We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto
Ranked #30 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just got back from a 4 day stay at this hotel while attending a conference. Overall, enjoyed my stay. My recommendation of whether to stay or not would depend on what you want out of a hotel.

Pros:
- On the waterfront, so you have a nice relaxing view of the harbor. I experienced a lot of fog while there in April, making it difficult half the time to see anything out the window. However, I expect it would be much nicer during the summer months.
- Very welcoming and helpful staff.
- Extremely comfortable bed (something Westin is known for).
- Pretty quiet, which surprised me given that my room was right near the elevator.
- Westin didn't charge extra to use the gym, and it was open 24 hours.
- Each day you opt out of room service, you get $5 to spend on food there or reward points.

Cons:
- If you are attending a conference, there are other equally nice hotels much closer to the main conference center and central attractions (e.g., CNN tower). Took about 20 minutes to the conference center - not too bad but at the end of a long day, sometimes you just want to get back to your room quickly.
- The room service food wasn't just bad it was truly awful and expensive for the quantity and quality (note: I am NOT a picky eater). I ordered rice/vegetables thinking it would be a stir fry. I ended up with about a cup of plain white rice (no sauce, butter, salt, etc.) with about 2 small slices of red pepper on top, all for about $15. If you are staying there, I would highly recommend eating elsewhere!
- Incidentals are expensive. Internet is about $15 per day (we had it waived due to being there for a conference) and parking is $40 plus tax if you want your car indoors and about $30 if you want to park a block away from the hotel, outdoors. And if you want indoor parking, you are forced to use a valet.

Whether I personally went back or not would depend on the price. I think there are equally good hotels much closer to the places I would want to visit in Toronto. However, I would pick this hotel again if I got a good deal and do feel comfortable recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldtraveler2882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Worldtraveler2882,
It was a pleasure to welcome you during your recent conference.
I understand that you enjoyed our location right on the lake, interacted well with our teams and took advantage of the 24-hour access to the WestinWorkout Fitness Studio.
I thank you for bringing to my attention your comment about your in-room dining experience. I will make sure to follow-up immediately with our Director of Food and Beverage as this is very concerning and most definitely not the quality of food our hotel is famous for.

I am also sorry to read that you were not given any alternative options for parking. There are various public parking places near the hotel – as detailed on our website and reservation emails and I am sorry that our team did not make you aware of these other options.

Because your recent visit did not exceed your expectations, I would like to discuss your review in further details and personally apologize. Could you please send me your contact information at experienceteam@westin.com?

I will look forward to connecting with you
Be well
Tim Reardon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,518 - 2,524 of 4,674 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

I travel once a year in this hotel very weel located downtown Toronto for 10 years.
This hotel is very clean and personnel are very sweet. Good service.
But this year I notice some problems in my room, south aisle.
Water flows in bathroom, and windows should need paint.

Room Tip: You should ask for a view on Lake Ontario south might be best place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear webdan,
Thank you for being a loyal guest of our hotel. It is always a pleasure to welcome you and get some feedback on what can be improved.

The hotel is currently undergoing a complete renovation of all public space and we are scheduling a complete renovation of our guestrooms for next year. I trust you will be pleased with the result.
However, I understand that your last visit did not exceed your expectations and I apologize for this.

I would love to hear from you prior to your next visit, so that I can ensure you experience a flawless Westin stay – as you should have had this past stay.
Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with our team. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Be well
Candida Azevedo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We loved our stay at the Westin Harbour Castle. We were upgraded to a waterfront view room. It was wonderfully relaxing. I love the Starbucks coffee and coffee maker in room. Close to Rogers Centre, and distillery district. Would definitely stay there again...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin Aimie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Colin Aimie L,
It was a pleasure welcoming you and I thank you for sharing some comments on your recent visit.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our location and the spectacular views from your room.

I will look forward to welcoming you back
Be well
Candida Azevedo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Rooms and interior design were both clean, sharp, and enjoyable. Stayed for business trip and location was especially convenient for conference center meetings. If looking for dependable, higher end accomodations, definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Chris E,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent business trip. I am pleased to read that you truly enjoyed your stay and managed to relax well in your guestroom.

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your kind recommendation.
Be well
Candida Azevedo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I spent 3 days here over Spring Break and very much enjoyed our stay. We were upgraded to the 32nd floor and city and water views, which were ok. We ended up with views looking toward the Distillery District and a more industrial area of the lakefront. A view of the CN Tower or the islands would have been preferable but I can't complain as we got an excellent rate on the room from a 3rd party site. Room was spacious and the bed was SOOOO comfortable. We had no trouble with the elevator speeds; they always ran well. We didn't have a long wait at check in either but I did see lines throughout the week at both the general and SPF guest desk.

I did research parking (thank you TripAdvisor) and saved a good chunk of money by using the Green P lot just a couple of blocks away. My husband and I are both in good shape so we parked and walked everywhere. Most important to us, the hotel is a reasonable walking distance to the Hockey Hall of Fame.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Alligrrrrl,
It was a pleasure to welcome you and your husband during March Break.

I am pleased you were upgraded to one of our penthouse rooms and truly enjoyed your visit. This is great to know that you slept well in your Westin Heavenly Bed. We will look forward to welcoming you both back soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your kind recommendation.
Be well
Candida Azevedo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I had stayed at the Westin once before and had a terrible experience. Jeniffer took care of us and brought us back, we have been back numerous times since then.

The rooms are fantastic, Wwe stayed in a corner king suite. It had an amazing view. We were located on the 32nd floor with a great view. All Westin properties have incredible beds and are clean and bright.


The hotel is really relaxed, they have a tranquility rule that keeps the hotel quiet. It's walking distance to a view good bars and the ACC. I really feel the service from the staff sets this hotel apart from others.




  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AR72LQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

WOW, this is a truly wonderful review – thank you for sharing it, dear AR72LQ!

I understand you thoroughly enjoyed your recent visit and I will make sure to thank Jen Moon for going the extra mile and taking such great care of you. This is exactly how it should feel at Westin.

I will look forward to your next visit.Should you need anything in the meantime, please do not hesitate to email me personally at experienceteam@westin.com
Thanks again for sharing your kind recommendation and for being a loyal guest of our hotel.
Be well
Candida Azevedo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The main reason I opted to stay here was that it was the only hotel that offered self-parking (about a block away). Other than that, the stay was merely okay. Check-in took quite a long time and the elevators were amongst some of the slowest I have experienced. The most surprising aspect of the room was that there is no mini-fridge, which was the first I have ever felt deprived of such a basic amenity in a hotel room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Jeremy O,

I'm sorry to read that your recent visit did not live up to your expectations. I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and I would love to connect with you personally and discuss your experience in further details.

At your earliest convenience, could you please email me your contact information and reservation number at experienceteam@westin.com?
I will look forward to connecting with you
Be well
Candida Azevedo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#23 of 138 in Toronto
3,878 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto

Address: 1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#20 Family Hotel in Toronto
#21 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#28 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#40 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £115 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 977
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the perfect blend of relaxation, renewal, and modern comfort at The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto. You'll find our hotel on the revitalized waterfront, just steps away from the Downtown Core via the PATH, Toronto’s underground covered walkway. The city's lively theatre and entertainment districts are just steps away, as are the Air Canada Centre and other famous attractions. Our CAA/AAA Four Diamond hotel welcomes you with beautifully designed accommodations featuring large workspaces, high-speed Internet access, and our legendary Westin Heavenly® Bed. Some of our hotel rooms also boast incredible views of Lake Ontario. Stop by one of our several outstanding restaurants for a delicious, healthful meal - or refresh with a dip in our indoor pool. Meetings and events are inspired occasions in our adaptable venues, including the spectacular Metropolitan Ballroom - the largest hotel ballroom in Canada. And our prime waterfront location enables you to explore the best of the downtown area with ease - from Rogers Centre to the CN Tower and Ripley's Aquarium. s attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Harbour Castle Hotel Toronto
Westin Hotel Toronto
Westin Toronto
The Westin Harbour Castle
Westin Harbor Castle Hotel Toronto
Toronto Westin
Westin Harbour Castle Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing