We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shop, eat, sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Ranked #28 of 134 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Shop, eat, sleep!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is the best location you could ask for if you are travelling to Toronto to shop, sight see and dine. It is literally a part of the Eaton Centre in the middle of downtown Toronto. Walk along the second floor hallway and exit into the lady's wear department on the second floor of Sears.
Access to shopping, dining and events right outside your door.
The hotel is first rate with any and all amenities you might require. Rooms are spacious and well laid out. Beds and bedding are exceptional.
Staff is very helpful and professional.
We have always enjoyed our stays and have been guests on well over a dozen occasions.
It is, like most downtown locations, pricey. Be sure to check for promotions and reward programs to help with the cost.
The only issue, and it has happened twice now......I was travelling with my wife, to a conference, and requested a room with a king bed. Twice we have arrived and been told that we were allocated a room with two queens, because of availabity. I did talk to some others this time, who were given the same explanation, but apparently were able to argue enough to be given a king.....after we had checked in. Not impressed with that detail, to be sure.

Room Tip: Because of location, ask the front desk for their thoughts on views if that is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randysweet16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    610
    180
    44
    28
See reviews for
278
325
73
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were here recently for a conference held on-site. The property is generally very nice, though the room was a bit reminiscent of a more mid-level business class hotel, and considering the rate we paid, we expected more. One pet peeve: Not a single vending machine within 5 floors up or down of our room was actually stocked with any water, powerade etc. which would have been nice after the alcohol downstairs. They were happy to send some up to us though, and the staff were excellent from start to finish. Location can't be beaten.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the courtyard instead of a view of Ryerson University and the parking garage entra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OttawaEricM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel itself has a lot of nice qualities. Excellent location. Clean simple rooms. Nice smelling shampoo and soaps (hey, that counts!) and the food at the hotel restaurant is above average.

However, some of the staff-hires at this hotel truly boggle the mind. I don't know if they hire at anger-management conferences or personality disorder conventions, but a few of the people working here have no business interacting with human beings, or any living beings for that matter. Certainly these men and women have no place in the hospitality industry.

We (two 40 year old adult men) checked in pretty late on a Friday. We were, understandably, tired and a bit impatient, so in retrospect I am giving leeway... anyway...
We approached the check-in kiosks where two female employees were chatting about something (casual conversation from what I could tell... certainly not a hotel crisis)... 2-3 minutes later one of them swiped her way into the back room and the other deigned to help us. I told her my name and that we had booked a room with two double beds through a third-party online travel site. "We only have a rooms with a king bed." She said, beginning to peck at her little keyboard. I asked her to look up our reservation and confirm that we had booked a room with two double beds. "Doesn't mater. Thats a request... if you actually read the little words that you are supposed to read, you will see it's 'based on availability', and well - ours are blocked off, so you guys have a king. Thats the only option." Mind you - no smile, no apology, nadda. \
I shifted approach and tried good ol' fashion reason. A king bed just wouldn't work for us, two men who are not in a relationship, we're exhausted and we will have to find another hotel if that was the case. She shrugged, said "well its a nonrefundable deposit, so that's up to you" and walked away. I was dizzy. Literally 15 seconds later I approached a different staff member who at least had a smile (Anthony - who should be promoted or something) who immediately put us in a room with two double beds, apologized for his coworker, and even guided us to one of the few restaurants still serving at that hour. Meanwhile the original woman came over to him, said something showing her disapproval (but... why? whatever, I'm not here tomorrow it'll be your problem...) and then stormed into the back area.

I wont give the other two instances as much detail. But in sum - There was a MARATHON on the street the following day. No warning of that one. Couldn't get in and out of the hotel with our car. After we managed to get passed the police barricade (a 30 minute adventure) we pulled into the self park to find it full. Again we asked a staff member for assistance. "Parking is NOT guaranteed sir. Why dont you try a neighboring lot. I dont know what they charge..."

Lastly, the internet is in a purchasable 24-hour window... ours cut out at about 10pm on night two (about an hour early)... by the time we got it working we had about 10 minutes to send 30 emails. We asked the front desk to either credit us for the 45 minutes or give us an extra 45 minutes. "Sorry, we cant do that. Just sign up for another 24 hours if you need more time."

Anyway, in sum... its an industry based on customer service and satisfaction - and as a customer I was totally dissatisfied and found most of the staff total unprofessional and purposefully unaccommodating. Fortunately, in the hotel industry there are many options, so I (and hopefully you) wont ever have to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DRSG666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
422 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

An older property. Updated facilities but some oddities. The business centre doesn't open until 10 am. The concierge lounge is really just an annex to the main restaurant and you have to carry your food yourself from the restaurant. Parking is extra and very costly ($30/d) for a self park underground. Overall it is fine but there are better Marriotts.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesmorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I've spent the last few months in Toronto for work and have stayed at most of the hotels close to Eaton center and overall the Marriott is my favorite. The back of the building opens into trinity square and walking through the square brings you to Eaton center. The rooms are typical unless you get a patio room which have a great view of the city it is great in the summer. Elevators need updating but that's my only complaint.

The Sheraton is hit or miss, if you get into the club level rooms they are really nice...the other tower is not great. Check in lines can be really long in the evening but you can walk underground to Eaton center which is great in the winter.

The Grand hotel has the nicest rooms by far really big wood floors but it's a hike to get anywhere.

Delta Chelsea has a great indoor pool for kids and a buffet in the hotel but the rooms are terrible, long lines to check in.

Cambridge suites has huge rooms they could use some updating but I enjoyed the seperate seating area with a wet bar. Good location too.

Bond place is scary...don't do it:)

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Family_Guy_407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, MI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in one of the king rooms. All said we had a great stay at the Marriott Eaton. Location was perfect for weekend. Close to public transportation, restaurants, night life, shopping. Staff was friendly/ attentive and not phased on a busy Friday, check-in/ check-out was smooth, parking adjacent and property clean. Only minor gripes would be parking expense and no complimentary breakfast, coffee or wifi but this seems to be the norm at other Toronto hotels as well. If you want a fancy historic hotel, I'd choose the Fairmont or another, but for my hard earned dollar you can't beat the value here .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTintheD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

It's a very convenient place in Downtown. A block away is a Grocery store. Nice staffs. Not enough time to experience the hotel because most time are out of the city. Toronto Downtown you can walk by yourself without train.


Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Muyu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#38 of 134 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#22 of 134 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel

Property: Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Address: 525 Bay St, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2L2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Toronto
#20 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#24 Family Hotel in Toronto
#31 Business Hotel in Toronto
#32 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel! Our upscale downtown Toronto hotel offers spacious guest suites and hi-tech meeting rooms for the business traveller. With free Wi-Fi in our public areas and an array of family vacation packages available, plus more services and amenities to make your stay an enjoyable one, we are a top choice among all Toronto hotels. Travellers looking for Toronoto Downtown hotels will find that Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel is ideal. We sit near famous attractions in the downtown area, such as CN Tower, Eaton Centre, and the Hockey Hall of Fame. We offer stylish and feature-rich accommodations, including thoughtfully designed guest rooms with modern amenities. Whether you are staying in Toronto to work or play, you will find that our Toronto hotel provides everything you need for a pleasant and productive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing