We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at Westin Harbour Castle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto
Ranked #28 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2012

A little known fact is how pleasant and inexpensive it is to spend Christmas in a big city hotel. My family and I are always away from home for christmas as our families live in other cities. Instead of cramming into a guest room or equally uncomfortable facilities, we've been staying at hotels in Toronto and Ottawa for Christmas eve and night. We've gravitated to the Westin and are always happy there. a very comfy standard room is a little over $100 a night. The welcome is charming, the service excellent and the rooms are very comfortable and well equipped. The only downfall is very expensive valet parking at $40/day and breakfast at about $36 per person including tax, service and delivery. However at that room rate, one can splurge a bit.
A few other pluses to note are the well equipped gym for which you can rent excellent workout gear for $5; the hotel is pet friendly at no charge (but you cant leave fido in the room alone) and an empty fridge to store your wine and food instead of buying overpriced drinks and snacks.

Room Tip: All are good so don't upgrade
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandNMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinFrizzell, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Dear CandNMontreal,

Thank you for staying with your family at our hotel on Christmas day! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and I trust you took advantage of our facilities not being too crowded at this time of year.

I would like to wish you a Happy New Year on behalf of the whole team and look forward to welcoming you back in 2013.

Kind regards,
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,520)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,016 - 3,022 of 4,522 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2012

Stayed for three nights here during the business trip. Must say I liked everything, nothing bad to say. It was a bit far from my business, but it was my choise to stay at the downtown. It was very close to main attractions like Maple Leafs game, hockey hall of fame, CN Tower, shopping mall etc. Service was good, breakfast was excellent. View to Lake Ontario was great. Strong recommendations from my side.

Room Tip: If possible, choose view to Lake Ontario. Stunning view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janneki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinFrizzell, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Dear Janneki,

This is exactly how it should feel when staying at the Westin Harbour Castle!
Thank you kindly for sharing your great review and for staying with us during your trip to Canada!

I wish you a Happy New Year and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in 2013
Sincerely,
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012 via mobile

buffet breakfast expensive. With tax it was 60 dollars. found this extreme.
was nice to be close to the water. loved Toronto! walked everywhere and enjoyed the NFL game.... :would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyR538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinFrizzell, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Dear Jenny,

I look forward to your next visit and appreciate you sharing some thoughts about the breakfast prices.
I will follow up with the team accordingly.

Happy New Year and hope to welcome you back in 2013!
Stay well,

Edwin Frizzell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Typical big city hotel but great setting.Rooms the very good standard that you expect in Canada. Location perfect for events at Exhibition centre and also close to city centre.Typical hotel food ok but expensive Plenty of local restaurants of all standards.Front desk and bar staff very impersonal and aloof.When will hotel chains realise your welcome at front desk sets the tone for your stay ?

Room Tip: Ask for Lake view stunning to wake up to.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epocmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinFrizzell, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Dear epocmot,

I thank you for taking the time to share your review and for your recent visit.
I am glad that you appreciated our hotel and location but concerrned about your comment on our front desk team. Let me assure you that this is most definitely not the usual friendly greeting we are famous for and I will follow up immediately with the team to avoid similar situations in the future.

Please kindly email me at experienceteam@westin.com prior to your next visit so that I can make sure everything is flawless.
Looking forward to welcoming you back,
Warmly,

Edwin Frizzell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful with all the ammenities and overlooks beautiful lake Ontario. The rooms were very clean, modern, comfortable and the beds have down comforters! Room service is promt. The lobby bar is cozy with a view of the lake and a small park, as well as the ferry. The restaurant puts out a big breakfast spread, although the food was fair at breakfast I wasn't impressed with either times I had dinner. There is an upscale dining club on the top floor I did not have time to dine at. But overall a wonderful and comfortable stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginger s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinFrizzell, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Dear ginger s,

Thank you for your recent visit from Florida.
I am glad to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to your next visit.
Stay well,

Edwin Frizzell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I went to the westin harbour castle last week and the service was not bad, i really enjoyed my time there but there is better hotels then this one, i think thier prices are over priced. thier parking was kinda too tight but overall experiences was not bad like i said, its over priced but the location pays off well

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinFrizzell, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Thank you for sharing your review Jason B.

The Westin Harbour Castle’s location is what differentiates us from other hotels, and we are happy that, just like many of our guests, you were able to experience that as well.
I will bring up your comments at our next executive meeting and really wanted to thank you for this valuable feedback.

Thank you warmly,
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Westin Harbor Castle is a nice hotel for visiting Toronto. This lake front hotel has the best view for both Lake Ontario and CN Tower with Toronto skyline. The ferry to Toronto Island is right behind the hotel. The hotel is not in the center of the downtown Toronto, but easily walk 10-15 minutes or take subway in Union Station that is about 2 blocks north. The hotel is not new or modem, but the service and staff are excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny201110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinFrizzell, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Dear Jeny201110,
Thank you kindly for your great review.

We are delighted to hear that your stay at our hotel met your expectations; it is what our associates strive for when delivering service to our guests.
Hope to see you soon!
Stay well,
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 137 in Toronto
3,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto

Address: 1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#19 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#27 Family Hotel in Toronto
#28 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#40 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £146 - £426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 977
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the perfect blend of relaxation, renewal, and modern comfort at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto. You'll find our hotel on the revitalized waterfront, just steps away from the Downtown Core via the PATH, Toronto’s underground covered walkway. The city's lively theatre and entertainment districts are just steps away, as are the Air Canada Centre and other famous attractions. Our CAA/AAA Four Diamond hotel welcomes you with beautifully designed accommodations featuring large workspaces, high-speed Internet access, and our legendary Westin Heavenly® Bed. Some of our hotel rooms also boast incredible views of Lake Ontario. Stop by one of our several outstanding restaurants for a delicious, healthful meal - or refresh with a dip in our indoor pool. Meetings and events are inspired occasions in our adaptable venues, including the spectacular Metropolitan Ballroom - the largest hotel ballroom in Canada. And our prime waterfront location enables you to explore the best of the downtown area with ease - from Rogers Centre to the CN Tower and Ripley's Aquarium. s attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Harbour Castle Hotel Toronto
Westin Hotel Toronto
Westin Toronto
The Westin Harbour Castle
Westin Harbor Castle Hotel Toronto
Toronto Westin
Westin Harbour Castle Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing