We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE the Windsor Arms Hotel!”
Review of Windsor Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windsor Arms Hotel
Ranked #44 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We spent one night here as a birthday getaway and loved everything about it, with the one exception of not being able to get the air conditioning cold enough.
The hotel has beautiful old world charm and is very well maintained in all areas. The bathrooms are spacious and well appointed, and the beds are fitted with Frette sheets. I would have liked a softer bed, but my husband liked it firm.
The windows are small,as is typical of an older hotel, but they open, which is a bonus for any hotel.
Upon check in, the bell man made conversation with me, and actually seemed interested in where we were from, the reason for our stay, our dinner plans, etc.
Upon check out, the concierge asked us about our dinner at the CN Tower and if we would recommend it to other guests (we would).
We enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the living room lounge before 10:00 am, which as included with our room. It wasn't just a cold continental breakfast either! The hotel chef made one of most delicious omelets for each of us, and we had our choice of fresh fruit, home made muffins, and fresh squeezed juice.
After breakfast, we strolled around the Bloor Street shops, and had our car brought around when we were ready to leave
The whole experience was outstanding and we will definitely return.
Incidentally, the cost was only a few dollars more than the large chain hotels downtown, but so worth it!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevators will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

The deluxe details are an integral part of the old world ambience with modern amenities. Garnier-Thiebault French towels, marble counters, Jacuzzi tub, ipod station controls in bathroom, warm rich woods, in room espresso maker. Impeccable service with gracious hospitality. The hotel has returned to a traditional décor, imposing crown moldings with warm burnt orange fabric touches in dust ruffle and curtains. Our suite had windows which opened (love the fresh air) to the tree lined street in the best Toronto location off Bloor Street, near upscale boutique shopping (just around the corner from Chanel).

The complimentary breakfast is prepared by the hotel Chef in the elegant Living Room—healthy and delicious, fresh cuisine like quinoa-tofu breakfast scramble. Complimentary WIFI. Parking is pricey (as for most downtown hotels)$35 per night. Pets are welcome and can dine on the outdoor patio but there are no pet amenities.

The hotel is renowned for their traditional afternoon tea.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This boutique hotel located in the Yorkville District is beautifully appointed and staffed by knowledgable enthusiastic personnel. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and quiet. Access to the city is easy either through readily available taxis or the subway located within two blocks. Suggestions offered by the concierge for offsite meals were excellent as well. This is the base for our return trips to Toronto.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel last year when I was in town for the Toronto Film Festival and will definitely be staying again this year! I have never experienced a hotel with a more attentive staff than the Windsor Arms. I love my bed at home and I'm rarely impressed with a hotel beds, but wow. This place truly had the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! A absolute gem all around.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

What a wonderful find! This is a beautiful boutique, all-suite hotel in a quiet street just off Bloor Street West. It was my birthday and we decided to stay the night in the city and take in a restaurant. On arrival, we were upgraded from a junior suite to a Deluxe Suite – a great start and puts you in the right mood. The staff were warm and friendly from the doorman and receptionist to the bar staff. Nothing was too much trouble.
The facilities were all spotless and I can find no fault – highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnghols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

What a sweet gem of a hotel. It feels very small and boutique but offers all entities of a larger hotel. A charming little lobby with very warm staff, from the doormen to the desk attendants all were friendly and helpful. It is situated in a quiet street off the main road, close to the university and shopping and transit stations. A spa and indoor pool are added benefits along with a tea room (loaner tea hats available) and lounge like restaurant with a basic breakfast buffet was appreciated. Very dark hallways led to our suite. Despite being upgraded I felt the room was cramped for a family of four. A harp in the corner could've been swapped with a table or chair. Overall a nice stay but I won't return.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OysterLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

From the moment we walked through the door we were greeted by friendly, attentive staff members who took care of our every need. The majority of the hotel is an older style building that has been elegantly updated. Our room was clean and spacious, though not overly so, and the hallways were quiet and private. It is not cheap for the night, but in many ways is as expected service, rooms, and atmosphere for the price. I will be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 137 in Toronto
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#20 of 137 in Toronto
1,813 reviews
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#11 of 137 in Toronto
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Arms Hotel

Address: 18 Saint Thomas St, Toronto, Ontario M5S 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Toronto
#13 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#17 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#20 Family Hotel in Toronto
#29 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £253 - £502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Arms Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consecutively voted the #1 hotel in Toronto by Conde Nast Traveler Magazine, the Windsor Arms Hotel is nestled on a quiet street ideally located just steps away from Yorkville, the heart of Toronto's most fashionable shopping and entertainment district. An aura of warmth, discreet luxury, and the latest technology combined with our exceptional level of service makes Windsor Arms Toronto's most luxurious boutique hotel. Behind our century-old portals are 28 new luxury suites with 24-hour butler service. The Windsor Arms is host to the Courtyard Cafe - open for Sunday brunch and special events; Prime Steakhouse -open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a full Vegan menu; the Tea Room for Afternoon Tea and Lounge twenty-two for tapas and cocktails. The Spa offers fully serviced individual treatment rooms, swimming pool and exercise facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Windsor Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Arms Toronto
Windsor Arms Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing