We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel, a few details need improvement”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Ranked #17 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel, a few details need improvement”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location in Toronto - right by the harbour - and includes an outdoor pool which is difficult to find in Toronto (understandably, given their winter weather!) but was great to have in the July heat. The rooms were clean and had been recently refurbished. The décor is pleasant and the beds were very comfortable. The pool was nice to sit around (although the pool itself was a bit scummy in the corners on busy days) and it gets the sun all day. The pool staff were very friendly and the food at the Watermark restaurant was tasty and not too expensive (relative to the rest of Toronto). A few glitches: It would have been good to have a few more hooks for towels around (up to 4 people can share the room, but there was only 1 hook in the room, on the back of the bathroom door) and there wouldn't have been enough space for the 3 adults in my room to unpack their clothes (luckily 2 of us prefer to live out of our cases). The fridge hummed at night and was free-standing (taking up space) rather than being in what looked like the custom-built cupboard under the TV (which must have been added in the recent refurbishment?).
I booked a room for 3 adults through Expedia, and requested 2 queen beds. I knew this request might not be fulfilled but assumed we would at least have a double bed and a roll-away, as the booking was for 3 adults. We checked in on a busy weekend (World Pride and a nearby festival were going on) and went up to our room to find just 1 king bed. We went straight back downstairs where the man on reception told us that the hotel never receives any special requests from Expedia and that they have this problem daily with Expedia – shouldn’t sorting this out be a priority then? He also said that the hotel allocates a number of rooms to Expedia sales, but does not specify how many guests can be in the rooms (which could be between 1 and 4). He said this was the reason for the rooms being at a cheaper rate on Expedia than booking through the hotel directly. I told him that, when I had booked, the hotel website had given me a slightly lower price in $CAD, but I was worried about the exchange rate my credit card would charge, so chose the clearer Expedia website which was already in GBP. All of these arguments are irrelevant though, as they knew on their system that there would be 3 adults staying, but we had not been allocated 3 sleeping spaces. We were told there were currently no available roll-away beds, but, as it was such a busy weekend a new lot of roll-away beds had been ordered and should be delivered that evening. The receptionist kindly (!) told us that Radisson would waive the extra bed charge for the roll-away. We asked if we could arrange to move to the first double bedded room that came available, but we were told it wouldn’t be possible to reserve a room and we would have to come to the desk very early the next morning. We argued that, surely they knew who would be checking out the next day and what type of room they were in, so they could allocate that room to us.
We then asked for the manager, Mr Rock, and, after a similar discussion with him, he promised that we would get a roll-away bed that night and that we would get a 2 bedded room the next day. This did happen. However, it felt like we had been done such a great favour by the staff when, in actual fact, all we got was the room we had booked. We weren’t offered any compensation such as a free breakfast or money off our next Radisson stay. How could I know that Expedia do not pass on requests to the hotel? Before the trip I had read a lot of reviews on Trip Advisor about how friendly the reception staff were, so I had been relieved to know that if we did have a problem there would be lovely staff there to help out – this wasn’t the case at check-in. However, at check-out the staff were friendly and efficient – they offered to book us a taxi to the airport and store our luggage for the day (the male receptionist from our check-in even saw us returning for our luggage and fetched it without us having to ask).
The majority of our stay was pleasant and I would stay at the Radisson Harbourfront Toronto again in summer, just for the pool and harbourfront location, but the hassle at check-in and clumsy way it was dealt with certainly left a sour taste. My advice would be to contact the hotel directly prior to your stay if you want a certain bed configuration.

Room Tip: If you have a special request for your room, make sure you inform the hotel directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    505
    113
    50
    35
See reviews for
351
490
87
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Bend
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here on our first ever visit to Toronto. The front desk personnel were great, and went out of their way to accommodate us and answer questions about the city. The location was just a few minutes, walking, from the baseball stadium, the CN Tower and much more. Restaurants and groceries across the street too. We would recommend it to anyone who wants to be near the water instead of just on another city street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferMOD, Manager at Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you, Sandra A, for the wonderful review of our hotel.

We truly appreciate your glowing feedback on our front desk team. We really do have a pronominal group of people there who really embrace Radisson's Yes I Can philosophy. And as you said, our location provides our guests with convenient access to some of Toronto's best attractions with the charm of being on the harbourfront.

Sandra A, thank you again and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Toronto.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Radisson and we were delighted by many features and not so by others.
Firstly, the location right by the Harbor is great. It will only be better when the construction is finally over. We walked to Union station easily & we were able to take the ferry to Toronto Island.
I was with my 4 & 6 year old while my husband had business to take care of so we made great use of the fabulous outdoor pool.

One huge con for us was the staff at the restaurant. Unfortunately we had many unprofessional situations with them because you enter the restaurant to get to the pool. Not the most ideal set up for toddlers going to the pool. We did have great service at the pool but much unpleasant service at the actual restaurant which we addressed twice to the hotel lobby staff.

Another con was house keeping came at 4:30pm and 6:30 pm on the days we stayed. Very bizarre times!
We didn't have any hooks to hang up our towels or bathing suits. Minor issues that perhaps will be looked at once gage renovations are complete.

The hotel rooms are gorgeous, clean and modern. The outdoor heated pool is well worth the trip!!

We will certainly return. Can't beat the price, location and the wonderful pool!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferMOD, Manager at Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you, Sadie242, for your honest review of our hotel. I am please that, for the most part, you enjoyed your stay with us.

On behalf of all of us here at the Radisson Admiral, I would like to apologize for the less than perfect service you received at our restaurant. I assure you that whatever it was that you experienced, it is not the norm. Thank you for bringing up your dissatisfaction to us during your stay, and I sincerely hope that we were able to make it right for you.

I am also sorry that your room was serviced so late twice. Our housekeepers do work throughout the day, and if there is a time that is more convenient for you to have your room serviced you only have to let us know.

I am exceedingly pleased that you were able to enjoy our beautifully renovated rooms and our fabulous outdoor pool. And I am thrilled that you will come back and give us a second chance. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Toronto.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here for Valentine's Day and had a wonderful corner room. Loved how comfortable the room was and the views were fantastic - albeit probably much better in the summer. The area is going through construction but don't let that deter you... it's a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferMOD, Manager at Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you, Toronto1874, for the fabulous review of our hotel.

We are so please you picked us for your Valentine’s Day celebrations. The harbourfront has is charms in all season, and we would love for you to come back for a summertime stay-cation.

Again Toronto1874, thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel with the world.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife and I were in Toronto for a wedding, and booked 2 nights at the Radisson on Queen's Quay at the recommendation of the bride. The hotel is lovely, but it's a bit dodgy getting there right now because of the construction on the Queen's Quay tram line, right out front the door.
There's no real noise problems as the work is done during the day and only during the week, but it makes getting there by car or taxi a bit more challenging than normal.
The hotel is tidy and recently renovated, and not too big, which is nice in that it never felt over-crowded, and the staff never looked overwhelmed. The pool area is really pretty and the views are equally charming. We had cocktails by the pool, and despite being forced to drink from a plastic cup, it was gorgeous to sit and sip while reading the paper, in the beautiful sunshine.
The room was spacious and well laid-out, with a very nice modern bathroom with a large walk-in shower. One item to improve is the need to add a soap dish or small shelf in the shower! Nowhere to put the soap or shampoo means chucking the bar of soap into the sink once finished, in order to wash your hair! Other than that, very nice!
The room was fitted with floating laminate wood floors - a very nice change from carpeting, although we were there in the middle of summer. Who knows if it would be as charming in the dead of winter!
All in all, a good stay with a comfy bed and soft pillows. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferMOD, Manager at Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear JEDWARDRAZA, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel.

I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our beautiful newly renovated rooms. We love the new floors too; they really freshen up the room more than carpeting. And we greatly appreciate the feedback about our bathroom; we will definitely take note and see what can be done.

Our small size really does give us that boutique hotel intimacy. Our pool is one of our best amenities, with full service from our fantastic restaurant and views of Toronto harbour and Lake Ontario. But yes, the plastic cups can seem a little incongruous in such a beautiful setting, but for safety reason we are not able to bring glass or china onto the pool patio.

Again, JEDWARDRAZA, thank you for your review, and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Toronto
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Loved the views from the hotel, of both the harbourfront and the CN Tower. Check In and Check out process was quick and easy employees were great. The restaurant was beautiful (didn't get a chance to eat there thought). There was a rooftop pool which I was not going to use since it was March in Toronto *she doesn't like frostbite hunny*. There is a Starbucks in the lobby to get your coffee fix.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferMOD, Manager at Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you, Triniczz, for the great review of our hotel.

I completely agree with the title of your review, the roadwork is a tad annoying. We are all anxiously awaiting the project's completion. We greatly appreciate our reviewers bringing up the ongoing construction projects in their reviews; TripAdvisor is one of the many channels we use to inform our guests about the work. Toronto is in a major state of revitalization in preparation for the PanAM games next summer, and our street is one of the many projects associated with that.

It is a pity you did not have an opportunity to dine at our restaurant. They have a delicious menu and excellent breakfast buffet every morning. And yes, March was a little chilly for a dip in our outdoor pool. I hope you can return now that it is summer and try it out; it is so beautiful up there on the patio overlooking the lake.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Despite the constructions in this area, this hotel is in a very good location, with plenty to do around and places to eat.

The place is completely renovated and the rooms are wonderful and clean.
There is Starbucks at the lobby which is perfect.
Food is delicious. Prices are reasonable.
If you like rooms with views of the water, pay a bit more and get one, if you like to save, just book standard with no views.
There is public parking down the hotel, and for hotel guests, you take your parking pass from the hotel reception. Overnight parking at around 20 dollars.
If you arrive before 9 am, the parking ticket will be reduced.
The Elevator takes you from the parking level to the lobby.
Personnel are helpful and efficient.

I had the pleasure to organize a meeting for my Company in this hotel in June 2014, booking guests rooms, catering and meeting rooms, and everyone was pleased and satisfied.

I do recommend the hotel for business or leisure.

Viviane Wans
Call2Recycle

Room Tip: Pay more to get a room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferMOD, Manager at Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you, Vivian, for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of our hotel. It was a pleasure hosting you and your organization last month, and we are thrilled everyone enjoyed themselves.

You have touched on everything that makes our hotel so great: beautifully renovated rooms, Starbucks in the lobby, convenient and reasonable parking, delicious food, and above all, our friendly and efficient staff.

And what a great tip! We have some beautiful rooms that overlook the lake, and they are well worth paying a little extra for.

Thank you again, Viviane, for the glowing review, and we hope to welcome you and Call2Recycle back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 136 in Toronto
3,130 reviews
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront

Property: Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Address: 249 Queen's Quay West, Toronto, Ontario M5J 2N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Toronto
#19 Family Hotel in Toronto
#22 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Admiral Hotel Toronto Harbourfront is an intimate, boutique-style hotel providing dramatic views of Lake Ontario and the CN Tower. This downtown Toronto hotel is minutes from the CN Tower, Rogers Centre, Air Canada Centre, Metro Toronto Convention Centre and the Direct Energy Centre, and is the ideal setting for events and meetings for up to 220 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront Hotel Toronto
Radisson Toronto
Toronto Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing