We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin Quality, Lakefront Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Harbour Castle
Ranked #32 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Westin Quality, Lakefront Location”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This hotel meets Westin's high standards. The Westin Heavenly beds and linens are luxurious. The location at the Toronto Ferry Terminal, in which ferries run to Toronto Island. The hotel is a short walk to Old Town, the downtown core, near public transportation and Gray Line and other city tour buses stop on the street near the lobby. I would recommend the hotel to others and I would stay here again. It is a massive hotel (900 rooms) and has an attached conference facility.

Now my gripes: I agree with other reviewers regarding the Green Initiative. The sign stated by opting in, linens would not be changed. I assumed this meant sheets but reality was the room was not cleaned. It appears housekeeping did not enter the room. Also, wifi is available in room for an considerable fee. However, I attended a conference and when I asked about wifi, I was told all costs would be reimbursed at check-out. If attending a conference, ASK ABOUT WIFI! Lastly, I wanted to book a daytrip to Niagara Falls. I knew there were a number of tour operators in Toronto so I asked the Concierge Mike for a recommendation. He only recommend one operator in which the hotel is affiliated and when the departure time did not work for me (8:15am) he had no other options. Lame. Even though there is a Gray Line stop outside the hotel, the concierge would not offer Gray Line as an option. Lastly, a local beer ordered in the bar was $9CAD for a pint.

Room Tip: Ask for free (or reimbursed) Wifi. Wifi was free for conference attendees but I had to ask at check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gridfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,551
    1,601
    658
    233
    121
See reviews for
759
1,187
204
1,373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

A great hotel by the waterfront close to attractions and located just after exiting the Gardiner. If doing business with a company pretty much next door like I do then this is ideal. Great area for walking, taking in the sites or just relaxing with a nice beverage or meal on the many outside patios. In addition if you are a Starwood Preferred then you get the benefits of increrasing your Starwood Points.

Room Tip: Nice to be able to view the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grotto154964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Grotto154964,

It’s great to know that you sincerely enjoyed our location and amenities.
We take great pride in making sure that our guests have everything at their disposal in order to have a comfortable and relaxing experience, and I am pleased to know that we met your expectations.

Thank you for sharing your great recommendation.
Best wishes,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I thought i would make a point of coming on here and writing my first review about this hotel. I must be honest, I was not asked about the green initiative so I cant really comment on that side of it. In my opinion the housekeeping was excellent, granted I didnt opt into any such scheme so I cant comment on them people that did. I was impressed with the room and the view was amazing over the lake. I didnt find the pillows that comfortable to sleep on, the beds whilst some people may like a memory foam style bed, it didnt do it for me, it made me feel uncomfortable and was very difficult to get to sleep. The location was excellent, within walking distance to union station for subway transport, Go Station for buses. Toronto film festival was going on, so was quite busy at times. Cant comment on the restaurant in the hotel, however with all that was going on, there were times when there was door slamming and music coming from outside somewhere. The staff were very attentive, bar the 'manager' at the check in desk, as was not told about the $200 deposit for incidentals, granted not a fault by the hotel, however when we declined to do so, there was a very uncomfortable feeling around the desks downstairs when needing help. However we was determined not to give the hotel for the duration of our holiday a large chunk of our spending money.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms definitely worth the extra money, to guarantee an amazing view of the lake, if views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warren_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I haven't been in the Westin since it was updated a while back. The lobby area is very lively and very well maintained. Had a very upscale look to it and actually looked fun to do the busy lobby bar and café. Our room had a beautiful view of the lake and all the amenities of a great room in a higher price range. The location was perfect for our date at Cirque Du Soleil that night. We chose to walk back after the show as it was only about 20 minutes away.

My only major complaint was the pillows; if you like super soft then you’ll love them. But I like a firm pillow and there were no options for one. I guess I could have called down and asked, but it was midnight at this point and just wanted to get to bed.

I would definitely come back if we needed a hotel close to the Rogers Centre/Air Canada Centre/Cirque.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MethodFilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We returned from toronto this week after an 11 night stay in the westin harbour castle. The hotel is very nice and the room were great. Great views. However we were asked about the green housekeeping when we checked in and agreed to have our room cleaned every 3 days in return for $5 dollar to spend on food and beverage within the hotel(not alcohol). In principle this seemed like a good idea. However on the 5th day we had still not seen a housekeeper. I rang reception and was told someone would be up to do it straight away. Come the following day they had still not been near. I had to request again. In total for an 11 day stay we were only cleaned twice. This is not a cheap hotel although we did get a good online deal. I would stay here again as the location is absolutely superb. Hotel is very impressive. Just the housekeeping to sort out!! Other than that no complaints. Would recomend to anyone just dont join the green scheme.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jan6494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I just returned from The Westin Harbour Castle in the waterfront area of Toronto. I stayed there last November and was very pleased with the hotel and staff, and as such reviewed it that way on Trip Advisor.

This week, September 11th, 12th, and 13th, I returned there again during The Toronto International Film Festival week for another visit while in Toronto on business. At check-in, the clerk asked if I knew about their "Green Initiave". I did not, so she explained that if I opted not to have housekeeping change my sheets and towels, then they would give me either a $5. gift card per day, or points on my Hotel customer retention program. I said I would participate for two of the three nites. So after that I never saw housekeeping to change my sheets or replace my towels, nor did they make my bed, empty my garbage or vacuum. They never set a foot in my room, which cost me $459./night plus tax. All that for $5. per night off food or beverages in the hotel, which needed to be redeemed by check-out. And, by the way, it was not good for alcohol or gratuities. The Green Initiative translated in to not having to pay to have my room serviced for the three days I was there. The third day, it must have been serviced after I left for the next sucker who, with an eye on the environment, may opt to save the hotel cleaning expense under the guise of being Green..

For a three night stay, and a bill of over $1500 I can see saving on laundry soap and contaminationg the water system, but dusting, vacuuming and making the bed shouldn't have a huge global impact, and the $5 credit, that must be used before I checked out, was a further kick in the ___!

I like the hotel, but was let down by their Green Scam, well intended or not. In addition, the morning of my second day, there was NO hot water. That was a wake up service I didn't request.

Room Tip: Don't opt for the Green Inititave. Each day the cleanliness of my room deteriorated. Opt for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for being a loyal guest and for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry to read that this time, we didn't meet your expectations and appreciate your feedback on our Make a Green Choice program.

I understand how confusing it must have been for you, not knowing exactly what the program is and I would like to personally connect with you to discuss the matter in further details and would really appreciate if you could email me at harca@westin.com

Looking forward to connecting with you,
Kind regards,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The hotel is located at a beautiful setting. However, it is rather tired looking. The room is rather dark and smells of old tobacco. The breakfast has a rather limited selection of food but costs a whopping $30 CAD including tax.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoNo0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments.
I am sorry to read that your recent stay wasn't flawless. I am very surprised reading about the smell of tobacco in the room - as you probably know, Westin hotels are smoke- free environments and we are very proud of it.
This is why I would like to connect with you and would really appreciate if you could email me at harca@westin.com to discuss the matter in further details.

Looking forward to connecting with you,
Sincerely,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 136 in Toronto
2,978 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Harbour Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Harbour Castle

Property: The Westin Harbour Castle
Address: 1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#27 Family Hotel in Toronto
#28 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#33 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#40 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Harbour Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 977
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is located on the vibrant waterfront of Lake Ontario, where you can enjoy Toronto's seasonal events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelbag, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Harbour Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Harbour Castle Hotel Toronto
Westin Hotel Toronto
Westin Toronto
Westin Harbor Castle Hotel Toronto
Toronto Westin
Westin Harbour Castle Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing