We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star studded lobby and restaurant was a nice extra touch”
Review of Windsor Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windsor Arms Hotel
Ranked #39 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
“Star studded lobby and restaurant was a nice extra touch”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Getting a reservation at the Windsor Arms wasn't an easy task during the Film Festival. But we managed to get in and, what a stay. The rooms have just been re done. Very sophisticated and classical, yet a very comfy feel.

The Spa and the Tea Room were a true joy. Had a fabulous facial and massage before we went out on the town. When we came back to the Hotel, "Lounge 22" was a great place to grab a night cap and sit next to several A listers. I am not one for dropping names, but, gotta admit, it was fun sitting next to real celebrities.

The staff was really helpful and friendly and my wife, being a vegan, was able to order of their full a la carte vegan menu. She could not stop raving about being in a nice environment, yet being able to eat healthy.

Can't wait to return. Windsor Arms is now our home in Toronto.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    49
    16
    10
    9
See reviews for
55
127
17
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My fiancee and I spent three days at the Windsor Arms at the time of our wedding. We have never had a better hotel experience, and we have each been staying in hotels for a long, long time.

Location:

The hotel is on a quiet street which nonetheless is just a block from the the shopping bustle of Bloor Street.

Room:

On arrival we were told we would have a complimentary upgrade to a suite. Our suite was very quiet, very comfortable and enabled us to entertain family in some style the day following our wedding.

Our bed was extremely comfortable, with wonderful linens, though we thought the pillows a bit hard. There was a music system through all the rooms. The bathroom was spa-like, with a quiet whirlpool tub and a very good shower. (Unaccountably, the toilet flush was alarmingly loud, more like an airplane unit than anything you would find on the ground.) The living room was very comfortably furnished and attractively laid out. (The mini-bar not so good: very small and no ice-presumably most of the punters would use the butler service, of which more anon). One really thrilling feature to us was that the windows all opened a few inches. Very pleasant during warm September days and nights.

Parking:
The only parking is valet parking, and except for one mix-up it was always quick and convenient. There are unlimited in-and-out privileges. If valet is too steep for your taste, there are several public lots and garages near-by.

Staff:
The staff were cheerful, courteous and unerringly professional. There is an astonishing butler service at the hotel. On our arrival, the butler took us up and showed us in detail what our room had, how things worked, and he told us what services were available. Tell the front desk what papers you want, and if they don't have them, they will go out and get them for you in the morning. Every afternoon, a plate of bed-time biscuits is delivered to the butler's pantry in your room. Shoes are polished, glasses delivered, your room is left alone until you want it cleaned, then it's done promptly and well: it's all there. Our stay included a breakfast on the premises, simple but excellent. When my wife couldn't find just the yogurt she wanted, they made sure it was available the next day without being asked to.

The Windsor Arms is no one's idea of budget accomodation and is out of our usual league. But before we left we resolved to be back there each year on our anniversary if possible.

Room Tip: Avoid tryingto book during the TIFF: the Windsor Arms is a star hang-out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPepper_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Each time I go to Toronto I stay at the Windsor Arms and each time I thoroughly enjoy my stay there. The rooms are spacious and very nicely decorated - classic meets modern - and the staff is very friendly and attentive.

The location, right in the heart of Bloor, is terrific and is close to the best shopping and restaurants.

Recently, I had the opportunity to experience the afternoon tea at the hotel. The experience was excellent, as was the atmosphere.

Windsor Arms is by far one of the nicest hotels in Toronto and should be your top choice when traveling to the city.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtl_traveller6475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Canada’s Walk of Fame celebrates and honours Canadian excellence.

Five years ago we selected Windsor Arms as our official hotel.
We host all of our media events there. We have our offsite planning sessions there. We have all of our client events there. We house all of our celebrities there.

We chose The Windsor Arms because we wanted a boutique hotel, in the middle of Toronto’s fashionable Yorkville District, with consistent quality and personal service. George and the WA staff continue to impress us and surpass our expectations. They have all of the services that our discerning clients and celebrities require.

There are a number of good hotel choices in Toronto. We chose The Windsor Arms because we continue to be impressed.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadas Walk Of... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We had a fantastic stay at the Windsor Arms! When we arrived we were greeted by Kevin at the front desk who was amazing! He went through everything and even upgraded our room to an apartment suite. Throughout the stay he remembered our names and would always greet us when we headed through the lobby. The room was very nice and was easily at the standards of the Four Seasons and the Hazelton Hotel for a fraction of the price. At the spa, Daniella was great! She was so pleasent and truly reflected the high standard of staff at this hotel. Our family would defenitly stay at this hotel again, and I can comfortably say this is he best hotel in Toronto!

Room Tip: Apartment suite was great and had a lot of space for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calgaryfamily12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This was my first visit to Toronto, and when I do come back, I'm definitely staying at the Windsor Arms. The hotel is in a great location and their staff are extremely attentive to everything that you could possibly think of. Apparently they are only 28 rooms, and this seemed to help contribute to the intimate atmosphere / vibe / personal touch in the hotel that you just can't get a bigger property. But, they didn't compromise on the facilities / services. Their spa was very well equipped with very good gym equipment and an indoor fireside saltwater pool.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This beautiful hotel is a lovely old fashioned oasis but with the very latest facilities. A little haven in the centre of a busy city. Very centrally located with high end and chain store shopping very close by. Extremely friendly and helpful staff, who always greeted us like old friends when we returned from a day out and Angelika organised trips out for us via email before our arrival. The 'complimentary continental breakfast' we were offered is coffee, juice and a small piece of cake so the description is perhaps misleading for those of us used to something more under that heading. Nevertheless, it is complimentary. I foudn the bed a little hard but that is subjective. A terrific find that I couldn't recommend more highly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane180981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorArmsHotel, Owner at Windsor Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Hello
Thank you so much for taking the time to express your comments. We are also very much appreciative and cognisant of your comments, suggestions and compliments.

We are pleased to advise that we have now changed our complimentary North American style continental breakfast to a much more elaborate European style buffet breakfast, naturally still complimentary to our Hotel guests.

With regards to the nature of our beds, as you stated, it is somewhat subjective. In order to enhance all our guest's stays, regardless of their sleep preferance, effective September 1st, we now offer an optional complimentary mattress 'topper' that provides a softer feel.

Once again, much thanks for posting your comments and we sincerely hope that you will allow us to continue to be your home away from home when your travels bring you to Toronto.

Sincerely
The Management
Windsor Arms Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 136 in Toronto
642 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#19 of 136 in Toronto
1,726 reviews
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Arms Hotel

Property: Windsor Arms Hotel
Address: 18 Saint Thomas St, Toronto, Ontario M5S 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Toronto
#13 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#17 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#20 Family Hotel in Toronto
#28 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Arms Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consecutively voted the #1 hotel in Toronto by Conde Nast Traveler Magazine, the Windsor Arms Hotel is nestled on a quiet street ideally located just steps away from Yorkville, the heart of Toronto's most fashionable shopping and entertainment district. An aura of warmth, discreet luxury, and the latest technology combined with our exceptional level of service makes Windsor Arms Toronto's most luxurious boutique hotel. Behind our century-old portals are 28 new luxury suites with 24-hour butler service. The Windsor Arms is host to the Courtyard Cafe - open for Sunday brunch and special events; Prime Steakhouse -open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a full Vegan menu; the Tea Room for Afternoon Tea and Lounge twenty-two for tapas and cocktails. The Spa offers fully serviced individual treatment rooms, swimming pool and exercise facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Windsor Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Arms Toronto
Windsor Arms Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing