We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Ranked #28 of 133 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Typical business hotel”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Went to the Marriott Eaton Center for business last week. Rooms were comfortable enough with the expected set up that is the norm in midrange business hotels ion Toronto.
So no comments on the room.
The location is great as you can walk to the Eaton Center, theatres and other nice attraction. We went for a show and just took a 10 minute walk form the hotel which was great.
Internet is still over $ 10 a day which is absolutely ridiculous and they price the premium service at $ 16.95 a day. No clue what this is as i stuck with the basic overpriced service.
Had dinner and breakfast in the Bistro. I would not bother to do so anymore as the food is mediocre , the breakfast buffet is totally overpriced at $ 27.00 dollars. $ 5.00 for a cup of coffee makes Starbucks look like a bargain.
Conclusions: I went to this hotel because my company paid for it. I would not go if I had to pay myself as the price of the room plus internet service plus breakfast makes the stay kind of too pricey for what you get.
I still wonder why these types of hotels do not offer the all inclusive stet up that lesser chains offer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ortho55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    610
    180
    44
    28
See reviews for
278
325
73
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

the hotel is situated in the heart of downtown toronto steps away from the subway station with bunch of restaurants around it and direct access to the eaton centre mall. I dont think any other hotel matches this hotel's location if you are visiting toronto!!!

ideal hotel for tourists for pleasure or business.

hotel staff is extremely friendly and polite, will definetely stay again!!!

Room Tip: go for the king guest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REEPERR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We recently traveled to Toronto for the first time and ended up staying here. I am a Marriott Rewards member so I normally pick them for business travel.

We were very happy with this property. It was especially nice to be able to work to work using the underground PATH network since it was very cold and snowing outside. The property was very clean and just perfect for my business stay. Lots of great restaurant choices nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Location is within walking distance of many government offices, the Eaton Center (shopping) is just next door, and many restaurants and entertainment venues are nearby. Convenient access to bus routes and the great subway system make a car unnecessary for most visitors. A bit longer walk gets you to the Art Gallery of Ontario (AGO) which has some outstanding permanent exhibits as well as traveling exhibitions.
The Concierge was able to direct us to some good Italian restaurants tucked out of the way, and helped us avoid the slightly tacky places that cater to tourists and the nearby student population of Ryerson university.You can eat fairly cheaply, or you can dine well, if you just ask around.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We knew Check in Time around 3 pm so we did some shopping in Eaton Centre. When we arrived at the hotel around 3 pm, the room was not ready so we waited for almost one hour.
There were not many sitting area at the time we arrived because lots of people were waiting for their rooms to be ready as well.
Waiting 10-15 minutes are acceptable. Waiting for one hour is not acceptable.
Customer Service needs to be improved especially this hotel is located in the centre district of Toronto. Compared to the standards at other international Marriott hotels, we were disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viliana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night while attending the musical Aladdin at the Ed Mirvish theatre. Chose it for location and after walking back after the show when the temperature was -20, we were glad we did. During mall hours you can use the walkway that connects to the sears store, but we had to brave the elements due to the time the show ended. The Sears store is closing on 2/28/2014, so the indoor connection will be lost until a new tenant is found. During less extreme temps, it's just a quick walk outside through Trinity Square anyway. The room was perfect for or needs, clean and it had a "window seat" which was enjoyed by my kids. Pool is on the top floor and while on the small side it has a good view, same goes for the workout room. All the staff were very friendly and seemed to enjoy working there. Ate in the restaurant for supper. A bit more than we had planned to spend, but good.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AJM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Its all about LOCATION perfect if u want to walk around go Shopping. Jacuzzi was old but ok pool was full of hair on the surface in the morning and cold water. Breakfast not included Buffet pricey and not so many options.Perfect if u are twenty something with friends business or solo but not for couples who want some romance something nice its just not there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 20Mirka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#38 of 133 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#22 of 133 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel

Property: Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Address: 525 Bay St, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2L2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Toronto
#20 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#24 Family Hotel in Toronto
#31 Business Hotel in Toronto
#32 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel! Our upscale downtown Toronto hotel offers spacious guest suites and hi-tech meeting rooms for the business traveller. With free Wi-Fi in our public areas and an array of family vacation packages available, plus more services and amenities to make your stay an enjoyable one, we are a top choice among all Toronto hotels. Travellers looking for Toronoto Downtown hotels will find that Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel is ideal. We sit near famous attractions in the downtown area, such as CN Tower, Eaton Centre, and the Hockey Hall of Fame. We offer stylish and feature-rich accommodations, including thoughtfully designed guest rooms with modern amenities. Whether you are staying in Toronto to work or play, you will find that our Toronto hotel provides everything you need for a pleasant and productive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing