We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto
Ranked #31 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our stay was very and pleasurable. The room was comfortable and clean, and everything worked properly.The staff was friendly and helpful. The food and bar was a bit pricey but we found excellent food reasonable priced bar across the street at Miller's Tavern. Also, about a ten minute walk away is shopping and restaurants with prices even more reasonable. We just happen to find the mall because there are no store signs and most all of the stores and restaurants are below ground. Unless you know where you are going, you will probably miss it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Francine W
It was a pleasure to welcome you and to know that you truly enjoyed your stay.

I am pleased to read that you took advantage of our downtown location to explore Toronto and its PATH, also known as the largest underground shopping complex in the world with its 29-kilometre network of tunnels!

I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon,
Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,710 - 2,716 of 4,693 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many times (was always one of my favourites) but I was recently there for a conference and was really disappointed. The bathroom was seeing huge signs of wear - a hole in the ceiling, bubbled paint on the ceiling, bathtub plug didn't work (I asked for a plug and was brought one). The cleanliness was not great either. After one use, the sink was disgusting (like it had just been wiped clean, not actually cleaned and had residue for the makeup to stick to). The bed was comfy as usual, but the rugs were snagged and missing bits.
The weirdest thing is the fridge... which is more of an autoclav for bacteria than anything else. The fridge does NOT get cold and there's a sign stating that it doesn't. I could make the room cooler than the fridge is meant to get. Seriously - what the heck - who wants a fridge that ONLY does room temperature. I'm sure the business plan behind this is to encourage guests to not save leftovers and eat at their overpriced restaurants! BUT... really!!!! The fridge is the sort of 'business plan sorta thing' that will keep me from booking this hotel. This is NOT customer service, this is not an asset and is really quite disgusting!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Char H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Char H
First of all, thank you for being a loyal guest of our hotel and for staying with us during your recent conference.

I am sorry that your last experience did not meet your expectations. As you know from your previous visits, this quality of service is very unusual for our hotel.

I appreciate you bringing your comments to my attention and I would like to let you know that we listened and that our operation team here is currently in the process of removing all cooling units from the rooms. We just finished the first tower and are starting our way up on the second.

I would love to discuss your review in further details and apologize personally for your last disappointing visit. Could you please email me at experienceteam@westin.com? I will look forward to your email.

Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed as part of a group of 10 people all checking in at the same time on the evening of nov 6th. Checking in procedure was quick and painless. I was allocated room 816 in the South tower. I found the room to be very clean and well appointed. The desk was perfect for working on with the laptop. There's also a push-up tower which has two extra power sockets on the desk. To the left of the desk is another four point socket outlet. The bed was very comfortable and I slept very well. I also use the room service which was prompt efficient hot and good value for money. Looking forward to staying here again soon. This hotel is chosen by my employer. With multiple choices in and around the downtown Toronto area I found this one of the best to have stayed in. The staff are exemplary and extremely welcoming.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank ianbeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear ianbeale,
Thank you to you and your group for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share some thoughts on your visit.

I understand from your review that you worked a lot in your bedroom. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again for a more relaxing visit or for another business trip as we really like having you here!

Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed in lakeview room, very comfortable room, great view of lake Ontario and island airport. Very quiet and well maintained with a friendly helpful staff. walkable distance to major downtown toronto attractions make this a ideal spot to stay for either business or plaesure purposes

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Kevin S,
I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful review. I will personally thank the team for taking such great care of you.

We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit in Toronto!
Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

First the positives... Extremely nice staff overall. Comfy bed and towels. Fast elevator and decent lobby area. Shower pressure great. Cons: bathroom was not clean (razor cover left from previous guest in shower, mildew starting on shower walls, baseboards with a healthy coating of dust, coffee streaks/splashes on wall behind trash can that could easily have been wiped clean). Heat was erratic and unmanageable by thermostat (we both alternately sweated from heat and were chilled to needing layers, regardless of thermostat temp/setting of 68 F). We were billed for items we didn't use (2 nights of restaurant meals and valet parking - we didn't eat a single meal on site and didn't have a car with us. When we called to correct it, the customer service person initially kept insisting we pay for the valet at least.) We were given only one $5 coupon after 4 nights stay for not using housekeeping (we didn't realize we were supposed to get one each night until the last night when we received the card that said no more rebate cards). Walls were paper thin -- heard neighbor cough all night as though he was in our room and heard conversations on either side as though they were right there, too. Aside from positives above, this was more like a motel than a nice hotel. We're not picky people and don't expect luxury, so we winged it. But I can't say I'd recommend this overall. We have had much better stays in comparable hotels in the area. I wish I could be more positive based on the helpful staff!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missavt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear missavt,
This is a very comprehensive review and I thank you for sharing it with me.

What you describe about the room condition and heating issue is unacceptable and I understand your disappointment.
At Westin, our teams pride themselves on cleanliness, as I suspect you noticed throughout the rest of the hotel. Your experience falls way below our standards and that really concerns me.

This is why I would appreciate if you could reach out to me personally at experienceteam@westin.com with your check-in date and confirmation number.
With this information I will follow-up with our housekeeping and engineering teams and investigate what fell through to ensure it doesn’t happen again.

I will look forward to your email and to the opportunity to connect with you and apologize personally.
Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

A few months ago i put a review of my stay here.... My room was so dusty i could write a sentance on the wood in my room.

The hotel wrote a responce saying they were concerned and could i contact them via email, i did and got no responce.

Stayed here again last week and guess? Another room thats so dusty i could write on it!

Do the hotel care.... I don't think they do!

Sty

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear paull25,

I remember your June review very well and also remember asking you to contact me personally as I wanted to discuss it in further details and apologize for your disappointing experience.

We do take our guests’ comments very seriously and I am extremely concerned that I never got your email. I will follow-up with my team to know if anybody received your contact information but in the meantime, I would really like to connect with you.
Can you please send me an email with your full name, check-in date and phone number? With this information, I will investigate what fell through and ensure we do connect. I will look forward to receiving your response at experienceteam@westin.com.

Once again, dear paull25, I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback,.
Also, before booking your next stay, contact me personally so we can go above and beyond your expectations!

Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Had a great time - early check in, courtesy staff, very helpful and friendly valet service. The hotel is clean, convenient and in a great location. Valet also suggested their more economical parking across the street, but choose the valet, much more convenient. Stay here!

Room Tip: Stay in the upper floors and with a view facing southwest - great view of the harbour and city inclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meozawald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Meozawald
Thank you for sharing your kind review with fellow travelers.

Our mission at Westin is to make sure our guests leave feeling better than when they arrived and I am pleased that we succeeded.

I will look forward to welcoming you back soon again!
Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#22 of 136 in Toronto
3,960 reviews
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Delta Hotels Toronto
Delta Hotels Toronto
#8 of 136 in Toronto
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto

Address: 1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#20 Family Hotel in Toronto
#22 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#28 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#40 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £107 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 977
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the perfect blend of relaxation, renewal, and modern comfort at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto. You'll find our hotel on the revitalized waterfront, just steps away from the Downtown Core via the PATH, Toronto’s underground covered walkway. The city's lively theatre and entertainment districts are just steps away, as are the Air Canada Centre and other famous attractions. Our CAA/AAA Four Diamond hotel welcomes you with beautifully designed accommodations featuring large workspaces, high-speed Internet access, and our legendary Westin Heavenly® Bed. Some of our hotel rooms also boast incredible views of Lake Ontario. Stop by one of our several outstanding restaurants for a delicious, healthful meal - or refresh with a dip in our indoor pool. Meetings and events are inspired occasions in our adaptable venues, including the spectacular Metropolitan Ballroom - the largest hotel ballroom in Canada. And our prime waterfront location enables you to explore the best of the downtown area with ease - from Rogers Centre to the CN Tower and Ripley's Aquarium. s attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), bedfinder AG, Ebookers, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Harbour Castle Hotel Toronto
Westin Hotel Toronto
Westin Toronto
The Westin Harbour Castle
Westin Harbor Castle Hotel Toronto
Toronto Westin
Westin Harbour Castle Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing