We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Harbour Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Harbour Castle
Ranked #37 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
504 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“All good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Just flew in 10 hours after staying at the Sheraton Princess in Waikiki which was way less than expected as quite frankly was the Maui Hyatt. The Harbour Castle is a pleasant surprise. Have not stayed here in years. The check in area was brisk, efficient and moved checking in guests fast. My suite overlooking Lake Ontario is fabulous. All clean and the staff have all been caring and proactive.

Perfect downtown location and there seems to be a lot of construction around this area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canadian175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear canadian175
WOW, what a wonderful review.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay that much after 10 long hours of flight.
We hope you managed to rest well and that we’ll have the pleasure to welcome you back soon on your next visit to Toronto.

Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,374
    1,516
    640
    224
    115
See reviews for
721
1,112
193
1,222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,042)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
298 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We were treated very well at this hotel. The bar service was prompt and the drinks were good with particular good service from Patrick. The rooms were comfortable enough with good beds, but showing a little wear. Since there is an in house convention center this is understandable. The parking is $45 per night if you opt for valet, so be warned. Breakfast was good if a bit pricey as well but there is a Deli across the street with good reasonable food. The view of the harbor was great but if you want to sleep in, know that the ferry horn will sound loudly on the hour. Cabs can be difficult to get at the lobby entrance at popular times, so better to go down to street level.

Room Tip: If you opt for harbor view, the sun can be intense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Charlene T,
It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel and I thank you for sharing your kind review.

I am pleased to know that you managed to sleep well in the Westin Heavenly bed and apologize that you were not provided with alternative parking options – though all parking spaces are very similarly priced on the waterfront area.

I would love for you to email me at experienceteam@westin.com prior to your next visit so that I can make sure your next stay is flawless.
I will look forward to welcoming you back!

Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Very little valet parking, (said $40 a day, but it's really $45). No robes in the room. Bathroom is very old. Lounge has absolutely NO atmosphere. A little music or something would be nice. BORING. Pool needs attention and cleanliness would be nice in the change rooms.
Beds are comfy, but small when sharing. NO FREE INTERNET SERVICE FOR A SO CALLED HIGH END HOTEL!!!! come on now.
Loved the lotions and shampoo. Hairdryer should be installed into the wall....and best for last. The toilet paper roll is WAYYYYY too far from the toilet... just saying. Had to be a guy who installed those for sure.
Thanks but next time I'll stick with the Intercontinental.

Room Tip: Try and get a corner alcove. Even though you only have one neighbour, you have an additional door to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudieOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear ClaudieOttawa_Canada,
First of all, thank you for staying with us recently and for sharing some thoughts on your visit.

All your comments are very concerning as what you describe is most definitely not what our hotel is famous for.
Our valet parking is indeed priced at $45 a day as advertized on our website at westintoronto dot com under the parking tab.

We do offer complimentary internet connection in our lobby and restaurants and are currently working on a new tier-pricing process that will offer a 30-minute complimentary connection to check emails from the rooms as we understand that our valued guests’ need to be connected.

We recently renovated our lobby and public space and the feedback we had so far is only positive, so I am very surprised to read that you do not enjoy the new atmosphere. I would love to hear some of your suggestions for future improvements.

Could you please email me at experienceteam@westin.com ?
I will look forward to your email and to the opportunity to discuss your review in further details.
Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed one night near the end of October. We are a family of 4 and had a room on the 7th floor with two beds. We had booked a city view room but asked if there was a lake view available upon check-in and the front desk clerk was very accomodating and said there was.

The room was fine and had everything you would expect. We all had things to do so we dropped our bag and went out. When we returned after dark we started noticing the dirt/grime on the walls and fixtures. The sheets and bathroom were clean. But the extra cleaning had not been done in quite some time. The dirt on the glass of the pictures, the dust on the black picture frames and top of switch plates was hard not to see and even spills runing down the walls and dark finger prints near the ceiling over the television were a bit unsettling.

I did fill out the survey sent by SPG and I was sent an e-mail informing me these issues were being looked into. For one night it was fine, but nobody likes to lay in bed and wonder just what went on in the room before them by the marks left behind by past guests.

The children loved the pool and the location is good and we could walk to the new Ripley's aquarium and to all the restaurants on Front Street. We didn't eat in the hotel as we found the prices a bit too high for our budget.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2plus2-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear 2plus2-9,

Thank you to you and your family for staying with us recently. I am pleased you were upgraded to a nice lake view room and that your family managed to rest well in it.

I truly appreciate you filling in our SPG survey and spoke to our Operation Teams who replied to your comments.
This is great to hear that you took advantage of our location to walk to the new aquarium and I am sure your family truly had a fantastic time in Toronto’s newest attraction!

We would love to welcome you back on your next visit to Toronto, so please don’t hesitate to email me personally at experienceteam@westin.com prior to checking-in so that I can make sure the 4 of you are well taken care of. On our website, we have a great family package including accommodation, breakfast for 4 and parking that I am convinced you will find very reasonably priced!

We look forward to seeing you soon!
Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

You must pay for the location as the hotel is not worth what they charge. No major issues with the room other than the fridge did work, but at this price I expect to be impressed. We did not try any restaurants or bars due to the high prices. There were events at the ACC, so outside restaurant selection was limited due to crowds. Pet peeve of mine is hotels that use parking and the internet charges to improve profitability and $35/day for parking is a rip off. We used our phones as hot-spots to avoid the internet cost after the first day. Continue to wonder why at $100/night hotels can include parking and internet but the more expensive ones over charge for it. We were at an event at the hotel on the Saturday and many people chose to stay at other hotels due the expensive nature of this hotel. It has been about 10 years since my last stay and do not see myself going back.

Room Tip: ask for lakeside as it will have a nicer view but there is likely a additional charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cangolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Cangolf
Thank you for staying with us during your recent event in Toronto.
I apologize that your visit did not exceed your expectations.

Our parking pricing is revised quarterly after comparative analysis, and our hotel’s pricing is in line with other major four star downtown hotels in Toronto. For guests who would prefer to park outside the hotel, our team (as well as our website) offer various options. However, you will notice that pricing is very similar everywhere on Toronto’s waterfront.

I am sorry you were not made aware that all guests can enjoy complimentary wi-fi connection in our lobby and restaurants, where you wouldn’t have had to use your phone’s data plan.
I would love to hear from you prior to your next visit so that I can make sure you are well taken care of.

Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We spent 4 nights here while visiting the city. Usually, when staying at a Westin hotel we anticipate that the subsequent review will be 5/5 swo it was a little disappointing that we felt that wasn't warranted. Being part of the Starwood Preferred Guest programme we got upgraded to a lake-view room on the 32nd. floor with a beautiful view. The bed was comfortable enough but the room was on the small side. The decor and furnishings were very dated - beige and brown from the last century, in fact. Everything looked like it needed updating and renovating.

We did not try the hotel's restaurants or bars, there being cheaper alternatives nearby. The public areas of the hotel were nicely done in a contemporary style. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel offers a $5 voucher/rebate scheme if you forgo housekeeping. We thought this would mean no change of linen or towels, but actually it means no housekeeping visit to your room at all (to help save the environment, apparently). Given the prices here, a $5 discount simply to rent an unserviced room doesn't seem like a great deal. Presumably though, we saved a tree or a polar bear, or something...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardMer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear RichardMer
Let me start by thanking you for being a loyal SPG member and by apologizing that your recent visit didn’t exceed your expectations.

I am happy to hear you got upgraded to one of our upper floor rooms. However, I am really sorry to read that our Make a Green Choice program wasn’t explained to you entirely at check-in and led to some confusion.

I appreciate your comment about the nice condition of our public space that we just renovated. Because your experience at our hotel was not flawless, I would like to discuss it with you in further details and would appreciate if you could email me at experienceteam@westin.com
I will look forward to connecting with you.

Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our stay was very and pleasurable. The room was comfortable and clean, and everything worked properly.The staff was friendly and helpful. The food and bar was a bit pricey but we found excellent food reasonable priced bar across the street at Miller's Tavern. Also, about a ten minute walk away is shopping and restaurants with prices even more reasonable. We just happen to find the mall because there are no store signs and most all of the stores and restaurants are below ground. Unless you know where you are going, you will probably miss it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Francine W
It was a pleasure to welcome you and to know that you truly enjoyed your stay.

I am pleased to read that you took advantage of our downtown location to explore Toronto and its PATH, also known as the largest underground shopping complex in the world with its 29-kilometre network of tunnels!

I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon,
Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#19 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Harbour Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Harbour Castle

Property: The Westin Harbour Castle
Address: 1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#26 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#27 Family Hotel in Toronto
#28 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#40 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Harbour Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 977
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is located on the vibrant waterfront of Lake Ontario, where you can enjoy Toronto's seasonal events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your The Westin Harbour Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Harbour Castle Hotel Toronto
Westin Hotel Toronto
Westin Toronto
Westin Harbor Castle Hotel Toronto
Toronto Westin
Westin Harbour Castle Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing