtown Toronto close to all major attractions either by walking, a short cab ride or the subway is also accessible close by. Front desk staff were quite good and very friendly. Parking is underground and only suitable for smaller cars etc, (also an additional $20 per day). The room we were in was far too small for the four of us - only two double beds and no room for a cot (due to fire regulations we were told). I would book a bigger room next time. It is an older hotel as mentioned by other reviewers but well kept and clean. The breakfast area was very crowded but ample room for seating if you go across the hall. The food seems to be a standard HIE fare, but I wish they would change up the type of eggs and bacon the offer. It is a pre processed type and throughout the year I have stayed at different locations of this brand and the food borders on acceptable to almost inedible. I think it depends on how long it has been sitting out for. This locations eggs and bacon wasn't great but ok. They offer other types of continental style food so you can skip this option and have cereal or fruit etc.. I would likely stay here again under other circumstances.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianFlatlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your detailed review. I really appreciate your taking the time to share your recent experience. Thank you for the kind words about my staff. I was glad your overall experience was enjoyable and found our services to be helpful and useful. You are right the location of the hotel is truly a gem as we are close to so much of what Toronto has to offer, not to mention the subway system another of Toronto’s Public Transit System.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write and tell us about your stay with us and we look forward to seeing again when you get the chance to visit our fair city.
Tariq Azad
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I've stayed twice for rock concerts in the last two years and both times I've had great experiences. This place is walking distance from the Eaton center, which we loved. Desk staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean, there were no issues with noise at all.
Breakfast has always been nice. Love the sausages and the juice.
Whenever I'm in Toronto for a show, I go here!
GLENN DANZIG TOUCHED MY HANDS AT THE SHOW IN AUGUST 2013!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our services to be helpful and useful. I will sure to share your comments, with my guest services team. I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.
Thank you,
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#79 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#44 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#54 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
Downtown
Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Address: 111 Lombard Street, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2T9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart in Our Hotel in Toronto, Ontario You'll enjoy an ideal location at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel - Downtown Toronto. Our hotel's location is near Pearson International Airport (YYZ), Toronto Island Airport (YTZ), Toronto Union Train Station and the underground shopping/walking paths, which makes it easy to navigate Toronto.Lodging here puts you in close proximity to famous attractions like the Hockey Hall of Fame and Distillery Historic District. Toronto is also home to Eastern Canada's largest shopping mall, Eaton Centre, which is within walking distance of the hotel.Toronto, Ontario's government buildings, the Queen¿s Park and Provincial Parliament are nearby, as well as First Canadian Place, BCE Place, Sears, Ryerson University, Saint Michael's Hospital and other businesses in downtown Toronto. Our hotel's amenities include a 24-hour Business Service to help you complete your work.Unlike other hotels in Toronto, our hotel offers multiple complimentary services: a hot breakfast bar, high-speed Internet access in every room, a daily newspaper and local calls. Each room is outfitted with a triple-sheeted bed, a cable TV, a work area with two phones and a bathroom with specially designed amenities. Our downtown Toronto hotel's staff looks forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing