We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice if looking for mid-priced hotel in Yorkville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Ranked #76 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good choice if looking for mid-priced hotel in Yorkville”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We were attending a wedding at Casa Loma and this was the hotel closest to the venue. In an area where all the hotels are $300-800 there are just two mid-priced and one budget hotel. Since we were just using the room as a place to get dressed the mid-range seemed like a good choice.

The hotel was average in all respects which is not a negative thing. It is basically exactly what you expect and will not disappoint or impress. For this area I would say it is very good value.

With respect to location it is in Yorkville -- if the stuff you want to see is also in Yorkville then it is a great location and if not then less so. It is a little further out than the rest of the hotels from the center of Yorkville but not in any meaningful way. The subway is a block away. There is a 24 hour convenience store / grocery across the street.

The hotel has a pub in the hotel as the restaurant. We did not eat there but I have gone to other pubs from the same chain many times and the food is good for a pub.

The hotel was offering a deal where you could pre-pay for parking which was excellent as parking ended up being $10 rather than the typical $30-40 you'd expect.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CNaldinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear CNaldinho,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to walk around the area. Our parking package is great for guests that need to park their cars- parking at our hotel includes in and out privileges, plus extended parking till midnight on the day of your departure. The regular parking price is $22.00.

Thank you again for posting a review and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    240
    187
    59
    25
See reviews for
121
122
73
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Myself and my wife recently stayed at this hotel for two nights on a vacation. When we arrived they were doing the monthly fire alarm checks but said it was fine to use the elevators and go to our room. I found this as odd since if there was a real fire it would be a safety concern. Check in was easy and pleasant. Room was standard. Nothing over the top to boast about but very clean and modern.
We received a notification in the morning the a/c to the building was not working and they were working on it. We left for a day of sightseeing and loved how close the hotel was to downtown. We walked through Toronto and ended up back at the hotel before supper, still to find no a/c. We tried the attached pub that night which was excellent.
The nights sleep was brutal in hot Toronto. Check out was easy although I wanted something for having to deal with no a/c. After speaking with management, they offered to pay our parking lot fees for our rental car of 44.00.
Overall the building is older, but modern decor. If the HVAC is working, and you wanted downtown Toronto, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OeschJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear OeschJ,

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that despite the problem with our A/C you were able to enjoy your time in Toronto. The A/C is up and working now, the problem we were having was completely out of our control and was fixed as quickly as possible.

We appreciate you posting a review and we look forward to providing you with a "cool" room in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I gave this hotel 3 stars solely because of its location. While the price is terrific, this is definitely a case of you get what you pay for. The beds are rock hard. The hotel is supposedly 100% nonsmoking, but both of our rooms reeked of cigarette smoke. The bathroom was clean, but the rest of the room was not so much. Trays of smelly leftover food from room service were left in the hall for a day or two. The wifi was poor to nonexistent, and the computers in the lobby were a few generations old. The fitness room is the only hotel one I've been in that did not have the newer equipment with individual TVs. The one elliptical is an old model that does not include an upper body workout, and the air conditioning does not reach the back of the room where it is located. We had to keep replacing room keys as they would suddenly stop working.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKC150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear MKC150,

We appreciate that you have taken the time to post a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. It is important for us to understand how each of our guests enjoyed our hotel. Unfortunately, it seems we did not live up to your expectations.

Our hotel is in need of an update, and we have submitted an application to IHG for just that. I am surprised to hear that you did not enjoy our beds, which is usually a guest favorite, all of our beds have been updated recently. It is unacceptable that you had to deal with food trays left in the lobby, this review will definitely be forwarded to the restaurant. We are 100% NON SMOKING at this location, unfortunately some of our guests would rather pay the $200.00 fee instead of following the rules.

We would like to hear more about your stay, and we invite you to contact us directly at 416-968-0010 or cn312@whg.com.

Thank you for posting a review and we look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Great location with many points of interest walkable. Lots of parking available (for a fee.) Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room and closet space are small as others have mentioned and we found the mattress too soft for our taste, but otherwise were completely happy with the hotel. Tried the restaurant/bar connected to the hotel and it was mediocre.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMD06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear RMD06,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in a perfect location for just about any trip to Toronto.

We are a downtown/midtown hotel with standard size rooms and closets. We do have a restaurant on site, but if you are looking for something else there are over 150 restaurants within walking distance.

We appreciate your review and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

When we arrived, the air conditioner was on and the room was cool and clean. It was spotless and reasonable for a hotel in Toronto.Parking for this hotel is underground in a very clean, well lit parking garage.
This is a nice hotel , the downside is that it's an older place and the bathroom door knob was just dangling there.Just a little maintenance would make all the difference.
There was free wi-fi which was great, but they had a power bar set up to the right of the coffee maker in order to allow extra plug-ins ( ie. chargers and a coffee maker.).
The room service was fast, it arrived hot and was delicious - as it came from the restaurant (The Fox & Fiddle) down below that's attached to the hotel.
I would stay here again due to the cleanliness, the great location, safe parking and delicious food.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaVirgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Canadavirgi,

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sad to hear that there was a problem with the bathroom door, this should have been reported by housekeeping and fixed prior to your arrival. Normally our repairs are kept up to date.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to serving you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, NY
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

I has laser surgery at the Bochner Eye Institute on August 2nd, 2013. Bochner told me that Holiday Inn gave a 13% discount since I was having my laser surgery done. What a great deal. The hotel was literally 2 blocks away which made it great. The personnel at the hotel were very nice. The rooms were beautiful. We were on the 12th floor so we had a beautiful view of the city. The room was beautiful, clean and spacious, the bed comfortable, the TV had more channels than most hotels, free wifi, the bathroom was beautiful. All around great hotel. They have a restaurant called The Fox and the Fiddle and because it was raining we had dinner there. My boyfriend had a burger and fries. I had the chicken and cheese quesadilla. It was good then we had an awesome chocolate mouse and cake dessert.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank shannalee29_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Shannalee29_NY,

Thank you for posting a great review of our hotel. I am pleased that you were able to enjoy the hotel while visiting the Bochner Eye Institue. I hope that on your next trip you will get to visit more of our local area.

Thank you again for the review and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

other hotels in the area were beyond our budget. HI on Bloor provided clean basic accommodation and as others have pointed out, the location was excellent. the only disappointments were the pervasive smell of stale cigarette smoke in the 'non-smoking' hotel and the vending machines in need of repair or updating. if we venture into Tdot again, this hotel would be our first option.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Derbo_O,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. It is great that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is very unfortunate that there was a smoke smell during your stay. We are 100% non-smoking, but we do have the odd guest who will break that rule. On you next visit if you have the same issue please let the front desk know so we can correct the situation.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#75 of 136 in Toronto
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#64 of 136 in Toronto
719 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#19 of 136 in Toronto
1,731 reviews
Midtown
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville

Property: Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Address: 280 Bloor St W, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1V8, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashionably located in Toronto's upscale Yorkville area, at the historic University of Toronto, our comfortable rooms, professional staff and superb surroundings make our downtown Toronto hotel an ideal choice for business or leisure. Enjoy walking the tree lined streets to the surrounding museums or use the adjacent subway stop (St. George) to whisk you to your business appointment. Our 209 well appointed rooms ensure that you are well rested to start your Toronto adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bloor Yorkville Hotel Toronto
Midtown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Toronto
Toronto Holiday Inn
Journeys End Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing