We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated and needs modernsation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Harbour Castle
Ranked #32 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dated and needs modernsation”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The hotel is located at a beautiful setting. However, it is rather tired looking. The room is rather dark and smells of old tobacco. The breakfast has a rather limited selection of food but costs a whopping $30 CAD including tax.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoNo0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments.
I am sorry to read that your recent stay wasn't flawless. I am very surprised reading about the smell of tobacco in the room - as you probably know, Westin hotels are smoke- free environments and we are very proud of it.
This is why I would like to connect with you and would really appreciate if you could email me at harca@westin.com to discuss the matter in further details.

Looking forward to connecting with you,
Sincerely,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,434
    1,547
    643
    227
    118
See reviews for
735
1,136
198
1,276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,062)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

My best friend and I decided to have a weekend in Toronto to see the Picasso Exhibition and booked in at the Westin. We asked for early check in and arrived at 10.30am. The AGO had set up a special deal linked to the exhibition but we were told the only room available at that rate was with a king bed and a sofa bed. However, on arrival, the reception clerk got us a room with two double beds for less than the deal price. How wonderful was that? We also requested a kettle for our room as we are dedicated tea drinkers. The room was quiet with a view into skyscrapers as well as over the lake, the beds unbelievably comfortable with a great range of bedding options depending on how warm you wanted to be. Free WiFi in the lobby and a really good piano player as an added bonus. Very good breakfast buffet and helpful friendly staff right across the board. We had a terrific weekend including several swims.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Jean,

Let me thank you for sharing this amazing review.
I am glad that our team have created a relaxed atmosphere during your stay at the hotel and that you and your bestfriend truly enjoyed your time with us.

I will make sure to forward your kind comment to our talented pianist and our teams
We hope to see you both again soon,

Stay well,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2012

First I will mention the good things: firndly staff (most of them) and the Westin touch.
However, hotel is old, air-condition was noisy and did not cool very well. Locations is next to the lake but it can be a bit far from mayor places.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

It is tradition for our family to go to a theatre production and do an overnighter in T.O.. For the past 4 years we have always choosen to stay at the Westin Harbour Castle.

While it might be a bit of a walk to the venues on Yonge St., we found that no other hotel can offer the higher end amenities, amazing pool (best in downtown T.O.) and quality food/service.

There is also a large 24 hour convenience store across the street that offers fresh pastries and fruit. If you like Sushi, there is a great little restaurant just across the road too.

Affordable (~$10/day) parking can be found at the parking lot just to the East of the hotel on Queens Quay (it is not as far to walk to as the hotel's parking either which costs more ~$25).

If you are looking for fairly affordable accomodations along with great amenities, the Westin may be the hotel for you.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room on the high floor. I typically prefer cityview as I prefer to view the ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Live4VacationsBarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you Live4VacationsBarrie for taking the time to share your review.

We at the Westin take great pride in making your hotel accommodation just as you envision it to be. Our objective not only is to meet guests’ expectations, but exceed them in order to give you the best hotel experience.

We are very thankful for your loyalty to the Westin brand and hope to maintain this relationship for years to come.

Stay well,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
194 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The Hotel location was beautiful facing Ontario Lake. It was pleasant watching various shades of blue during different time frames with varieties of boats floating from one corner to other. The landing & take off of planes from Toronto Island Airport also added to the overall excitement. The hotel had all kinds of amenities one can think of. The rooms were Lake facing & service was good. The staff was very courteous and always ready to extend help. What I liked most was watching Ontario lake from room itself, the ambience of the lobby & various restaurants and bars which the hotel has. The Toula Restaurant & bar at 38th floor served premium wines and provided spectacular panoramic views of Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto including CN tower. I donot think there was anything which I didn't like.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing Lake Ontario but Rooms on higher floor which gives straight view of Lake (not s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhushan-Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you Bhushan-Singh for taking the time to share your review.

Westin is one of a kind when it comes to location, presenting the many unique views Toronto has to present. We are glad you were able to experience everything the Westin has to offer, from our friendly, courteous staff to amazing city views.

Hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of August 2012. It was the tail end of a 2 week trip through ontario. Stayed in one of the rooms in the North Tower that had a balcony overlooking the harbour and yacht club. Balcony was large and did not feel crowded at all. Great room, clean and comfy as always. Location was great, 10 minute walk to the Jays game and CN Tower. 10 Minutes the other way to the Hockey Hall of Fame. I definately recommend this hotel if you are looking for a nice, clean place downtown. Parking was 40$ a night for valet, or 30$ if you want to park yourself.. 1 block away.

Room Tip: North tower room with a balcony .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you jciupa for taking the time to share your review.

At Westin, it is our pleasure to provide excellent service and to make sure we are attending to guests’ needs and I’m delighted those were met during your stay.

We appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you again.
Warm regards,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pearl, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in July 2012. It was the best hotel room I have ever stayed in. We had a corner suite overlooking Toronto Island. The staff were very accommodating, informative, and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Westin is proud to aid you with any inquiries you may have during your stay, as our courteous staff is always there at your disposal.

Hope to see you soon.
Sincerely,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 132 in Toronto
2,823 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Harbour Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Harbour Castle

Property: The Westin Harbour Castle
Address: 1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#23 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#27 Family Hotel in Toronto
#28 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#40 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Harbour Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 977
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is located on the vibrant waterfront of Lake Ontario, where you can enjoy Toronto's seasonal events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelbag, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Harbour Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Harbour Castle Hotel Toronto
Westin Hotel Toronto
Westin Toronto
Westin Harbor Castle Hotel Toronto
Toronto Westin
Westin Harbour Castle Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing