We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the main draw”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Ranked #29 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I chose this hotel because it is my first visit to Toronto and I wanted stay somewhere central. In terms of location, then this hotel is great. It is right in the heart of downtown Toronto and next door to the major mall of Eaton Centre. So shops, and a great food court are right next door. It is also next to Dundas Square and there are many shops and eateries just a few steps away. The subway is also there, and so is the PATH (underground shopping tunnels).

So I really liked the hotel for its location.

However, the room is average, nothing fancy. They do not provide complimentary bottled water, but the room also did not have a minibar (I was very surprised!) nor a kettle to boil water. Perhaps Canadians drink straight from the tap, but as a foreign visitor, I wasn't so comfortable doing so. I do understand if they choose not to provide complimentary bottled water, but then they should at least provide a kettle or a minibar. When I enquired about the minibar, I was told that it is only available upon request. This is my first experience (and I travel quite frequently) at a good-class business hotel where there is no minibar.

The amenities are also limited - again, surprising for a good-class business hotel. No shower cap, no cotton buds, no bedroom slippers. (I can't recall if they provided bathrobes or not).

A strange thing happened when I checked in -- the room I was assigned to did not exist!! The bellboy and I walked up and down looking for the room, but there was no such room number. I asked the bellboy to call down to the Front Desk to check, and he was given a different room number. I asked the bellboy if he was 100% sure that was my room, as I didn't want anyone trying to enter my room while I'm was in it!

The staff at the hotel were very good. Good service, friendly, helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MunkyMama68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, Manager at Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to offer your feedback as it pertains to your last stay with us.

Thank you for recognizing our Hosts for the servcie that they provided to you.

In order for us to better prepare for future stays please email me your personal details at frank.strippoli@marriott.com and I will update your guest profile.

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations this trip and truly hope that we will be given an opportunity to make it up to you in the future.

Best,
frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 745 of 1,496 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Most Marriotts are pretty predictable (which is a good thing), but the service at this location is a step above. Reservation desk, bell captain, front desk all super friendly. The concierge level is off lobby (a little different than most marriotts) but the service there was superlative - the elder lady helping with breakfast in mornings was very friendly. Location is outstanding - adjacent to Eaton Centre. Also needed a rollaway bed in a tight quarters - front desk was able to help. Only minus would be a very tiny pool/jacuzzi area (skip it) and the walkway to eaton centre closed (not a big deal - but not clearly marked). Would stay again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The common areas of the hotel are quite attractive but the rooms and hallways are pretty ordinary as some Marriott's go. What makes this hotel distinctive is the outstanding service from beginning to end. Everyone at the hotel acted like their primary mission was to make sure you were happy and satisfied as their guest. The level of care and genuine interest in me as a customer, made this Marriott really stand out.

Room Tip: As for a high floor to get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSCClovis_Ca_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I had stayed at this hotel before, but my last stay was disappointing. The people making the reservation were disorganized and the room was starting to look quite shabby. The big problem was after checkout, they double charged me for the room and were not at all apologetic. Rude, actually. Good location but had a bad experience with the staff and the room was not up to par.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, Manager at Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey and sharing your experience with the Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel.

I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay with us. I can certainly understand the frustration you must have felt after receiving an inaccurate room charge. I would like you to know that we are investigating the incident further, to ensure a similar situation does not occur in the future.

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations this trip and truly hope that we will be given an opportunity to make it up to you in the future.

Again I thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Very nice and clean hotel. Great service and very helpful friendly staff. Cant beat the location
which in the heart of Toronto. A short walk to Hockey Hall of Fame. The hotel ties directly in the Eaton's mall. I enjoyed my stay at the Marriott.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonnyC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is a good welcoming, supportiv hotel in a good position for visiting Toronto and doing a lot of things very well. a modern buioing - my guess is that most of the rooms would reacxh the same standard of facility and view. the Trios bistro is good both for short snacks and longer meals. taking my life in my hahds i ordered fish and chips - which is quite often badly cooked and served. it was reaaly good - crisp chips and crisply battered fish. This is not to suggest that the menu consists simpy of such traditional English dishes - far from it.

The bar was providing a good place to watch the World Cup - which a lot of people enjoyed.

The concierge services were reliabkle and speedy.

we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisBerkhamsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have probably stayed at this hotel a dozen times without issue. The staff is very friendly and always welcomes me back on arrival. My last trip my daughter spilled hot chocolate in my vehicle and the valets helped clean it up. I asked for a fridge and had no issues getting one immediately which was great for a longer stay.
The location is perfect for shopping, theatre, close to the Path and subway. This hotel is always my first choice in Toronto.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#35 of 137 in Toronto
1,834 reviews
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown
Grand Hotel & Suites
Grand Hotel & Suites
#26 of 137 in Toronto
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel

Address: 525 Bay St, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2L2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Toronto
#20 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#24 Family Hotel in Toronto
#31 Business Hotel in Toronto
#32 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £143 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel! Our upscale downtown Toronto hotel offers spacious guest suites and hi-tech meeting rooms for the business traveller. With free Wi-Fi in our public areas and an array of family vacation packages available, plus more services and amenities to make your stay an enjoyable one, we are a top choice among all Toronto hotels. Travellers looking for Toronoto Downtown hotels will find that Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel is ideal. We sit near famous attractions in the downtown area, such as CN Tower, Eaton Centre, and the Hockey Hall of Fame. We offer stylish and feature-rich accommodations, including thoughtfully designed guest rooms with modern amenities. Whether you are staying in Toronto to work or play, you will find that our Toronto hotel provides everything you need for a pleasant and productive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing