We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great conference facilities - rooms are slightly dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Harbour Castle
Ranked #33 of 133 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great conference facilities - rooms are slightly dated”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Excellent conference area, facilities are showing age. Lobby and entrance has been nicely updated, but rooms need to follow with an update. We only stayed for a one day conference, which the dinner was excellent, and breakfast buffet the following morning was great.

Room Tip: Upper level facing lakefront is great to see planes landing at Toronto Island airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DomLYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Dominic L,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent conference. I am pleased to read that your event was a success.

It is great to read that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and I truly appreciate your nice comments about our newly renovated lobby.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your review and looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Be well
Candida Azevedo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,485
    1,566
    653
    229
    121
See reviews for
744
1,153
201
1,326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,085)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

There were only a couple minor issues with this hotel, nothing worth major concern in my opinion.

When we got to the hotel, we had to wait for a good 15-20 mins just to get off the road because valet was so backed up for whatever reason.

Also, the sonud-proofing (not sure how to accomplish this) should really be worked on. 2-3 times during the night I was woke up by people in the hallways, and once was room service servicing the room beside mine at 6:15 a.m.

There was a bit of confusion at check in, when someone with the same last name had already checked into my reservation, but it was fixed immediately, and then upgraded my room for the inconvenience which wasn't really a big deal!

The line at check in was a bit long, but the desk was fully staffed basically so not much else the hotel could have done.

Side note to the hotel (whether or not these prices are competitive), if you lowered the price for in room breakfast, you would get far more orders as that is the whole reason we didn't get it!

Overall, would I stay here again? Yes I would. Staff was great, bed was comfortable and if you get the hotel at a discount on a booking site, then it is more than worth it in my opinion

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobsyouruncle17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear bobsyouruncle17,
It was our pleasure to welcome you to our hotel and to Toronto recently.

I appreciate you sharing your review and bringing some comments to my attention– thank you. I am pleased to read that you connected well with our teams and that you enjoyed your stay. I will follow-up on your feedback with the teams.

Should you need anything prior to your next visit, please don’t hesitate to reach out to me personally at experienceteam@westin.com so that I can ensure your next visit is flawless.
Be well
Candida Azevedo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I recently stayed here during a conference. It had been a few years since I last stayed here. I have to stay that this was another great stay at this excellent hotel.

I spent three nights in the north tower. The room service was excellent, the room (a corner with great views of the island and lake) was great and the heavenly shower and bed were second to none.

I just love the location, walking distance to all the great sites in Toronto. Went to the air Canada centre for a match, the eaton centre for so,e shopping and Yonge street for a nice stroll,

This is the location to stay at in Toronto.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris71Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Chris71Ottawa,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent conference.

I am pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful recommendation.

I hope to welcome you back soon!
Be well
Candida Azevedo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Within 5 mins walking distance from Union Station and located well within walking distance from all major attractions this vibrant hotel is a must for those coming into Toronto as a starting point or even for the longer stayers. The massive lobby is well vibrant offering a warm and comfy lounge with bar and restaurant facilities...a great meeting point or just a a place to lounge in preparation for any event or night out. Well priced, great food (the tomato soup is a must) and most of all warm inside when it's -28 outside!! Rooms well appointed although no shoe polish, only half a point taken off there. Other than fine, just fine.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1712, perfect bay views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kartik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear KartikPurohit,
What a wonderful review – thank you for sharing it with fellow travelers.

I understand you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our location to explore downtown Toronto. I will make sure to share your comment about the lack of shoe polish with our team as a great suggestion for improvement.

I will look forward to your next visit.
Be well
Candida Azevedo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed here over night for a short trip. This hotel is next to the convention center with what you can expect of a traditional convention hotel. There was no water in the room (spg platinum), no minibar. I did get free wi-fi, which is a plus.

The room itself is just like any other Westin, but I have the view of the lake. I am sure it could be a wonderful view in a nicer weather.

I didn't eat outside of the hotel but looks like there are many choices. The room service food was pretty good (even though they didn't get the order correctly, the quality of food is better than average).

The location is convenient, short cab ride to where I need to be. Would try this place again on a warmer weather.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TcyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear TcyW,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Toronto, and for being a loyal SPG platinum guest of our hotel.

I appreciate you taking the time to share some thoughts on your stay. I am really sorry that there was no bottled water in your room – this is a mistake on our end and I will make sure that I follow-up properly with the team to avoid this in the future.
I would truly appreciate if you could email me your reservation number at experienceteam@westin.com prior to your next visit so that I can make sure everything is flawless.

Thank you again for sharing your comments.
Be well
Candida Azevedo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed at the Westin Harbour Castle on Saturday March 22. We stayed with our son's family as we went to see the Aquarium on Saturday night and then to Mickeys Road show on Sunday. The hotel stay was great as usual. Staff very friendly, rooms comfortable and location great. A Great Hotel! Only downfall was when coming home from the Aquarium, my wife and myself were holding our grandsons hand and she tripped on the construction material on the sidewalk and fell face first onto the cement on the sidewalk sustaining and a concussion, stitches and black eyes. Be very careful because there are construction hazards everywhere downtown. Hope that our next visit there on May 10 goes better.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgropp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear tgropp,
Oh no! I am so sorry to read that your wife tripped while on your way from the aquarium and hurt herself. I hope she gets better quickly and recovers well from the concussion and stitches.

I appreciate you sharing your nice comments about your stay and I will look forward to welcoming your family back on May 10th, once your wife is better. Can you please kindly email me your reservation number at experienceteam@westin.com so that I can make sure our teams take good care of you?

Be well
Candida Azevedo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
312 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Excellent hotel, good bedrooms with nice views, a bit far from the metro, good restaurants (excellent one at 39th floor). The internet should be free if you consider the fares they charge, it´s expensive. The room service is expensive as well, if you consider all taxes, a ham and cheese sandwich with fries is about 30 usd.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cristina Brasileira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Cristina Brasileira,
Thank you kindly for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share some thoughts on your visit.

We truly appreciate your comments on our Internet connection. At Westin, we value feedback and realize how important it is for our guests to stay connected while they are on the road. This is why we are offering complimentary internet connection in the lobby and restaurants. Similarly, we are currently working on a new tier-pricing process that will offer all our guests 30 minute complimentary connection to check emails.

I trust you will be pleased with this and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Be well
Candida Azevedo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 133 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,890 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Harbour Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Harbour Castle

Property: The Westin Harbour Castle
Address: 1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#24 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#27 Family Hotel in Toronto
#28 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#40 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Harbour Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 977
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is located on the vibrant waterfront of Lake Ontario, where you can enjoy Toronto's seasonal events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Travelbag, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Harbour Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Harbour Castle Hotel Toronto
Westin Hotel Toronto
Westin Toronto
Westin Harbor Castle Hotel Toronto
Toronto Westin
Westin Harbour Castle Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing