We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost four stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Harbour Castle
Ranked #32 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Almost four stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The room was clean, but the hotel room was starting to show some wear. hence not quite a four star rating.
The staff were exceptionally friendly even going out of their way to ask may I help you
Valet parking was very fast.
Fitness room and pool were very nice
We ate in the dinning room and the cold buffet was $18, the other three companions ordered off the menu. All the meals were expensive, but normal for a hotel. the quality was very good to excellent. My rating is based on the smoked salmon in the cold buffet which was very good.
Great location
We had desert and coffee on the 38th floor, great view. desert was $11 and special coffees were $11. Again four people ate and all deserts were very good

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear JBOttawa,

First off I’d like to thank you for staying with us and also for taking the time to post your review. I’m happy to hear you had such a great dining experience. At Westin, we are really proud of our award-winning culinary team, offering quality fresh products, along with our Westin Superfoods, is part of our Chef’s mission. I will share your comments with the team as a great reminder of what we do best. The hotel is undergoing some renovations of the public space and we will then start working on refreshing the guestrooms.

I hope to welcome you back soon and enjoy the rest of your summer.

Be well,
Tim Reardon
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,449
    1,551
    646
    227
    119
See reviews for
736
1,139
199
1,294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,067)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I recently stayed at this Hotel and love the fact it is so close to the Lake as well as the events that are within walking distance. Right now there is a lot of construction on the roadways so you'll need to be patient if you want to get around by car (but hey it won't last forever, right?). The hotel itself has a lot going for it and especially if you want to have a nice pool to use --- it's big, lots of lounging and it also has an outside patio to sunbathe, play tennis or just dry off after swimming. Nice bar, good buffet breakfast, rooms are comfortable but in the 2 room suite we stayed in there was no fridge which I found odd.
Bottom line is you won't be disappointed staying her so feel good about your travel arrangements at the Westin harbor Castle

Room Tip: Great view the higher up you are and elevators are FAST -- South side to view the lake or North side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mortensenjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Mortensenjohn,

Thank you for your wonderful review I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and location of the hotel. Our mission at Westin is to make sure that you feel better when you leave than when you arrived and I am thrilled that you enjoyed all that our hotel has to offer. I completely understand the construction can be an inconvenience for our guests but we can assure you that City’s Queen’s Quay revitalization is a huge project and that your patience will be all worth it when the construction is over and we have a beautiful waterfront boardwalk!

I hope you enjoy the rest of your summer and we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Be well,
Tim Reardon
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sackville, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here with family while on vacation and the location was excellent to get to downtown sites. Rooms were fine but could use some work. Construction is everywhere in the downtown so you'll have to deal with that any place you stay. Staff were helpful and courteous.

The notable thing about this hotel was its lively open lobby/restaurant/bar area. I have been to many hotels and it could have just been the time I was visiting or something special going on but the entire area was filled with people who seemed to be having a great time. This was definitely the most lively hotel I've been too outside of a resort and my visit was mid week. It also wasn't isolated to one night as we stayed for two and had the same experience both nights.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisTinaNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear ChrisTinaNB,

First of all, let me thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share some thoughts on your recent visit. Our mission at Westin is to make sure that you feel better when you leave than when you arrived and I am thrilled that you had such a great experience. I understand the construction can be an inconvenience for our guests but we can assure you that City’s Queen’s Quay revitalization is a huge project and that your patience will be all worth it when the construction is over and we have a beautiful waterfront boardwalk! Should you need anything in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me at experienceteam@westin.com
I hope you enjoy the summer and we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Be well,
Tim Reardon
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND. UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights. Room was OK with flat TV, desk and Chaise though bit small. Bedding very comfortable. Bathroom clean and well equipped. Surprisingly, NO FRIDGE in the room but if required then at a charge of CA$35. However, the staff was very helpful and understanding due to warm weather and they provided this for FREE as myself being a SPG member. Staff were very efficient and helpful at all times. Location is very convenient for ferries and walks to centre of town and major attractions. Breakfast at CA$32 is not a good value, as the variety and quality of food is less than expected from such a well know brand Hotel Chain. An exceptional and worthwhile "Eco" programme where customer is rewarded with a voucher worth CA$5 each day to conserve/save changing towels and bedding.,.. a noble and well executed environmental cause.

Room Tip: higher floors with the harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAYREHMAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for posting such a wonderful review. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Heavenly Bed and that our cleanliness was up to standard. It’s nice to hear you had such wonderful interactions with our associates. This is exactly the level of service and standards we strive for. At Westin, we are really proud of our award-winning culinary team. Offering quality fresh products, along with our Westin Superfoods, is Chef’s mission and I can assure you that I am personally following up with him to understand what happened. Its nice to hear that our Make a Green choice worked well for you and we appreciate you opting in for this great program.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Should you need anything in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me at experienceteam@westin.com.

Be well,
Tim Reardon
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My company put me into this place and since I'm not paying I shouldn't whine...but maybe you should be made aware of sit-u-ation.The location is excellent but its in the center of a construction zone. I'm staying for three weeks, on check in I asked for a king bed but I was told by the front desk to go get stuffed, apparently not only were there none available but lucky me I got a room on the fifth floor. The dreaded fifth floor, provides access to the pool and gym. Everything on this floor is well worn out and the hallway carpets are heavily soiled. I've got a lovely view of the rock roof and tennis court. Get a room facing south and some altitude and you'll likely enjoy the view. I went for the the "save the planet" reduced room cleaning option which gets you a $5 coupon each day your room isn't cleaned. They are supposed to clean the room regardless each 3rd. day but after having gone 7 days with the same towels I had to request cleaning several times before the situation was resolved. Luckily I'm getting out in 5 days on good behavior.

Room Tip: Don't ask but demand to have a south facing room with altitude....asking apparently is a sign of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Jim M,

First of all, let me thank you for staying with us and for your review. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the unacceptable condition of your guestroom location. What you describe in your review is certainly not the quality of standard that we are proud of at The Westin Harbour Castle and it really concerns me I apologize for the inconvenience and can assure you that I will follow-up accordingly with the appropriate teams. As for the construction I completely understand it is an inconvenience for our guests but can assure you that the City’s Queen’s Quay revitalization is a huge project and that your patience will be all worth it when construction is over and we have a beautiful waterfront boardwalk! In the meantime, I would really appreciate if you could send me an email at experienceteam@westin.com with a phone number where I can contact you to further discuss.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your review to let us know where we have fallen short in our service delivery and standards.
I look forward to connecting with you,

Be well,
Tim Reardon
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

My only complaint lies in the fact that when you go to get into bed and the lights our turned off it is completely black. At our age we need to go to the bathroom sometime during the night and there is no way can you leave a small light on in order to navigate to the bathroom. We had to leave the curtains partially opened in order to find our way. At this time of year, summer, the sun raises early and we had to get up and close the blinds around 6:00 am
All other aspects of the hotel are great. The best breakfast buffet in a long time. Bed extremely comfortable. The only issue is that the hotel is not geared to the technology challenged. In order to find out what is going on in town or even in the hotel you need to go down to the lobby. This is also true when it comes to getting beverages as there are no dispensers on your floor. No mini fridge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear 02retired,

First of all, let me thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share some thoughts on your visit. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed our Heavenly bed and had a great experience at Mizzen for our Superfood breakfast. I have noted your concerns and will bring them up with the appropriate teams. Our mission at Westin is to make sure that you feel better when you leave than when you arrived. Should you need anything in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me at experienceteam@westin.com

I hope you enjoy the summer and we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Be well,
Tim Reardon
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Okay, junior suite is a bit of a stretch. They used to call it something different, which was more appropriate. That said, it is a beautiful room with a beautiful view. I highly recommend it it you're a sucker for a terrific view, like I am.

The thing that bothers me about this hotel is the lack of a club lounge. It would get a lot more of my business if it had a club lounge. Otherwise, it's a solid property, a little out of the action, but that's what you get for staying on the water in Toronto.

Room Tip: Get the "junior suite" for a bangin' view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicmansimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Musicmansimpson,

Welcome back and thank you for posting your review. I am pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your room and the spectacular view of Lake Ontario. I appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next visit. Our mission at Westin is to make sure that you feel better when you leave than when you arrived. Should you need anything in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me at experienceteam@westin.com.

I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Be well,
Tim Reardon
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Harbour Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Harbour Castle

Property: The Westin Harbour Castle
Address: 1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#23 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#27 Family Hotel in Toronto
#28 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#40 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Harbour Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 977
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is located on the vibrant waterfront of Lake Ontario, where you can enjoy Toronto's seasonal events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Harbour Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Harbour Castle Hotel Toronto
Westin Hotel Toronto
Westin Toronto
Westin Harbor Castle Hotel Toronto
Toronto Westin
Westin Harbour Castle Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing