We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto
Ranked #29 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Westin Harbor Castle recently and we were treated extremely well. Bin Sadoon the Director of the Front Office looked after us so well. As an SPG Platinum member, I stay in many different Starwood properties around the world. The Westin Harbor Castle ranks up there with the best. The hotel is conveniently located in downtown Toronto right on the water. We were upgraded to a beautiful room that was very well appointed and had a beautiful view of the harbour and the island airport. It was very clean and everything was in good order. This hotel was hopping. Lots of things to do near by and right in the hotel itself there were quite a few choice for meals and places to enjoy. The service at this hotel is top notch, from the valet gentleman that greeted us when we arrived, to the front end check-in counter staff, to the lobby personal and restaurant staff they all had smiles on their faces and looked like they truly enjoyed working there. That is a rare thing these days. If you are looking for a great hotel with reasonable rates and a friendly and warm staff the Westin Harbor Castle is the place for you. I would gladly return the next time I am in downtown Toronto. Thank you to Bin and his staff for a great stay!

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mschuetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinFrizzell, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
WOW, dear Mschuetz,
This truly is an awesome review, so thank you for taking the time to share it!
I am very pleased to know that your stay with us was enjoyable. Without our amazing associates, memories like this wouldn’t be possible. I will recognize Bin and the rest of the associates for all their hard work and dedication.

Best regards,
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,673
    1,682
    671
    239
    125
See reviews for
816
1,245
214
1,455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

When I checked in, I did not get my room upgrade, however the front desk agent Juan told me they weren't sold out (I find this extremely odd as why I didn't receive my upgrade - I was there for a conference). As well, I didn't get any of my room preferences (e.g., high floor). I was on the 19th floor, not the Club floor or SPG preferred floor, nor use of the Club room. I felt like an average traveller. I could see other people being happy with the service, but when I stay at SPG properties, I always get an upgrade and room preferences. Extremely disapointed in the overall check in process. Not what I am used to with SPG, especially Westin's.

Room Tip: Extremely close to Union Station
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeusy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinFrizzell, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Thank you for sharing your review, dear Zeusy1.

First of all, I would like to apologize on behalf of The Westin Harbour Castle and I am extremely sorry to hear that your preferences weren’t received. What you described is most definitely not the standard level of quality that we are proud to deliver at the hotel, and if I may speak with you more in detail about your stay, it would be greatly appreciated. Please feel free to contact me at your most convenient time at experienceteam@westin.com.

I look forward to connecting with you and once again, I apologize for this disappointing visit.
Sincerely,
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elora, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

Staff was excellent, decent location. Pool area was nice, clean and staffed! Only issue was the hot tub jets weren't working.

Room was basic at best, granted we went on the cheap ($129 with lake view) so maybe rooms on higher floors are nicer. Valet was quick and nice staff.

Overall good for a nights stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinFrizzell, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear xforce ,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at The Westin Harbour Castle. It is crucial that every guest is treated well and leaves us better than when they arrived and we are happy to have provided just that.
Warm regards and looking forward to your next visit,
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

This hotel has seen better days. It's really tired and shabby. If you get a room with a view of the lake - good but the paintwork is all chipped, rooms are small, the furniture is really old, the air conditioning/ heating is so old and noisy, you can't put it on at night and sleep - think bad motel air conditioning. You can also hear your neighbour in the bathroom!
When you check in, they ask if you want to "go green" That means no room service AT ALL.
I'm all for not changing sheets and towels every day to save on washing - but really - is not having a chamber maid green? Is wrapping plastic cups in plastic wrappers green? There are plenty of those in the room. A empty mini bar pretends to be a fridge but doesn't keep anything cool.
I don't like this hotel at all. It's very expensive for the service, cleanliness you receive and it's not worth more than $100 a night. It is in the middle of a construction zone and there are no nice restaurants within walking distance. AVOID unless you are forced to stay here.
As instructed on the website, I emailed the spa for a simple treatment, seems they are not related to the hotel. She only checks email occasionally :-) being here feels like being back in 1982.

Room Tip: Lake view if you ARE FORCED to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinFrizzell, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear Henley2,
We truly appreciate your review, and I would like to thank you for posting it.
I am sorry to hear that your stay with us didn’t meet your expectations and I sincerely apologize for it. I would really appreciate if you could e-mail me at experienceteam@westin.com so I may speak with you more in detail about your stay.

I look forward to connecting with you and would like to apologize once more as this is not what the Westin experience should be.
Warmly,
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Great location. Phoned around to other comparable hotels and this one was alot cheaper (went on a package that included parking which the other hotels charged extra for). The staff are so friendly they make your stay very pleasurable. Very helpful & knowledgeable too, as I asked directions and the best way to get to places and they quickly looked it up for me. Drive in to the hotel was a line-up but there were guys outside that heped and directed you quickly in & out. Quick check-in, even though there was a line-up. Room very spacious and comfortable. Views from the room and the lounge area to the lake very nice. This is our 3rd stay there and wouldn't hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDAG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinFrizzell, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Thank you for your great review, dear LINDAG2011.

It’s exciting to hear when a guest stays at our hotel and leaves with memories because of the interactions they have with our associates. We appreciate your loyalty and I cannot wait to welcome you back.

If you need anything prior to your next visit, please email me at experienceteam@westin.com
See you soon!
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Beautiful room and wonderful bedding and mattress. Room was spotless. Staff was very friendly and concierge was a lifesaver. Easy walking access to the waterfront quay and the baton center. Easy cab ride from the bars of younge street. Recommend 100%

Room Tip: Ask upon booking for a water view, spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinFrizzell, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear Matt,
Thank you for sharing your review.

We appreciate your recommendation and are happy to know that your stay at The Westin Harbour Castle was enjoyable. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Stay well,
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I recently attended a large convention adjacent to this hotel. While the hotel is a little old/tired in terms of overall decor, the experience still tended to be very efficient. The staff were excellent (apart from concierge who didn't really help too much on the sightseeing options), the food was good - and the bed great! The breakfast facilities seemed a little small for an obviously busy hotel period, and the options a little on the light side, but the staff were still unflappable.

Room Tip: Steer clear of the busy lift well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinFrizzell, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear Lars O,
Thank you for your review.
I would like to apologize on behalf of the concierge, and would like to ensure you this will not happen again as our goal is to offer you superior service and exceeding your expectations.

I’m happy that the associates at The Westin Harbour Castle were able to make your stay pleasant.
Hope to see you soon,
Sincerely,
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 137 in Toronto
3,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto

Property: The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto
Address: 1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#20 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#27 Family Hotel in Toronto
#28 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#40 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 977
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the perfect blend of relaxation, renewal, and modern comfort at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto. You'll find our hotel on the revitalized waterfront, just steps away from the Downtown Core via the PATH, Toronto’s underground covered walkway. The city's lively theatre and entertainment districts are just steps away, as are the Air Canada Centre and other famous attractions. Our CAA/AAA Four Diamond hotel welcomes you with beautifully designed accommodations featuring large workspaces, high-speed Internet access, and our legendary Westin Heavenly® Bed. Some of our hotel rooms also boast incredible views of Lake Ontario. Stop by one of our several outstanding restaurants for a delicious, healthful meal - or refresh with a dip in our indoor pool. Meetings and events are inspired occasions in our adaptable venues, including the spectacular Metropolitan Ballroom - the largest hotel ballroom in Canada. And our prime waterfront location enables you to explore the best of the downtown area with ease - from Rogers Centre to the CN Tower and Ripley's Aquarium. s attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Harbour Castle Hotel Toronto
Westin Hotel Toronto
Westin Toronto
The Westin Harbour Castle
Westin Harbor Castle Hotel Toronto
Toronto Westin
Westin Harbour Castle Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing