We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Great Service and Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Ranked #32 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed at the Toronto Marriott Eaton Centre for two days to attend a conference in September 2012. The hotel has nice, quiet and clean rooms. It is connected to the large Eaton Centre shopping mall. (Find a terrific food court in the lowest level, near the hotel.) The Marriott is a top quality hotel with a friendly, skilled staff. The gym and pool on the top floor is open 24x7.

Food in the hotel is high quality and exceeds what one would expect for hotel food. In every way, the hotel exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Ezra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,051 - 1,057 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

This is another fabulous property by Marriott! The location is perfect, the hotel is clean, and the staff shows genuine care! Mazie the housekeeper is beyond excellent and takes care of the nice little touches that make your stay "home". The Bistro service and talent lacked sadly.. but the rest of the hotel is perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsFritz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Marriott savvy as a Rewards Member, but first time in this hotel.

Positives include very comfortable bed, large room with understated quality furnishings.
Hallways are wide, with bright carpeting. Direct access to Eaton Center from one floor for shopping, although exit into a specific store can be disorienting, especially for return.

Ideal location for downtown Toronto with most places of interest in walking distance or if not, easy access to subway. 'Restaurant Row' on Elm street is only two short blocks away. Of these, Adega, Donnatello, and the Bangkok Garden restaurants are highly recommended. The latter has a lunch buffet at a steal price.

Check in swift and professional. Minimal intrusion by staff, as is Marriott standard. Checkout equally efficient.

Negatives include a bathroom without a night light or a safety bar for the bath.

Recommend valet parking as the twisting corridor down the the parking area is challenging for skilled drivers with small vehicles. Many marks on the wall testify to failed bravado.

The in-house bistro is poorly staffed and presents mediocre fare at high prices. There are multiple options nearby - don't blow it by going here.

Room Tip: Go for upper floors, from 10 I believe.. We were on floor 11. Marriott has a useful 'seniors'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaquesspratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Nice centrally located hotel next to major shopping center. Plush beds, good A/C. It had a flat screen HDTV but they only subscribe to low definition TV service. Bummer. Used their business center - $5 for 15 minutes of Internet time, WOW! $1 to print one page!
Exchanged $50 US for Canadian - was charged a 6% service fee!

Stayed 3 nights and room was never cleaned by the time we arrived back from our days
travels about 3 pm. Had to wait in lobby while they serviced room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomTexan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We live in the suburbs of Toronto and enjoyed a weekend in DownTown Toronto. We enjoyed the convenience of adjoining rooms as we were there to babysit our grand-daughter as mommy and daddy had work events to attend.

The location right beside Eaton Centre was very convenient. An easy stroll to Dundas Square and some good restaurants and shopping.

The rooms were a nice size but the floors were so filthy that within 10 minutes our grand-daughters feet were black as coal! The bathroom was a bit dated with mold stains on the shower tile grout. A small bar fridge would have been welcomed as we had to keep her milk in the ice bucket all night to keep fresh.

The staff was friendly and helpful, we didn't use the hotel restaurant so I can't speak for that.

The bed was very comfortable.

If the floors were clean, the bathroom updated and a fridge available....I would have given another star! If you stay here, just keep your shoes on.

Management.......get the staff to clean the floors!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n0rthland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed heer for the Labor Day week-end. Nice hotel with good service. Very clean, bathroom could use a little updating, but all and all everything was awesome. Beds are very comfortable!!!
Can walk to all locations with ease .Lots of places to eat, drink and shop. Can walk to Theatre.
Best of all you can park for $10 a day in the Eaton Centre garage. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgreenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights last week and found it to be a good place to stay in downtown Toronto and easily accessible to many different parts of the city. We did a lot of walking from here and found it to be convenient for the Art Gallery Ontario, St Lawrence Market, Union Station, directly connected to the Eaton Centre for the best shopping!

Rooms clean and comfortable, restaurant good and tasty. They have amazing Illy coffee and capuccinos served in their coffee shop. Concierge service was awesome and accomodated our many reservation changes and indecisions. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewlywedsBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#23 of 138 in Toronto
3,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel

Address: 525 Bay St, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2L2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Toronto
#19 Family Hotel in Toronto
#23 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#31 Business Hotel in Toronto
#32 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £123 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel! Our upscale downtown Toronto hotel offers spacious guest suites and hi-tech meeting rooms for the business traveller. With free Wi-Fi in our public areas and an array of family vacation packages available, plus more services and amenities to make your stay an enjoyable one, we are a top choice among all Toronto hotels. Travellers looking for Toronoto Downtown hotels will find that Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel is ideal. We sit near famous attractions in the downtown area, such as CN Tower, Eaton Centre, and the Hockey Hall of Fame. We offer stylish and feature-rich accommodations, including thoughtfully designed guest rooms with modern amenities. Whether you are staying in Toronto to work or play, you will find that our Toronto hotel provides everything you need for a pleasant and productive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing