We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ultra chic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Windsor Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windsor Arms Hotel
Ranked #40 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Ultra chic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is the best of hotels in Toronto..old school class and distinctive furnishings. Very accommodating staff and extraordinary food and lodging. I prefer this Hotel over the Ritz..much more intimate hotel with a pelithury of character.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    48
    15
    10
    9
See reviews for
54
119
16
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I went with three of my girlfriends to the Windsor Arms for high tea. We had tried several other places in Toronto prior to this, so it was becoming somewhat of a ritual. The hostess takes your coats and hangs them up in the coat room so you didn't have to worry about sitting with them at your table. The decor of the tea room was lovely. Beautiful purple accents throughout the room and crystal chandeliers. The waiters were very professional and prompt. By far the best scones I have had at a high tea before - so buttery, soft and delicious! The sandwiches were good, but not as good as other places. And the desserts were to be shared with someone else (instead of bringing one dessert per person of the four different types of dessert, there was one between two people so we split them in half). But no matter as we were stuffed regardless.

It is located in a great area, and afterward we did a bit of shopping. All in all a must try for those who love high tea!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosaryLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

This was my first time to Toronto and the Everyone at the Windsor Arms went out of their way to make sure my experience was beyond satisfactory. I have to especially mention Kevin the front office manager who went above and beyond to assist me with my flight check-in and printing my boarding pass which was a painstaking process but he did it with a smile on his face the whole time. It's little things like this that leave a great impression. I'd also like to mention Chef Ras at The Living Room who was so accommodating and polite when I went in for breakfast. He was extremely attentive and asked every customer how their breakfast was with genuine concern. Also, the made-in-house mixed berry jam is phenomenal!! Overall, my experience was fantastic and I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heide C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is a small, but charming boutique hotel. Has a super location right in the heart of Toronto. Check in was friendly and fast. There is some shopping and fine dining establishments within walking distance, but the food on site is so good, that I don't think you'll need to go elsewhere, except for variety. We stayed just a night, so we ate in house. Our room was big, well decorated, with everything and all you need, even an umbrella and a blu-ray! The room was very clean and I'm all about clean. Top notch.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 673JaniceS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

The hotel is simply excellent, in terms of location, decor, room size, and the service is really above and beyond what one would expect even from a top luxury hotel. There were two things though that I believe were really outstanding;
- Front Desk personal was friendly, helpful and at all times volunteered relevant information that made our stay a lot easier. No "luxury attitude", simple straight forward excellent service, attention oriented, professional and friendly, but above all, caring to the needs of the guest. Overall service in the hotel is what we all want to see in a hotel- hospitable, efficient and timely. But the Front Desk stands out as it is so not the rule in luxury hotels. And they've kept the standard for the five days we were there.
- Pricing; usually luxury hotels feel the need to rip guests back to back. I for one do not appreciate the feeling that because I can afford a nice hotel I should be made to overpay for a can of soda, or anything. Windsor Arms is an exception, in which you wallet is not violated, on the contrary, you feel all you pay for is properly priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marothenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland Ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Really enjoy this hotel, from the personal greeting, friendly service, well trained staff. People make this hotel special and this hotel has great people working here. Rooms are spacious, clean and old world luxury with a like new appearance. Buffet breakfast is a little odd but it works and is good. Never have to wait for the elevator either. You never know what public figure you will bump into here which makes it a bonus fun factor.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank bobkaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
230 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at many slh properties and this was the best. Beautiful large suite(402) with 3 windows that open, very quiet, harp in room,added touches such as complementary cakes every evening, nighttime reading cards, two historical books, large umbrella, garment bag and large shopping bag, butler closet, complimentary 3 newspapers (NY Times, Globe &Mail, National Post), tv in bedroom and in living room, separate shower and jacuzzi tub. Staff are personable and genuinely friendly and interesting. Concierges Kevin and Shirley were very helpful and followed up to see how our day trip went. We will be back!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#14 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 132 in Toronto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Midtown
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Arms Hotel

Property: Windsor Arms Hotel
Address: 18 Saint Thomas St, Toronto, Ontario M5S 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Toronto
#13 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#17 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#20 Family Hotel in Toronto
#28 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Arms Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consecutively voted the #1 hotel in Toronto by Conde Nast Traveler Magazine, the Windsor Arms Hotel is nestled on a quiet street ideally located just steps away from Yorkville, the heart of Toronto's most fashionable shopping and entertainment district. An aura of warmth, discreet luxury, and the latest technology combined with our exceptional level of service makes Windsor Arms Toronto's most luxurious boutique hotel. Behind our century-old portals are 28 new luxury suites with 24-hour butler service. The Windsor Arms is host to the Courtyard Cafe - open for Sunday brunch and special events; Prime Steakhouse -open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a full Vegan menu; the Tea Room for Afternoon Tea and Lounge twenty-two for tapas and cocktails. The Spa offers fully serviced individual treatment rooms, swimming pool and exercise facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windsor Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Arms Toronto
Windsor Arms Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing