We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful and memorable experience”
Review of Windsor Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Arms Hotel
Ranked #45 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Exquisite... fantastic... superb... sublime... and that was just the flourless chocolate cake! The custom-made wedding cake was just one of many personalized items and services which the Windsor Arms Hotel so graciously provided for our wedding reception there. Everyone there, especially Christina Xavier, made possible the impossible; and they were so good about everything. The Windsor Arms also has a great group of first-class service providers who can greatly facilitate all aspects of the wedding; they gave great recommendations on a minister (Gord Kushner) and photographer (Phillipa Croft) and took care of all the floral arrangements. The personalized and accommodative hotel service was unobtrusive yet paid close attention to detail. The butler service was great (my suit was hand-steamed) and many of the staff address you by name. The decor and layout of the hotel suites are spectacular, with ample, Victorian-style yet modern seating areas to lounge in, large marble bathrooms with whirpool tubs, and great ambience (the built-in ceiling speakers pipe in soothing classical music or the music of your choice). The Cream and Purple Tea Rooms were also fantastic, both for our occasion and for their afternoon High Tea. The food was excellent, with a pretty good complimentary breakfast buffet (although they do offer full a la carte breakfast) and attentive and engaging waiters. The hotel's location allowed for easy access to the prime shopping district of Yorkville. Overall, our wedding reception and stay at the Windsor Arms was a wonderful and memorable experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelmutGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012

the reception was exceptional pleasant
the room fits our needs, more than a regular hotel room

Room Tip: almost, can not be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatiaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I recently just got back from London where I stayed at The Connaught Hotel in Mayfair. It is an old world charm with a mondern feel hotel - not to meantion in a wonderful location. It reinstated in my mind why I always stay at The Windsor Arms Hotel in Toronto. This property is of the highest example of old world charm meets mondern luxury and I highly recommend it for experience and world class staff, something very rare in todays world.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I recently spent 3 nights at the Windsor arms and would definitely recommend it. The hotel itself is small, which definitely contributes to the intimate and quiet atmosphere. However, our room was very spacious and well appointed. Their service was also top-notch, they managed to anticipate every one of my wife and I's needs.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bsugs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We booked the Windsor Arms because of its excellent location near Yorkville and also because it is a member of the Small Leading Hotels of the World.
We stayed for 5 nights. The suite we were allocated was fine, although the furnishings are quite tired. The spa was also good and the pool is a very nice feature.
On the other hand breakfast was very poor. It is complimentary, so maybe guests aren't expected to be exigent. The orange juice isn't freshly squeezed, the bread on offer was packet sliced bread and the croissants were half-cooked from frozen. Inedible. The waiter was pleasant on day one, but (perhaps as we didn't tip) not so welcoming on day 2...from day 3 onwards we preferred to go out for breakfast.
The hotel seems to be a top event location. Good for the hotel I'm sure, but not so good for guests as the festivities take place in a central hall. We took the first party in our stride. In our second-floor room was the noise was clearly audible. On the second consecutive party night it became too much. Disco music until 11 and then a live band until 12. When we complained to reception about the level of noise they said they could offer us another room. Not very practical at 11.30pm.
In general the staff try their best. The butlers were helpful, as were staff on front desk. We left feeling that the hotel business is far less important than the event and "afternoon tea" business. This isn't good enough given the room rate.
We wouldn't choose to stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank Bramley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorArmsHotel, Manager at Windsor Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear Bramley1

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide your feedback. Having read your comments, both positive and critical, and after reviewing same with our staff we want you to know that we continue to remain 100% committed to providing all of our guests a wonderful experience. Reviewing some of your comments and suggestions, please be assured that the Hotel has undergone a complete refurbishment in the past 9 months and that there is not a single piece of furniture or finish that is more than 9 months old. With regards to the breakfast offering, we do provide a complimentary limited buffet menu, including squeezed 100% juices, but we also provide a full a la carte menu, featuring traditional favorites, as well as a full vegan and juicing menu. I sincerely apologize if our staff did not offer that to you. We are a full service Hotel featuring restaurants, Tea Room, Bar and Spa that are open to locals as well as Hotel guests. Many of our Hotel guests enjoy the interaction with others that enjoy the services of our Hotel. This includes social and charity events. Typically these do not however impact our guests in search of quiet peace and enjoyment. Obviously, we failed in this area if you were affected by sound penetration into your suite. I sincerely apologize for not delivering a 'perfect stay'. Our entire team hopes that you will give us another opportunity to earn your business. Once again, we thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience.
Sincerely
Management Team Windsor Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

My favorite hotel in Toronto thus far. Great location only one block from Bloor and two blocks from The shopping on Yorkville. The decor and small size of the hotel had such a great ambience to it. We stayed in a suite, although I think most of them are suites. Lots of space and very clean. Every morning from 7-10 there was a hot breakfast buffet included in your stay.
Although I did not partake, they also are well known for their vegan menu. Did not get to do the afternoon tea...but it looked lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I went with four of my friends for High Tea at the Windsor Arms yesterday and had an incredible time! The music and decor made for the perfect 'high tea' setting and for a $5 donation to charity, you could wear a lovely hat from their hat stand to make the experience even more authentic. The service was excellent, (the server was VERY knowledgeable about the types of tea they had) and the food was delicious! The scones were warm, the Devonshire cream (flown in from England) was so creamy, and the mini sandwiches were both beautiful and tasty.

The four of us each got a pot of tea to ourselves and were able to try four different flavors. I had 'Eve's Temptation - Apple Mango' and it was wonderful! The Blue-Blackberry and Tibetan Tiger were also quite good! Since this was my first time to High Tea at the hotel, at first I was worried that there wouldn't be enough food, but I was sorely mistaken. After the sandwiches, scones, petit fours and a lovely dessert of strawberries and whipped cream, I had eaten about all I could handle. I will definitely be going back again and would recommend this spot to anyone who is looking to have an enjoyable tea-time out with friends, or a lovely date for two!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 137 in Toronto
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#18 of 137 in Toronto
1,812 reviews
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#11 of 137 in Toronto
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Arms Hotel

Address: 18 Saint Thomas St, Toronto, Ontario M5S 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Toronto
#13 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#18 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#20 Family Hotel in Toronto
#30 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £250 - £573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Arms Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consecutively voted the #1 hotel in Toronto by Conde Nast Traveler Magazine, the Windsor Arms Hotel is nestled on a quiet street ideally located just steps away from Yorkville, the heart of Toronto's most fashionable shopping and entertainment district. An aura of warmth, discreet luxury, and the latest technology combined with our exceptional level of service makes Windsor Arms Toronto's most luxurious boutique hotel. Behind our century-old portals are 28 new luxury suites with 24-hour butler service. The Windsor Arms is host to the Courtyard Cafe - open for Sunday brunch and special events; Prime Steakhouse -open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a full Vegan menu; the Tea Room for Afternoon Tea and Lounge twenty-two for tapas and cocktails. The Spa offers fully serviced individual treatment rooms, swimming pool and exercise facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Windsor Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Arms Toronto
Windsor Arms Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing