We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fawlty towers in Toronto”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Town Inn Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Town Inn Suites
Ranked #65 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fawlty towers in Toronto”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Even if you are a fan of the old Fawlty Towers tv show, you really would never want to stay in that hotel. I was forced to stay at the Town Inn when the Park Hyatt ran out of rooms. The Town Inn is a dog and by dog I mean the mangy, smelly kind of mutt that should be put down because it is so broken. The rooms look as if they were renovated by a weekend DIY husband who has no idea what he is doing. The floors were sticky. The table wobbled so much it was in danger of collapse if you put anything heavier than a cup of coffee on it. The chairs and bed were so low that you have to have well developed quads to get up off of them. The TV didn't work. Even better, whenever you plugged in something it fell out of the wall socket. The bathtub/shower was frightening. Sure looked like mould where the groat was missing. And PASS on the discount breakfast in the basement. By night this is a dine in the dark restaurant called noire and the reason they don't turn on the lights is that the place is so horrible you would run if you could see it. My breakfast potatoes were burnt beyond recognition. The sausages were charred. The toast crumbled and the eggs were rubbery. Don't ask me about the fruit . It may have been coffee in the serve yourself carafe...or not. It's probably a good place to stay with young kids as you won't have to worry about them damaging the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharl l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reshell, Manager at Town Inn Suites, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest
We are very sorry for your past experience at the Town Inn Suites. Guests satisfaction is very important to us.

As part of our customer satisfaction policy, we invite you for a stay in our hotel in our Deluxe suites so you can have the full experience that we offer.

Please contact me directly at shelley@towninn.com and I will happily assist you.
Best regards,
Shelley, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    175
    134
    75
    125
See reviews for
192
137
72
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very cozy, pet-friendly hotel with an inviting front lobby.

On the north end of the Gay Village, Yonge Street, Bloor Street, Yorkville Shopping and close to several eateries (Croissant Tree Cafe right across the street), pharmacy, vets, subway, etc.

There is a small convenience store directly across form the hotel and a dog grooming salon and pet store for those who are bringing their pets with them.

Enjoyed the attentiveness of the front desk staff. Always helpful and accommodating!

The suite I stayed in was in mid-renovation (bedrooms done..kitchen and bathroom not re-decorated yet)..so it looked kind of "unfinished" but was clean and tidy.

Air-conditioning was great and it helped drown out the construction noise from condo construction adjacent to the Town Inn (west side).

My dog enjoyed the grassy area behind the hotel for running, and we met several other dogs/dog owners.

Parking garage was being cleaned when I was there, so inconvenienced by not accessing handicapped/disabled parking near garage-hotel door.

Shower curtain bar fell off twice….was easy to put back, but it's time to replace, upgrade bathroom!

Elevators were fast and always available with minimal wait times which my dog appreciated!

Room Tip: Ask for the "Summer Discount". They upgraded me from a single to a double bedroom suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toronto_CanadaRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This Hotel is a great place to stay. Everyone is so helpful and attentive, the Rooms are amazing. They really make you feel like home, instead of the usual Hotel Feel. Its Awesome.... I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatalieChamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reshell, Manager at Town Inn Suites, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Natalie

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay of the Town Inn Suites. We are thrilled that your group enjoyed their stay and that they were happy with our accomodations. We strive to make all our guests experience an excellent one and we value your feedback. Looking forward to having your group as regular guests of ours.

Thank you for the kind words,
shelley, manager. shelley@towninn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Everything was fine except for the plumping (the water in the shower stayed cold for an exceptionally long time) and the television was fairly fuzzy.

Its a short walk to decent restaurants on Young St.

The nieghbourhood was quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Despite reading some negative reviews here we have to say our experience of the Town Inn Suites was very good. The staff were very friendly and very flexible when it came to re-arranging our booked rooms to a large two bedroom apartment

The apartment itself was large and provided a good base for us to expolore Toronto via the nearby Bloor-Younge subway station which is 5 minute walk away.
All we ask for in a city break is a quiet/ clean apartment , comfortable bed, and basic kitchen equipment (fridge/kettle/toaster/microwave will do for breakfast) - don't expect to be spending that much time in the rooms. Town Inn more than met our needs / expectations.

A nice touch was filter coffee machine with filter coffee bags supplied daily - much better than instant coffee granules.

The TV's in our room weren't flat screen but then we didn't vist toronto to watch TV - other than to catch up on local weather

Local supermarket in Hudson Bay Centre has a wider choice although the grocers across the road are pretty good for the basics

We didn't use the pool area but this looked clean & well maintained

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reshell, Manager at Town Inn Suites, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed our accomodations with your family at the Town Inn Suites and certainly hope that you will visit us again and become a regular guest of our. We certainly appreciate the kind compliments given to our staff!! Thanks again!!

Best regards,
Shelley, manager
shelley@towninn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
693 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 874 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Located at Church streetm just 5 min from Yonge street, mayor shops and fun places, this hotel is oasis for stay.It has been 6 times that i stayed there and every time i am liking it more and more. Reception staff is very friendly, and manager is really amazing.Bravo for them. Price for stay is decent, but you have to pay for internet service, which is not to bad.
Rooms are just perfect with built in kitchen wuth everyhting that you need. Impaccable clean, nice decorated with a balcony that allows you to see a fabulous Toronto .
All compiments for this hotel. I stayed in several rooms, but i preffer south side.(just because of CN tower view).Bravo for staff.

Room Tip: South side is amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabioinmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Easy walk to subway. Close to yorkville. Good restaurants grocery store and bars nearby. Can get around city easily without car if good walker. Kitchen and dining table good if you wanted to make meals. Decor a bit tired. Bedding clean.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#79 of 132 in Toronto
251 reviews
Downtown
Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#55 of 132 in Toronto
2,562 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#76 of 132 in Toronto
455 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Inn Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Inn Suites

Property: Town Inn Suites
Address: 620 Church St, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 2G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Town Inn Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Town Inn Suites is centrally located in downtown Toronto. Close to the shops of Bloor and only steps away from transportation at Bloor and Yonge. Our suites range from 500 to 900 square feet and have fully equipped kitchens. Perfect for long term and short term stays. Each suite has a full living room, kitchen and dining room areas. Whether you are on business, leisure or family trips the Town Inn has a suite to accommodate all your needs with both one and two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Town Inn Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town Hotel Toronto
Town Inn Suites Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing