We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing lake view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Harbour Castle
Ranked #32 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing lake view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We got a lake view junior suite on the 24th floor and it was an amazing view during the day.

The price is high (for everything) but if you know this going in then it may be worth it. Note that the entire Queens Quay waterfront is under construction (streets and buildings) and it looks and sounds like it all the time now and for the foreseeable future.

The room itself was clean, smelled good, and spacious but the bathroom was small, there was no fridge, and an exorbitant fee for wifi / internet access (this should be standard in just about any hotel, especially a "luxury" hotel like this).

Many big hotels seem to be insisting on only the bellmen using the luggage carts, so that is an added expense in and out that we were not informed of in advance (and a hassle when you have a car full of stuff for 5 people for 2 weeks).

My angst was with parking. We were told on the phone in advance that self parking was available for $30 per night but not told this was a few blocks away and that the only parking at the hotel was $45 per night plus tip in and out for valet parking, and no suggestions for alternatives.

I found the Toronto Green P lots and mobile App easy to use (though no in-n-out on the same ticket) and parked the car for 2 full days at the 2 Church street lot a few blocks away for $29 total!

The building is old but relatively well updated. Proximity to the island ferry is great. The indoor pool area was great.

I think I'd rather stay at one of the hotels on or near King street next time, since that is where all of the restaurants and other activities were located.

Lastly, if you make your reservation anywhere other that with the hotel directly, I suggest double checking with the hotel that the details of the reservation are actually received at the hotel. We reserved a King bed and pull out queen sofa bed for 2 adults and 3 kids and arrived to find no sofa bed (they kindly brought up a roll away double bed without charging their normal $50 per night fee).

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Blaine_McLaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Blaine M,

Thank you posting your review on your recent stay. We appreciate your patients on the City construction project along the Harbourfront area we are excited for the end result and I’m sure you will be please as well. It’s great to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy the pool during your stay. I appreciate your comments about our internet services we are currently working on restructuring our packages and hope to be launching it soon. Again thank you for posting your comments we view all feedback as a gift.

I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Be well,

Tim Reardon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,447
    1,550
    645
    227
    119
See reviews for
735
1,137
199
1,293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,065)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I had recently stayed at the Westin Harbour Castle in Toronto Ontario. I must say that my wife and kids did not want to leave the hotel. From the initial greeting at the front doors, to the very friendly registration staff and the countless other employees of the establishment, everyone made us feel right at home. The corner suite facing south was a real treat. Overlooking Centre island and the island airport illustrated a terrific view of the other beauty of Toronto. The room was immaculate along with everything inside. One thing each traveller must experience is their beds and mattresses. I've been here a few times and each time I enjoy the best nights sleep ever! They are super comfortable and 8 hours some how doesn't feel enough! Waking up to an incredible breakfast, hot and fresh just topped off our stay and started the next day just right!

Do yourselves and favour and reserve a night at the Westin Harbour. Right downtown, tons to do inside and around the property and definitely, you will not be sorry.

Eric E

Room Tip: South Facing rooms overlooking the water is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Eric E,

Thank you for posting this wonderful review of your recent stay with us. We certainly did deliver on our promise of ensuring our guests leave feeling better than when they arrived. I’m delighted to hear that our associates made you feel welcome and cared for during your stay. Our Heavenly Beds are just that and it’s great to hear that you were able to sleep well and yes they are hard to leave in the morning. Hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and enjoy the rest of your summer.

Be well,

Tim Reardon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prudhoe
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

You can get dropped off outside by bus from airport which is a bonus.
Hotel covers two 38 floor towers but never felt really busy.
great pool on floor 5 to relax in
Big rooms which were clean and we had great views.
The hotel is right beside ferry to Toronto islands as well.

Room Tip: higher the better to get away from street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleanorferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear eleanorferguson,

Thank you for posting this review of your recent stay with us. I’m delighted to hear that enjoyed the hotel along with the great views of Lake Ontario. I believe this is how it should feel.
I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

Be well,

Tim Reardon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel in July 2014.

Check-in was fast and prompt. They let you know about making a green choice by not having your room clean each day, and if you decide to go ahead you get either $5.00 F&B credit or 500 star points.

The room was nicely appointed and was facing Toronto Island and you could see all the planes arriving into Toronto Island Airport which was very cool and very much enjoyed the great views from my room. They give you two complementary bottles of water in your room which was very much appreciated. The beds are comfortable, and have the usual Westin bed linen which is quite comfortable. I could not hear any noise from outside of the room, or from any rooms next to me. Room service is rather on the expensive side when you consider all the extra taxes and service fee on already hotel inflated prices, so did not have any on this trip.

The hotel lobby is somewhat dated, and their not a lot of sitting space if you need to wait for someone. However their is a starbucks and a lobby bar in reception area.

Hotel location is a bit of long walk to the subway, not a problem in the summer, but would be problematic in the winter as it get very cold. The ferry to Toronto island is just outside the hotel so very handy if that where your heading to.

All in all the hotel is what I expect from a Westin hotel, good value for money with comfortable beds.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank HighFlyer27_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear HighFlyer27_UK,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the views and were not bothered by any noise in and around your room. You’ll be happy to know that soon we will be but 145 steps away from being fully connected to PATH system which will make walking to and from the Union station and Subway great all year round. I’m please we were able to deliver on our promise of ensuring our guests leave feeling better than when they arrived. I look forward to welcoming back soon.

Be well,

Tim Reardon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I checked in late afternoon. I had booked through a third party site, initially had a hard time finding my reservation. That was resolved quickly and the staff was very friendly.
The room was very clean and comfortable.
There was no central light switch you had to manually turn on every light- not really inconvenient but when unfamiliar with the layout walking in at night would be difficult.

The fan was very loud I had to turn it off, which made the room quite stuffy.
I had an accident with the door causing my foot to swell, and ended up staying in the room for the night.
I had to continually get ice-the machine was right across the hall, so was convenient but may have been the noise I kept hearing. The ice was very watery so led to multiple pain filled trips.

I thought I would enjoy the tv, did not get great reception. Personally tightened the cable which helped.
I was in an eastern facing room in the south tower. I kept hearing loud bass from music throughout the night. I have a feeling it was coming from the guverment entertainment complex, but it may have been from another room. I was near a room full of females because I could hear them squealing when they got back to their room at 3am.

To wrap up the hotel and service was great, but was very loud so did not enjoy my stay.

Room Tip: Would like to try a room in the other tower. Or at least on the west side. Might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mm883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear mm883,

Thank you for posting this review. It’s great to hear that our associates made you feel welcome and cared for during your stay. Its concerning to me that you had a number of challenges with noise and the television was not up to standard. I have forwarded on your comments to our Engineering team to look into and resolve the issue so no future guest encounters these challenges. I appreciate your feedback and I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you faced.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your review to let us know where we have fallen short in our service delivery and standards.

Be well,

Tim Reardon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed with husband and teenage daughter for a long weekend to site see and catch the Tigers play the Blue Jays. Hotel is in a great location, easy walk to many of sites, train station, etc. Nice view of the lake. Room was clean and well appointed. We ate in the hotel restaurant one night and had excellent food and service. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharmonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear sharmonb,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I’m delighted to hear that you and your family had a renewing stay with us. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Be well,

Tim Reardon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
212 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We wanted to be in the action in Toronto, but did not want to be in the center, this is a great location, the views of the harbor are wonderful. Five minute walk to the CN Tower, and The Blue Jays (Rogers Stadium) The area is under MAJOR construction, revitalization, so don't bother using your car, parking at eh hotel is a little pricey, but you can go in and out all day if you want, we opted to walk everywhere. They have a great gym and pool to relax in. Rooms were beautiful. We stayed on 18th floor, ask to face the water if you like that kind of view.

Room Tip: Up to your taste I asked for a high water view, and you overlook the beautiful harbor. The front de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear MikeR2011,

Thank you for the great review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay which is exactly what we strive for at the Westin ensuring our guests feel better when they leave then when they arrived. It’s great to hear you enjoyed the hotel and our great neighborhood. We appreciate your patients with the local city construction we are keeping our eye on the end result which will just enhance the Harbour front area. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Be well,

Tim Reardon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,832 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Harbour Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Harbour Castle

Property: The Westin Harbour Castle
Address: 1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#23 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#27 Family Hotel in Toronto
#28 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#40 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Harbour Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 977
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is located on the vibrant waterfront of Lake Ontario, where you can enjoy Toronto's seasonal events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Harbour Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Harbour Castle Hotel Toronto
Westin Hotel Toronto
Westin Toronto
Westin Harbor Castle Hotel Toronto
Toronto Westin
Westin Harbour Castle Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing