We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Harbour Castle
Ranked #32 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great hotel, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Our recent stay at the Westin Harbour Castle was fantastic. The room was huge and had a great view of the lake. The location was perfect - we were a short walk from Front Street and very close to the island ferries (we were in town for an island wedding). The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly too. A special thank you to Juan Galindo for going above and beyond to ensure our stay was a memorable one. We will be back at the Westin when we are next in Toronto.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyHappyTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear HappyHappyTourist,

This is exactly how it should be for all guests of our hotel.
I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful review!

Sounds like your whole experience was flawless. The island wedding sounds lovely!
I will make sure to thank Juan for taking such great care of you.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,
Happy Holidays!
Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,440
    1,548
    644
    227
    119
See reviews for
735
1,137
198
1,284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,063)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
343 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed for 5 days for a business trip. The rooms are spacious, clean with excellent service.
Cleaning the ceramic around the bath, deserves a little more attention.
As we were more than a hundred people, the meals were buffet. Food were OK

Room Tip: ask for the south tower with a view over the CN Tower and the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zara1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear zara1213,.
Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your review and for staying with us recently with your group.
I am delighted to read that you truly enjoyed your stay with us.

I will share your comment about the ceramic in the bathroom with our Director of Housekeeping.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Happy Holidays!
Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I've stay at this establishment multiple times. Being a local of the GTA this hotel provides an interesting experience and feeling toward the city.

Pros

- Great views: The waterfront view is breath taking, however depending on your room selection you may get a city view filled with construction

- Beautiful: The lobby is a nice touch, very welcoming and elegant.

- Beds are comfortable

- Excellent work out and swimming facility

- Welcoming staff

Cons

Locaiton: The location of the hotel is very convenient if you are going to Guvernment Night Club, or the ACC, CN, and Rogers Centre. However, the location is remote making it far from shopping, acess to subway lines, and late night dining.

Price: The hotel is very beautiful, rooms, are clean, but the price you are paying between 170-230 it can be pricey. Starwood Hotel does have monthly offers, but it takes some research.

Parking: The hotel has a small and limited parking lot, with a charge of $30 or $45 in and outs. Also the hotel is on a ramp meaning to get to the front doors you have to walk up a hill or bunch of stair which, can be slippery in the winter time.


Overall: This is great hotel on the water but, if I wasn't going to the Guverment or ACC I would not stay here for the price of a room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabeer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinFrizzell, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Kabeer K,

Feedback is a gift and I really appreciate you sharing your review.

I am sorry to hear that you found our parking price a bit steep. We do some comparative analysis every quarter with other major four-star hotels in downtown Toronto and feel that we are in line with pricing but I will certainly keep your feedback in mind.

Again, sorry that you didn’t fully appreciate our location on Lake Ontario. I understand that all our guests do not wish to walk to go downtown, but I can assure you that nothing beats this location in the summer months and I truly hope you can visit us again to experience what we truly are about.

Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Really enjoy this hotel. Staff are always very friendly and helpful. My only feedback is some of the rooms are in need of some renos and are a bit worn. Meeting facilities are outstanding and food is very good. This is always my first pick if I need to be downtown for business.

Room Tip: High floors in the North Tower I believe are the most recently redone. Stay away from elevators, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powerjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinFrizzell, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Powerjay,

I appreciate you posting this great review!
I will share your comments with the team as a great reminder of what we do best at The Westin Harbour Castle.

Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed twice in November and had lakeview rooms both times. The rooms are getting a little worn but the view is great and the beds are comfortable. Air conditioning unit is very loud though and I wish the bathrooms were updated.

Love the pool here. Tried breakfast buffet in the restaurant and it was very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuteontariocouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinFrizzell, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear cuteontariocouple,

First of all, let me thank you for staying with us recently and for your review
Feedback is a gift and I really appreciate you sharing your review.

I hope to welcome you back.

Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Let me come out and say it... the Westin Harbour Castle sucks.

I'm a Starwood Platinum member as a function of having to travel extensively. For the past 6 months I've been staying at the Westin Montreal on a weekly basis, and the Montreal property is everything that the Harbour Castle is not.

We stayed here as a couple on a weekend when I thought it'd just be a good escape from the day to day, just to explore downtown Toronto. I'd booked because I had expected standards similar to the Montreal property.

The check-in counters have lines that are annoyingly long. The facility desperately screams for a renovation. Carpets look old, the building has a strange smell to it, door frames are dirty and it just doesn't feel like a 4 star property.

Our lakeview terrace room had some cheap crappy chairs on the terrace that had seen better days, and the balcony railing was kinda rusted as well. The washroom had grime stuck in the tiles and the bathroom just felt worn out. Not to mention, not only was the carpet worn out but there were holes in it.

The breakfast was pretty marginal, the food did not feel fresh.

Sounds like I'm nitpicking, but everything I've listed here is the EXACT opposite of Westin Montreal. One can deal with these quirks if one knows its not a premium property, nor is the price premium. But to charge what they charge, the property just doesn't justify it.

Seems like the business is built on the basis of conference/convention traffic that they get as a default in Toronto. Sorry if you don't have a choice and have to stay in this dump, but if you're a leisure traveller - spend your money and time somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozk81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear ozk81,
First of all, let me start by thanking you for being a loyal SPG guest and for taking the time to share some feedback following your recent visit.

We just finished renovating our lobby and public space and are often complimented on the Westin signature white-tea smell that we diffuse throughout the hotel, so your comments are very concerning to me.

What you describe about the condition of your room is not acceptable and I will follow-up immediately with our Director of Housekeeping. As you know Westin hotels worldwide fairly well, I am sure you know that your last experience doesn’t reflect our high standards of quality and service. This is why I would love to personally connect with you, discuss your review in further details and get the chance to apologize properly. Can you please email me your contact information and check-in date at experienceteam@westin.com?

I will look forward to your email,
Thanks again for bringing your comments to my attention,
Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

a family function brought us here so it was a nice treat to stay in our hometown! it's a great location for families as it's only a very short hop over to the ferry docks and a trip to the toronto islands. there are 2 grocery stores within walking distance and union station is about a 10 minute walk north.

i was pleased with the amenities, lots of towels and cozy beds but i have to admit i was expecting more from one of the higher end hotels in the city. the first was that the toilet paper rolls were about 11" off of the ground and quite the reach away from the toilet. i can't quite figure out the weird placement of that one. considering we stayed with kids who couldn't reach the paper, bathroom times were fun.

the other thing was that there were no towel bars! the only one is in the shower but you can't hang a wash cloth or hand towel there if there are little people trying to use them. may i suggest that instead of the open cabinet under the sink, you close off one panel and put the roll there and then add a towel bar to the other side? quick fix...for all 1000+ rooms :)

pool was bigger than expected, however, i think the chemicals were off as the kids in our party had more sensitive reactions than the pools they usually frequent. there is a lap lane cordoned off from the rest of the pool so you can do laps while everyone else splashes around. they supply flutter boards and pool noodles which is a great plus!

i didn't use the fitness centre but noticed that for about $5 you can rent work out clothes so you don't have to pack your own. that's a great idea.

we ate at toula restaurant upstairs and had a very nice meal. we had a beautiful view overlooking the lake. the service and food were very nice but slow. but i'll write about that in a separate review.

someone else mentioned the slow check in and we did experience that as well. perhaps staff up at peak times? (we checked in on a saturday).

we had the breakfast buffet at mizzen in the lobby and everyone was very well fed. i like it when they put the coffee on the table! i'd much rather pour my own than wait for it to come around. i wish more places would do this. there's something for everyone...cereal, hot and cold, massive continental fare, eggs, french toast, pancakes, breakfast meats galore and lots of fresh fruit.

i would stay again if the opportunity arose. thanks for the nice stay.

Room Tip: we had a room on the east side, 20th floor...good views of the city and the islands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Julie F,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent family function and thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review.

I am delighted to read that you took advantage of our location to explore Toronto and appreciate you bringing up your feedback on the towel bars and suggestions for improvement. I will share your comment with our Engineering team.

It was a pleasure to welcome you all and I hope to see you around soon.
Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,825 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Harbour Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Harbour Castle

Property: The Westin Harbour Castle
Address: 1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#23 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#27 Family Hotel in Toronto
#28 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#40 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Harbour Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 977
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is located on the vibrant waterfront of Lake Ontario, where you can enjoy Toronto's seasonal events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelbag, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Harbour Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Harbour Castle Hotel Toronto
Westin Hotel Toronto
Westin Toronto
Westin Harbor Castle Hotel Toronto
Toronto Westin
Westin Harbour Castle Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing